1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I7 3770k and h100i

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by PainKiller89, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just installed new mobo and cpu. Currently with stock bios settings cpu goes to 3.9ghz. I ran real temp temps are around 30'c is that normal with h100i? Please tell me

    [​IMG]
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    Yes. Those temps are very good and you have quite a bit of OC headroom to go.
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    and try alt+prtsc next time it only captures the active window ;)
     
  4. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    IMO it real hard to say with idle temps .
    You didn't say what your ambient room temp is but I would run prime95 to load it 100% and after say 15min post temps .

    that much more informative than idle temps .
    The idle temps look ok, not saying that there bad but don't give full picture .
     
  5. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    But running prime 95 at 4.2 the temps are at 61 to 69C which doesnt make any sense

    http://s18.postimg.org/pj1b7a1eh/20130705_070053_1.jpg

    Picture of the case with cpu block above, if you look at it closely its towards right please let me know.

    http://s23.postimg.org/kwlpkw0zf/20130705_065724_1.jpg

    Back fan above thats correct it should be pulling hot air outside?

    http://s10.postimg.org/8ii4veefd/20130705_070112_2.jpg

    Those are the fans are blowing towards the cpu block and the case above.

    Please tell me if you see anything else wrong with push and pull?
     
  6. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    249 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    those are normal load temps if you ask me. My friend's 3770k hovers around 80c+ during load with the H100i in push/pull config. His processor is overclocked to 4.5ghz.

    On your set-up, your h100i is sucking used air which is most likely hot already coming from your SLI set-up. You can try positioning the rad fan as intake and the rear fan as exhaust see how it goes. Air outside the case will always be cooler than air circulating inside the case.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  7. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I will face the back fan the other way to pull the hot air out. They should fix hot air issue, also i am going to get the cpu block correctly position since it seems off.
     
  8. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    That is not bad for 4.2 , about within normal for 3770k
     
  9. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the thing is i want to be at atleast 4.5ghz. But with 4.2 its already hitting 69 to 70c for second core when running prime 95 on full load
     
  10. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    well it depends on the chip , what voltage are you at now with 4.2 ?

    Did you try 4.5 and if so what voltage .

    I would be fine up to high 70's - 80c , thats just me for ivy .
     
  11. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i have it to 4.2 i have the bios voltage set to offset as well. All the power features are on and speed step.
     
  12. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Ok, but what does CPU-Z say for voltage under load ?

    Your not on auto voltage right ?
    you have a value set in offset field ?
     
  13. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Its set to auto i dont have anything else set in the bios. I have not done anything in the bios beside clock and ram timings and frequency.
     
  14. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Ah, ok .
    well this could party be why your seeing high temps at low OC like 4.2 you could probably be able to run with same voltage as stock speeds or just slightly higher .
    Stock speeds your probably around 1.05-1.10 and 4.2 you could maybe be able to do 1.10-1.15 v

    Best is when your ready to OC go manual first and then test at various voltages .

    Edit: Maybe check out some OC guides for your MB-CPU combo it will help out in long run .
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  15. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well i figured out of safe voltage at 4.5ghz. Currently in the bios i have manual set to voltage to 1.165. Ran IBT on high ran fine no issues what so ever temps did not go above 68. I did disable c3 c6 and package c support and enabled c1e. Is there anything else i need to do in the bios?
     
  16. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    delid the 3770k and use Liquid Ultra, and also Ultra on the lid
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,543 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    939
    No need to delid at 4.5 ghz. Don't treat it like a sandybridge; it can take the high temps. Especially when they're just going to last for the duration of stress testing.
     
  18. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    You should not need to disable c3 and c6 on Z77 MB .
    anyway what is LLC set to ?
    I would set LLC to a mid to high value(not max) so that what ever Vcore you set in bios and then go to load 100% only drops vcore a small amount . You don't want it to high of setting were it spikes higher though under load .

    You didn't mention MB model .
     
  19. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    sabertooth z77, also i have llc set to auto i havent touched anything with LLC.
     
  20. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Ok, you can leave LLC on auto for low OC like 4.2 but for 4.5 I suggest high setting and set CPU power phase control to optimize , you probably need around 1.2 -1.25v to start off testing but again each chip can vary quit a bit .
     
    springs113 says thanks.
  21. PainKiller89

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I wanted some suggestions from the people who have i7 3770k with h100i cooling. Currently here is how i have it set up, pics below

    This is how i have the fans mounted on the radiator

    http://s10.postimg.org/8ii4veefd/20130705_070112_2.jpg

    This is full pic of how i have the radiator and fans installed

    http://s18.postimg.org/pj1b7a1eh/20130705_070053_1.jpg

    Should i switch fans top wards instead of facing the cpu block? I am using corsair air series 120 high performance fans
     
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,914 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Your temperatures are perfectly fine. Computer looks good. You can leave LLC at its default setting and just use more offset voltage instead. Vdroop is part of the design of the chip, so using LLC to counteract it isn't really necessary. For most overclocks, just gradually increment multiplier and slowly increment your offset voltage from a negative value that lets you boot.

    A good way to start is set your multiplier to default, set vcore to normal setting and start lowering your offset voltage from +0.000v into the negatives until your cpu-z shows a good 1.10-1.15v voltage under prime 95 load at stock frequency and its still stable, and then increase your multiplier till it fails stability testing at the frequency and same voltage settings, then try either adding more offset or lowering your clock/voltage if you start to hit a heat wall (usually above 90*C and/or 1.35v the chips start to drastically require more and more voltage and start to give off more and more heat). Once you settle on a good clock, you can then try gradually reducing offset voltage to see if it can run at a lower voltage you might have missed.

    Your fans are fine. That setting will exhaust and thats what you want. Fans intake air from the front side (the side with the stickers etc) and exhaust out the back side (side with the wires and the crossbeam on the fan housing).
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  23. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    338 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Yes, I forgot to mention 69c is great for 4.5 just check for WHEA errors in event viewer while testing stability .
     
  24. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a 3570K and H100 overclocked to 4500MHz with 1.19 vcore( bios set) I also run LLC on Auto. I have AF120 fans in push/pull and run them at about 1000rpm. My ambiant air 72F ( accoring to the thermostat)
    I'm ideling now at a cool 30C and one core spikes to 41c from time to time depending on load atm.

    I have some encodes running or I would load up prime95
     
  25. Grey_beard

    Grey_beard Corsair Rep

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    I'm not seeing any problem here, its perfectly fine. Your temp is within reasonable range.. I wouldn't worry about it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page