1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5-3570k or i7-3770k?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Sasqui, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm upgrading my main rig to Ivy Bridge this winter. I've already bought bought 16GB of DDR3 ram, and have nothing to put it in :laugh:

    Next up, the CPU:

    i7-3770k @ $330 (Newegg)
    i5-3750k @ $190 Here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173973

    Difference of about $140 - Help, I can't decide!
    After that, need to choose a MB.

    I'll be running AutoCAD Civil3D/Map 2013 with some large datasets, some video and photo editing (fairly lightweight), and a moderate amount of gaming.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    For those programs, you would want the extra threads. I would get the 3770K
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    agreed

    As for a MB, if your looking for a high-end board, I've been very happy with my GD80. Might be worth looking at the Z77 version?

    MSI Z77A-GD80 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s U...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,553 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    It all comes down to do you need/ those 4 extra logical cores and if they are worth the price.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Chances are, you'll get a better overclocker with 3770K, too.
     
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    IMC on 3770K is better than 3570K also. Ram will overclock much higher.
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ha, not with my 3570k and 3770k. Same ram overclocks, exactly, although the 3570 needs voltage and the 3770k does not. I guess I need to find a better ram kit then. :p

    What's interesting to me is that the failures with memory with the two chips are EXACTLY the same, at the same speeds and such, so I know that ram is holding my 3770k back, for sure...and my 3570k has no issues with 2666 MHz+
     
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    This is not correct. Maybe you have a lucky 3570K. I thought they would overclock the same but Kingston told me the IMC is better on 3770K.
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It is with my two chips, thanks. Not all chips are equal. ;)

    Like really, I could care less. My experience is not like yours, however. I'm not saying you are wrong, and I am right...just that what you can get is pretty varied.
     
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I thought they would overclock the same but Kingston told me the IMC is better on 3770K.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I don't have a kit that will hit 2800 MHz well yet, or both my chips have the exact same wall.

    I'll say it might be BIOS, dunno. Need more ram, or more chips, to find out.

    Liek clearly, 3770K is much better chip for me...4.6 GHz @ 1.2 V for 3770K, and haven't even got 4.5 GHz stable @ 1.3 V on the 3570K.


    Both crap out @ 2750 Mhz on hte ram, and I have several 2666 MHz + kits.


    As much as overclocking is apaprantly dead, there's still a tonne of variation that keeps things interesting, i think! ;)
     
  12. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    ^This. For CAD and Photoshop you want as many cores/threads as possible and as much memory as you can get.
     
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    16G of memory is plenty and more cores the better
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,553 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Oh the life
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I hear a resounding 3770k...

    I read this, got 5Ghz on the 3570k out of the box, though running very hot with an H100

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2012/05/01/intel-core-i5-3570k-cpu-review/1

    Memory controller portion on the 3770k perhaps?
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    1.4 V though for that 5 ghz. NO wonder it was hot :p

    I'll have to volt mine up, I guess. My 3770k is hot with just 1.25V...I could not imagine pushing even 1.3 V through that chip.


    And yeah, I dunno, it's just odd that the 3570K and 3770K both end at the same ram speed. Cpu clocking is very different though.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Time to travel back... back to 2009... the i7 920 was catching enthusiasts by storm for being an easy OC to 4.2GHz... There were one observation was made on a regular basis. Users memory controllers varied from chip to chip and some people couldn't get higher than 1866MHz if not 1600 while achieving speeds higher than stock. Considering intel has the mem controllers on the die I'd also assume this concept remains intact.

    Oddly enough getting 950s or 960s did not help the memory OC either. The chips are basically the same they just have different areas unlocked or stepped up.

    You will love the extra HT when it comes to processing. It does make a difference. I wish I had the money to spend on a 3770k while I was upgrading to ivy. I do video work a lot and the 3570k is good but I know it could be better.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
    Sasqui says thanks.
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Gotta say, I'm looking forward to playing with a new OC toy! I always start with stock volts, and push as high as she'll go to failure, then try a notch up on voltage, always keeping an eye on temps. Lather, rinse, repeat :) Takes a few days, usually to find the sweet spot.

    I just wonder how much I'd notice. I don't like the idea of getting the "next best thing" with the i5, but the price point seems to be pretty darn good.
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Most "power" and "extreme" users relate that memory clocking is largely CPU-dependant with IVB. And usually, that info comes from guys and gals that access many many chips.

    For me, this is not the case, at all.


    But with everyone saying the same thing, there must be something to it, or everyone is listening to the same advice from the same person. With the parts I have, many boards and ram kits, but just 3 CPUs so far, my results vastly contradict what's professed as the "norm".


    Of course this makes me test even more...but I don't have enough funds to keep buying chips, and I don't get CPUs for free, generally. :( At least we can still try things out and see what works.



    Oh, and I still do not agree with the whole "IVB runs HOT" BS, too. :laugh:
     
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If the price point is too good for you I am currently interested in selling my i5 for $160 shipped so I can buy an i7. So you know, with the i5 @ 3.8GHz, I encode in real time, record to HDD, game, and drive a virtual sound-board for audio routing simultaneously. The i7 will buy you 20-30% extra performance for 50% more cost. To me it is worth it. For you it might be a wash. :ohwell:

    The great thing about that time was that people were asking me to buy i7 920s (microcenter 199.99 vs newegg 349.99) and test them before sending them out. I'd probably had my hands on over 80 920s by mid 2010. This forum saw so many of my trips to microcenter that on a fluke I recently bought one of my chips back from a forum member. :laugh: The memory controller on the CPU is where all of the memory overclocking is bottle-necked. Without the ability for the CPU to handle the speed at which the ram is communicating the IMC will crash and you will BSOD or hard restart.

    I also agree with you on the IVB to an extent. The chip will contain heat because of the 3d transistors and self insulates so despite the die shrink it produces the same heat as 32nm process. That aside intels IHS causes a minor setback to some users, but for every day WC/Air removing the IHS will not do enough. I'd take it off to super cool the thing.
     
  21. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Intel's new slogan ----> Intel, AMD inside. ;)
     
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Binge, perhaps a stupid question, but are you OC'ing the chip now?


    Oh and a correction to my last statement:
     
  23. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    normally the chip does not run at 3.8Ghz on all cores. Usually it does 3.4Ghz with 3.8Ghz turbo on core 00. When you OC an IVB the turbo does not work like it does on stock.

    Technically its a small OC but there's no heat impact or extra voltage.
     
  24. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Down the rabbit hole. The specs for the chips (in this case the 3570k) list 3.4Ghz/3.8Ghz Turbo. So when you change the multiplier for an OC, I assume there's some point when you have to cut out the power saver & turbo boost mode for the OC to be stable. I suspect it's motherboard/bios dependant?
     
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    All power-saving features and turbo are enabled. This is just how the new chips work. If you use a non-standard multi it cuts the turbo to one core only. I've pushed the chip to 4.5Ghz without much issue, but I don't see the benefit in my encoding apps for the heat difference made under load.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page