1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 760 @ 95°C

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by WaXT, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    I never noticed this but I get up to 96°C:)eek:) when playing games and at least 62°C @idle. I OCed my i5 to 3.8GHz using OC Genie and results are pretty good.

    Screen:
    [​IMG]
    (Speccy took the stock speed of the cpu)

    Could anyone suggest me a good cooler that will neutralize the temperature @ like 50-60°C when playing? and 40°C when idle? :banghead: :(

    Budget: $100
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  2. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Washington, US
    ANYTHING! For the love of all that is good in this world, get anything on there.

    Like, are you even using thermal paste?

    Edit: I like my Xiggy s1283 with an Ultra Kaze 3000. If you want to get crazy, two Ultra Kazes in push/pull.
    Xiggy: ~$30 USD
    Ultra Kaze: ~$14 USD
     
    WaXT says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    coolermaster 212+
     
    Soylent Joe and WaXT say thanks.
  4. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Yes I am using a thermal paste. Maybe it heats like that because I OCed it?
     
  5. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Thanks, mosheen. Any more suggestions, please?
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,345 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    fear not friend i peak at 99C no lie with some zalman on it. I have no idea why it does it im at 4.2Ghz on an i5 750. 100% load makes me think its going to melt. I dont understand why it does it. but iv been looking for an answer. ill provide proof.
     
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  7. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,228
    If you insist to use OC Genie to OC your CPU then you need the best cooler you can buy. OC Genie and other non-intelligent OC tool bump up the voltages way over what is needed. Get a Noctua NH-D14.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    well OC genie will likely overvolt the cpu.
    You can get the same OC with less volt. (do some reading)

    Personally i like keeping stock volts and OC as far as i can.
     
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,228 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    dont use any OC tool besides the bios, period.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  10. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    What software do you recommend then? Yeah, OC Genie is kinda bumping up my voltage. But It is pretty much easier because of auto overclock. lol..

    I got like 0.135V on Vcore with the base clock of 183MHz. How much would a Noctua NH-D14 be?
     
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    #1 lower your voltages... use BIOS to OC
    #2 get a hyper 212+ and 2 fans, ie: like me, hyper 212+ 27$ + 2x Coolermaster R4 Blue LED 5$ ea = 37$ for nice looking cooling solution xD... get some MX-2 or MX-3 or OCZ freeze TIM

    ofc, idk how much it is in the US
     
    WaXT says thanks.
  12. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    I completely forgot how to overclock using bios. How do you OC? and how do I make it to 3.8GHz or 4.2GHz?
     
  13. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    you definitely need an aftermarket cooler.

    if you dont want to fiddle with the bios, just get the cm 212+ and be done with it. this will bring your temp to reasonable level.

    I you do decide to get in to serious OC then start reading some OC guides. You might even bring that CPU to 4ghz .
     
  14. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    I'm going to try OC using the bios. But what if my pc won't start anymore? Is this the time I would remove that silver battery-like thingy on my mobo and put it back again?
     
  15. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    Although I'm not sure how to OC. How do you OC using BIOS? I can't change anything when I'm on Cell Menu. Every option is on grey (w/c means i can't change it)
     
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ive peaked at 99c on my 920.. then I went water.
     
  17. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    NVM what I said.
     
  18. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    I would also like to try to watercool it. But IDK how and where to start. Also, I don't want the cooler to take much space inside my rig.
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Watercooling costs alot and is unnecessary for an lga 1156, let alone someone who does know how to OC from a BIOS yet xD

    I suggest you get the Hyper 212+ because it is the best bang/buck for you atm
     
    shevanel and WaXT say thanks.
  20. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Corsair h70
     
  21. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    LOL.. I was only gonna try but since u said that it would rape my wallet, I would buy that fan. Besides, I already figured out how to OC from the bios. (Hurrah!) and is currently @ 3.6GHz (can't go to 3.8 on bios; windows won't start)
     
  22. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,460 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    I have the same proccessor. The stock FSB is 140 (i think, lol), just change it to 160, 180, 200... and test... +doublecheck your RAM speed, because it changes when you do the above.
     
  23. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    changed it to 200, the voltage is too high. If i set voltage too low, windows don't load and if i set it to just right, cpu temp is high like 80c on idle. i tried 180, and it worked although cpu temp is still high like 70c @idle. I would tweak and tweak until i get this right. Thanks!
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,728 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    THIS!^

    Try a closed loop system like the New H70 or H50.
     
    WaXT says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. WaXT

    WaXT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    215 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Makati, PH
    h70 looks thinner and i think ill go with it after i get more money xD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page