1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I5 3570k E1 and Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    LOL, Glad someone still understands the meaning of my Avy. But the E6850 wasn't a Wolfdale, it was Conroe. My first chip that would be considered enthusist at the time was a E8400 (which was originally paired with the before mentioned EVGA 750 FTW board)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    222 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51

    E6850 with 2x8800gtx then moved on to i7-920 which....R.I.P died tragically
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,978
    E8400-Xeon 3220-Q9650-2600k

    8800GTX 320MB-9800GX2-GTX260-GTX280-GTX280sli-HD5870-HD5870 crossfire-HD7970

    Wanna do motherboards? lol jk :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    222 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    well while we´re at it

    E6850 I7-920 2600k
    2x8800gtx 640 - 2x260gtx 2x480gtx 2x670gtx

    mainboard wise....holy sh** dude....Asus striker extreme <--still running with an q6600
    RAMPAGE II GENE - RAMPAGE II GENE <---both died the same way along the first I7-920 second one still running on an Foxcon board and last but not least ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
  5. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    492 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi this is what i got

    Intel Core i5 3570K,1155, Ivy Bridge, Quad Core, 3.4GHz, 4.5Ghz
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI Dual Thunderbolt

    Attached Files:

  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888

    Wow awesome chip!:)
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,522 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    @amp, if you can get 4.1ghz at stock voltage, I'd just go with that. More than enough CPU power. There's quite a few chips like yours out there that run this way.. Not great clockers. If you want a higher clocked chip, gotta take a gamble again and buy another chip. 3770K's have been shown to be able to clock higher if you want to increase your chances of getting a better chip. :)
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    I tried running intel burn test on high, it failed after 4 loops.




    Thanks for the info. It might have to do with the intel thermal paste from what I am reading, however the 400 mhz difference from 4.1 to 4.5 is so negligible in actual use I will probably take your suggestion and try to run 4.1 or 4.2 near stock voltage.
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Took your advice. I was using intel burn test between volt decrease increments. I got it down to 1.176 volts @ 4ghz, stable intel burn test for 10 loops on high. Max temp on one core was 70*C, this is definitely not a great 3570k but it works for me. Prime 95 temperatures are 55-60*C.

    [​IMG]
  10. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,012 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Did you leave it Delided or you simply replaced the paste and put the lid back on?
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    I am assuming he replaced the TIM with coolaboratory and reinstalled the lid.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,803
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Re-installed LID with MX4. I don't believe that coollabrotory pro is needed, and that the "high temps" are caused by the IHS sitting a bit too high off of the CPU die.


    that said, that 10c is only when running high load. idle and such, no change.
  13. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    222 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    For the very last few C° you will need coollabrotory to get the best results.

    Which make me wonder what temps do you got Cadaveca without IHS. Read in some forums that without the IHS temps seem to be worse then with IHS and new thermalpaste
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,803
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I think some CPUs WILL be that way. Mine had very low temps to begin with, under 95C @ 1.4 V in IBT. Now I get just over 80 C.

    I'll toss some pics of the CPU up in the sexy hardware thread. ;) Give me a few minutes. :roll:
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Nice dude. I am thinking I will do mine in a month or so. My high temps probably have a lot to do with the bad job intel did with thermal paste lol.
  16. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Is "E1" a new stepping?
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    I have Family 6 Ext Family 6 Model A Ext Model 3A Stepping 9 Revision E1.

    Bought this 2 days ago from Microcenter so I assume this is the newer Stepping/Revision. Not impressed with it compared to what people were getting on the other ones I guess.
  18. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    So I got to 4.1 ghz on the same 1.176 volts as the 4.0ghz and its stable on very high ibt 10 loops. 4.2 on the same voltage crashes seconds after windows boots. I am going to try overclocking my ram from 1600 speed to 1800 speed and see what happens.
  19. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Forget overclocking the ram... it doesnt help anything as ram bandwidth isnt a bottleneck.
  20. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,825 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    888
    Gotcha, I will set it back to stock.

    Internal CPU PLL Overvoltage: should this be enabled? Default is auto which means disabled I believe. Would this get me higher clocks?
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,803
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not from my testing, but it can help with memory clocking(booting over 2200 MHz memory speed with some chips).
  22. phoen

    phoen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    I have my i7-3770K at 4.90Ghz with 1.38 vCore and in IBT the hotest core is at 85°C, the others at 68, 78, 79, im happy with that :D
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Depends. On SB there was a very solid wall where you NEED this to be enabled to get past it. Anywhere from 4.5 to 5GHz. This doesnt seem to be as hard of a wall in IB, however all guides I have seen tell you to enable PLLOverride.
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,803
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, SB..for sure, PLL overvolt help keep higher multis stable and bootable. But still, I will recommend that that is pushing too far for most users, and because it disables proper sleep modes, I'll never recommend any user enables that option on SB. unless the rig will be a cruncher.


    But IVB is different, and I DO NOT agree with keeping it enabled at all times when overclocking. I also don't agree with VTT and VCCSA voltage increases, since to me, these only serve to "hide" problems in other areas.

    I do have a slightly different focus than most guides do, looking at air clocking only, while most guides are focused on getting the most possible...whether on air, water, or colder.

    I guess what I'm saying is that clocking on Intel isn't as simple as it appears at first.

    Take a trip to XS, look at the ASUS Z77 support thread there, and all the users with problems with drives. Raja can only offer that the issue is some weird compatibility, the way the board is being pushed, or no answer...but I run into these issues at stock.

    And I'm not saying I blame ASUS for this, but at the same time, with so much adjusted in BIOS, it's hard to sift through it all and find out the real problem. So I've taken a very different approach to IVB OC, changing only items that actually make a difference for me, and then seeing if the same applies across all boards... which, so far, it does.

    This has helped me pinpoint far more broken hardware than ever. IF you knew how much hardware I've shipped out for repair in the last few months...far more items than I've done reviews in the past 5 months. PLL overvolt, VCCSA, and VTT changes haven't helped with these issues. They've helped with nothing, actually, for me.
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    I enable that, adjust vcore and multiplier. Thats it. That takes me to 5Ghz and is 'as simple as it appears at first'.

    On three of my IB chips, I need it enabled to be stable over 5GHz. Where people here go, its likely not needed. But if its disabled, it would be the first thing I enabled past 4.5Ghz to get the CPU stable.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page