1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5-760 or X6 1055T?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by puma99dk|, Sep 12, 2010.

?

X6 or i5

  1. X6 Thuban 1055T

    36.1%
  2. i5-760 Lynnfield

    63.9%
  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    i have been thinking about what my next processor, motherboard and memory should be but i am not sure if it should be i5 or X6 setup both looks nice ^^

    So what to choose Lynnfield or Thuban?

    if i am going to switch out my Q6700 setup it should be one of these two setups

    Thuban setup:
    AMD Phenom X6 1055T
    Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H


    Lynnfield setup:
    Intel Core i5-760
    Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3

    or should i go and give a little extra and take the EVGA P55 Micro board instead? i always wanted that board but i dunno.

    memory has to be some Mushkin, can't help it ever since i got my RedLine 2x2gb i have been hook for Mushkin memory :laugh:

    Mushkin Stiletto 2x2GB PC3-12800 1600mhz

    they should fit both setups and yes i am planing to OC them to get the most out the memory that's why i want 1600mhz :p

    but seriously i dunno what i should take, should i go for the Six-core or Quad-Core setup?
    both performance really nice but anyway i am planing to use my True cooler so i need a Bolt-Thru Kit and ino where to get those in DK so it's only which of the setups i should go for :confused:

    X6 Thuban Setup Price: 3209dkr / 549usd / 431euro

    i5 Lynnfield Gigabyte Setup Price: 3271dkr / 559usd / 440euro

    i5 Lynnfield EVGA Setup Price: 3620dkr / 618usd / 487euro
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  2. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,237 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Depends which applications you'll be using, how long you expect the rig to last for etc. You need to give us more info.

    If you are overclocking there is better memory than Mushkin for cheaper.
     
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Like said above, either way the systems gonna rock, I love my 1055t, tossed up a vote for that, can't go wrong with 6 cores that clock so easily, it's a great proc.
     
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    talking about clocking easily? - core I5 760
    compere to the I5 7X0, the T10XX are... sh*t overclockers
     
  5. unknwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    oh, and dont forget to check the gaming results :D
     
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    until my games won't run at 1080p anymore, i don't care about high fps in my games as along as my games don't lag i am fine, and keep in mind i got a GTX460 1GB i wanna use so it should be a pretty decent setup and no ASS-Rocker or Asuxx boards not having any luck with does only my Gigabyte boards have always worked for me :pimp:

    ino there maybe Corsair or Kingston dunno haven't had much luck oc'ing them in the past.

    i can get these two cheaper than the Mushkin's.

    Kingston HyperX blu 2 x 2 GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/4G for around 733dkr / 126usd / 99euro

    Corsair XMS3 2x2GB CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 for around 725dkr / 124usd / 98euro


    the Mushkin costs 864dkr / 148usd / 116euro

    i5 & Gigabyte Price: 2409dkr / 412usd / 324euro
    i5 & EVGA Price: 2758dkr / 471usd / 370euro
    X6 & Gigabyte Price: 2347dkr / 401usd / 315euro

    so it's not much to save to get lower priced Kingston or Corsair memory at 1600mhz in my country :p

    and yes all things have to be bought in DK so it's easier for me to RMA them if somethings wrong with them...
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    so maybe if i want to save power on my gamer i should go for Lynni processor ^^;

    and yes i am very in to power saving bcs i pay all my bills on my own so i need to think about that as well.
     
  9. paulharrison123

    paulharrison123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnsley, UK
    Well thats complete horse shite - and im not trying to start a flame war, im too old for that, My 1090T goes to 4.2ghz on air in a cosmos S and a Xiggy Dark knight.

    You cant just make a sweeping generalisation like that, some clock well, some dont (from experience, I set up the overclocks on ordered machines at work)

    Depends how good the chip is that you get.

    Depending on which review you read, the i5 is better in some and in some the AMDs are better, in the real world will you notice any difference at all? no.

    Short answer is go with whichever one tickles your fancy as you wont notice any difference in games at all.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  10. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I say wait. With that Quad you have now, overclocked to 3.6ghz, you wont even see a difference in games just by buying a new proc. Not even if you go SLI. Imo.
     
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    i don't go SLi <.< never been my idea ever.
     
  12. paulharrison123

    paulharrison123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnsley, UK
    I would also agree with the "wait for now" sentiment, some new chips are around the corner and you could either go for one of those or go for some cut price chip/motherboard combo when these come out.

    Its not like you have an athlon XP4200, but I do understand the bug, I want an i7 system, just because I do, i wont notice any difference at all in what i use the computer for, I just like the EVGA motherboards :)
     
  13. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Thats the point i was trying to make. You wont notice any improvement in buying a new CPU. You have a Quad at 3.6ghz, thats overkill if all you do is play games...
     
  14. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    It doesnt change the fact that this cpu consumes 100W~ more at oc and require shitload of voltage
    It doesnt change the fact the generaly the I5 7X0 can add 800MHZ~ w/o voltage change.
    Try a 3Ghz Core iX and ull know what is overclock beyond 4.2Ghz.

    If the cpu i meant for gaming, there nothing better then one of these I5 7X0 quad-cores. Nice bang for the buck.

    anywayz, ur talking about difference in games? so why not athlon X3 440?

    now you tell me, the benchmark are a lie? nop.. you get the I5 760 for the same amount of money and get more ferformance in gaming, so why the hell no?
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm running 3.5ghz right now without any voltage bump, and infact, as far as I can see 1.415v seems to be the factory voltage for stock clocks, and I had been running this 24/7 since the first day the chip came out at 3.9ghz on 1.420v, on the stock AMD fan that came in the box with the thing. These things dont start eating juice till you start cracking 4ghz, and this isn't some review talking, this is someone who has the chip sitting here right now, and has been thrashing the chip with the OEM fan at that, had this bad boy up to 4.2ghz on this fan, but it wasn't too happy.

    Either way, both are great chips, both are going to crush everything, even at stock clocks, I demolish anything, and once OC'd, it's just silly.
     
  16. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    he 760 will overclock higher with air/water cooling. if you are planning on subzero thats where the amd will really shine. on air/water amd's are good for 4.0/4.1 on air water the 760 will do 4.2/4.5ish unless your doing a shitload of decoding etc etc in which case I would still say 1156 but a 860 or above
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    If you must, i5 + gigabyte by a mile. But truly you don't need it. I'd say start socking it away, then 1-2 years from now go nuts on an 8 core 2011 + GTX 580 or w/e.

    Edit*
    What's up with all the AMD votes? It's about the same price. i5 > X6 for gaming by a huge margin, and both trade blows on other apps. What logical reason then remains for choosing AMD?
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    TPU= One of the forums that so happens to have mostly AMD fanboys roaming around.
     
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    dont waste ur time on amd
     
  20. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    clock for clock (per core) the i5 760 is faster and thus since more than four cores arent needed and probably wont be for at least another year, I voted i5 760.

    example, take a game that uses 2+ cores (even up to 6) when the i5 and X6 are clocked the same, the i5 will, on average, perform better.
     
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
    Judge for your self >http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Phenom_II_X6_1055T/10.html

    They are both pretty close, but honestly i think a Quad core is all you need, i dont think games atm will use all 6 cores right now, maybe in the future??? time will tell.

    And i also think that your current CPU is plenty for todays standards in games.
     
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The i5 has a better overall architecture, especially for current games. The AMD X6 CPU's are an awesome line of CPU's though, and i think in some aspects they could pull ahead depending on the applications you run. But if were talking about a gaming machine, then the i5 i would have to say is your best bet.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page