1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 760 @ 4.0GHz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by leemerlord, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    worker #3 stopped pretty much right off the bat when doing bled test in prime95, others went along like nothing happened, my question is what i need to do to get that one core not to fail
     

    Attached Files:

    • ncc.jpg
      ncc.jpg
      File size:
      107.3 KB
      Views:
      145
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,551 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,089
    either more CPU volts or VTT.
     
  3. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    my qpi is on the lowest which i belive is 4.2 other one i have an option for is 4.6
     
  4. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah I think I had to push 1.38-1.4 volts to break over that 4ghz threshold...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    I would try upping the VTT first
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    damn lol hopefully my h50 can cool it then
     
  7. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    will try that right now
     
  8. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    oh for sure it will. I'm using a noctua air cooler and it never goes over 65ish iirc
     
  9. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    thats nice then, ive been thinking about getting a air cooler lately idk why but i have an urge to get one:wtf:
     
  10. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    so far i upped the VTT to 1.38 and none have failed so far
     
  11. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    i love the one in my sig. Ultra quiet, really good. A touch tall for my case I had do to do some cutting on the side fan to mount it outside instead of inside, but I like the cooler a lot.
     
  12. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    um lol wtf prime stopped working on me,
     
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    was 1.38 the very next step up? and do you mean the computer hard locked?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    i went from 1.35 to 1.38, and prime stopped working on me, windows promted that the aplication has stopped working
     
  15. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    can you restart it? And thanks for this thread btw. It made me check my cpu voltage and I found that I forgot to back it down off of 1.38 when I pulled off of 4 ghz lol. 1.38 volts for 3.8ghz :/ lol
     
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,779 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    how hot was it when it failed?
     
  17. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    62c was the hotted any of the cores got
     
  18. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    restart prime? correct?
     
  19. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    when it hits test 2 it stops working all together
     
  20. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    so this is what im at now
     

    Attached Files:

    • tpu.jpg
      tpu.jpg
      File size:
      213.1 KB
      Views:
      120

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page