1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 3770k OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paladone, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Hey guys. So i've now got my new pc and want to OC the cpu. I have an Asus maximus ROG mobo. Does anyone know of a good tutorial on how to OC with the ROG motherboards? Thanks :)
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    MightyMission and andrewsmc say thanks.
  3. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    my mobo is LGA1155, that says 1156, is that a mistake or is there a difference?
  4. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    975 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    ROG is pretty much ROG.

    Sandybridge / Ivybridge chips are the easiest cpu's in the world to overclock, you go into your bios and you crank up your multiplier and adjust cpu voltage as needed.

    I would suggest you take it slow, read over that well, lookup a guide for overclocking ivybridge chips as well, there are a few mistakes that can easily cost you your chip.

    Honestly with a 3770K there isn't even much need to overclock for anything but benchmarks numbers, I had mine rung up to 4.8ghz and kicked it back to stock because it yielded me a whopping 2-3FPS in BF3 even with my video card overclocked to the moon.
    Paladone says thanks.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Here you go:

    ASUS Maximus V Formula/3770K @ 4.7 GHz OC guide.
    Paladone says thanks.
  7. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    So i had a quick read over the guide and i loaded up a Gamers OC profile. I then saved changes and restarted. when i go back into the Bios is says that it has been saved and that the CPU is set to 4.2Ghz, 4.8 turbo but when i go into system preferences it still says 3.5ghz. Has it worked?
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    try running superpi or something.
  9. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    So should i reset it back to 3.5, test it, and then test it again when it's supposedly been overclocked?
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    nah, Gamer OC is like just an advanced turbo mode, with higher multis. IF you enabled, just give it a try.

    You are probably actually better off just following that guide to the letter, honestly.
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Slowly increase the multipler with stock voltage and see how far she goes on the stock volts. Run Prime 95 for 15 minutes or so. Some will flame and say use Intelburn which is fine. If it passes up the multi and repeat. When it fails, slowly increase voltage.

    Keep load temps under 80 and all is good. When you find the max overclock with reasonable temps, run prime95 for 3 hours. Pass= success. Fail? increase voltage or back multi down....


    Also, post all your system specs. If your on air, don't expect 4.7GHz. IvyBridge runs much warmer than Sandy.
  12. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    The 3770 will adjust the core multiplier and voltage dynamically to maximize electricity use efficiency. That's turbo boost. Make the CPU work hard, and it'll jump the speed and the voltage to do the task.

    Overclock, test, repeat - it's a length process to find the sweet sopt.

    Download Prime95, CPUz and Realtemp (or some CPU temp monitoring software), open CPUz and note the core speed and voltage. Run Prime95, and note the same thing.
  13. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    cool, thanks guys! :D What voltage do you think i'd need for 4.2ghz? EDIT: And do you think it;s gonna be harmful to keep it at 4.2gzh?
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Probably just a wee bit over stock voltage, if not stock voltage.


    And no, not harmful at all.
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Depends on the CPU. Thats why I suggested the steps above.... Dave is a master with these processors as so am I(LOL) but you cannot give an exact voltage, you have to find the optimal voltage for your CPU.
  16. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Sorry, do you know what the stock voltage is? Am i able to reset it to stock?
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Find the max overclock at stock and go from there. Reset Cmos will reset to default
    Paladone says thanks.
  18. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I run both of mine at 4.3GHz/1.175v (with loadline calibration) with perfect stability. Pushing 4.4GHz with my first chip even at 1.2v was unstable. Haven't played with anything higher than 4.3GHz/1.175v the second one though as it's still on the stock cooler.
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    i7 3770k, HD7970 x2, 32gb DDR3 RAM @2400Mhz, Asus maximus IV eATX MOBO and i have a H100i Closed loop CPU cooler.
  20. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You may be able to push past 4.3GHz depending on voltage.
    Paladone says thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Reset the board to stock, by loading optimized defaults.


    each CPU has different voltage for each multi. So, to find "stock" for that multi, you gotta set that multi, load up the CPU, and see what's set.

    However, some motherboards use their own Turbo profiles, so this doesn't apply. The board you got is one of those boards.

    So, really, I can't tell you, and you'll have a hard time finding that out, but you should be very safe in setting 1.2 V or so with "manual" settings(assuming you have a good cooler), and then adjusting the multi up, testing, then up, testing..when it fails..then go back down 2 multis, and you should be fine.

    You can go into a greater depth of testing and fine-tuning of course, but even that guide mention that setting voltage and then multi, and then lower voltage and test as DR.Death here mentioned.
  22. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    aaah right, i'll give that a shot.
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Hey Dave, your sexy!:toast:
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Chips vary greatly in overclocking, I've overclocked around 30-40 3770k chips, some wont hit 4ghz without going to around or above 1.2v, some have hit 4ghz at 1.0v flat.

    All part of the reason you take it slow, bump little by little and re-test to check for heat, it's the safest way to go.
  25. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    413 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    And sorry, what sort of torture test do i want to run on p95?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page