1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5-3570k or i7-3770k?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Sasqui, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,771
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes/no. All boards offer power-saving disabling and regular multi-clocking.



    It is best, however, to clock using Turbo itself, like the CPU does at stock.


    Some boards, when XMP is enabled, run all cores at the max turbo multi. Some do not. Most gamer-oriented and OC boards do though, no matter the brand.


    I recommend overclocking using Turbo.

    Don't forget, the game has changed considerably, and Intel will warranty overclocking, too. For a small cost($25 or so), Intel will replace your chip once, even if you give it 5000V. No questions asked.

    http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/


    I hate to push marketing on you guys, but to me, this is worth it. Clock that chip up, pay the small cost, and don't worry about anything. ;)
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    With both SandyBridge and IvyBridge, you need to keep turbo enabled to overclock.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    I can't fathom how Kingston would know the strength of an IMC on a chip by chip basis.
    Binge says thanks.
  4. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    My voice go for 3770k. I love i7. 3570k is good for gaming if you change more often configuration but you never know when you need i7 for longer time.
    My 3700k OC similar like i7 SB. Only is hotter. 4.8GHz Linx 1.275V, Prime95 1.300V 12h Blend with 90-92% RAM.
    I didn't count 5.0GHz like some minus for IB, because that is more for i5 clock.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    What would a non-standard multiplier be?
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    pretty simple, they test their memory on all Ivybridge chips:slap:

    It is Not a chip per chip basis. IMC is different on both.
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That is false sir. IMC is the same. 3570k is just a 3770k with HT disabled. My source? Intel.
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    And 2MB of cache disabled.

    ....
    I bought 2x of this memory: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR

    Capacity 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Speed DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000)
    Cas Latency 9
    Timing 9-11-10-28
    Voltage 1.65V

    G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 S...
    Binge says thanks.
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    mediasorcerer and Sasqui say thanks.
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  11. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The principal still applies, and thankfully you'll be able to use this knowledge to an advantage in your own overclocking
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Missed that comment before... if you disable it, you can't change the multiplier?
  13. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,036 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    False, I have no problems with changing my multi with turbo-mode disabled. System specs for details(Barb's Domain)
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    As you like to overclock, I would get the previous 2700K instead, like I have. As you know, Ivy Bridge runs around 20C hotter when overclocked due to the inferior IHS. The IPC improvements are only around 5%, so the better overclock would more than make up for it with the 2700K. Also, I assume you won't be using the iGPU, making the improved version redundant.

    If you still want to go IB, then get the 3770K, no question. Yes, it's more expensive, but you do get a better chip with HT and heck, why does an enthusiast need a reason for getting the better part! :D

    My 2700K is running at 4.7GHz, because it's the sweet spot for heat, power, noise and CPU lifetime for me. However, it does go well over 5K even on air, if you're into hardcore overclocking. That will be difficult with IB, due to all that heat, likely forcing you to use water.
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    No comment on 2Mb of disabled cache?
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,036 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    No comment about the turbo-mode/multi statement?
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I will rephrase. You do not have to disable turbo. I think your smart enough to get that.
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,036 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    It is true about not having to disable turbo to OC, but that's not what you said.
    is in no way a correct statement.


    Let me retrack my last statement. By Qubit's post after this one, it appears that you may have to have turbo enabled on some boards, but not all of them.
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    I can't overclock the CPU without enabling turbo. Is it different on an Ivy Bridge CPU?
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,036 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    You can't? I can OC in bios or in the MSI Control Center on my desktop and I have turbo-mode disabled. I actually went and disabled it after I first read DrDeath's statement about turbo needing to be enabled to OC. I disabled it and set my multi to 40 in bios to see if I could, and I could. I then changed my voltage in MSI CC with no problems. Maybe it depends on the MB's vendor.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    That's really strange. I remember reading in reviews that turbo needs to be enabled for this, so the behaviour I see is consistent with that and is a design feature of the CPU. You can underclock it with turbo off though. I've only ever overclocked it through the bios, too.

    I have no idea why yours should be different.
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Its more about fine tuning the turbo and making it turbo harder. you could disable it of course, but better it turbo when it really needs to rather then be running at full turbo even in mundane tasks such as browsing the internet or just listening to music.
  23. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    487 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi just upgraded to this and i am very happy, I have not tried overclocking yet as i am waiting for Intel Performance Tuning Protection Plan to arrive.

    Intel Core i5 3570K,1155, Ivy Bridge, Quad Core, 3.4GHz,
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI Dual Thunderbolt 7.1 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
    16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance (1600mhz)
    256GB Crucial RealSSD M4, 2.5" SATA
  24. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,036 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    Don't matter with my rig considering it's always running at full load crunching. Gaming is actually a break/rest for my 2600k rig.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,187
    Im surprised that you thought you needed to pay for something like that.

    Id really only consider it if I was going for an EXTREME OC.

    going from 3.8Ghz to 4.6Ghz is well within the safety zone of the 3570k. Most people here even run their SB CPUs at that same speed.

    I Like my 4.9Ghz though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page