1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 3930K 4.5Ghz Voltage Questions?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, May 17, 2013.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Hey Guys got some questions on my new setup....

    First off Specs...
    i7 3930K
    Asus X79 Pro
    G.skill 1866 Mhz 16Ghz
    XFX 1020 Watt Pro
    EVGA GTX Titan
    2x Intel 80GB SSD RAID 0
    2x Western Digital 500GB

    I am overclocked @
    x45 Multi
    Vcore Offset - 0.015 = Max Load Vcore 1.35
    DRAM Voltage = 1.50
    VCSSA = 0.95
    CPU VTT = Auto
    C-States Enabled
    CPU LLC = High (50%)

    Questions I have is this a high Vcore? Or is this normal? I ask because I am coming from a i7 3770K which has a naturally low Vcore (Even when overclocked) and maybe it just seems really high coming from a lower Nano-meter CPU.

    I haven't been able to find a consistent answer when googling the question. I have found some .... saying between 1.35 - 1.38 is normal other say... 1.24 to 1.30. It's spread out. My memory tells me that when overclocking my i7 2600K 1.31 was normal for 4.5ghz however this is a 6 core CPU and a little different.

    Also anyone here use CPU Strap to overclock? I was always taught that SB and IB Bclock is off limits. Then I get a i7 3930k and I find out this is not exactly true. It is possible to overclock using CPU Strap and Bclock as long as you keep the PCI controller between 90 and 110.

    How safe is this style of overclocking and can you still use Offset or does it need to be a static setting?

    Thanks
     
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,269 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1.35 is fine tho it is getting up there
     
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I am on water so I have got some room..... but is that voltage standard "Average" for that speed on this CPU or is that above average?

    (I know every CPU is different) Trying to get an understanding of what everybody else was seeing. To get an understanding if I have more tinkering to do? Or if this is right were I should expect to be?
     
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,269 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Rochester area
    its a little bit higher then the Average-voltage for 4.5Ghz but still well within limits for being under water

    http://ark.intel.com/products/63697
    you aren't even over-volting it forget about it its fine maby a little voltage hungry but that could just be the nature of that chip
     
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Sorry bud don't mean to seem stupid here but I think I am miss-understanding you..... 4.5 Ghz is a higher clock than most were seeing? Or 1.35 Volts is a little higher than most were seeing?
     
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,269 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Rochester area
    see my above reply
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    LOL Thanks I don't know why I didn't think to look there.... Jeezz I feel dumb. Thanks bud :banghead:
     
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    If your on water, you could push the voltage higher. I used 1.44 volts at 5Ghz on water.
     
  9. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    I need the exact same voltage for 4.5 on my 3930K.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  10. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    You don't need strap to overclock your CPU it's unlocked, forget it.

    You may need it to fine tune your system to a frequency but for 4,5Ghz don't use strap.

    Anyway I've been running 1.5v on my 3930k for a year and it's still fine so voltage thresholds are something to take with a grain of salt.
     
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Nice.... you remember your volts on any other clocks? Any special settings you noticed or combos that helped you reach your desired affect or lower voltages at certain speeds?

    I plan on going higher if I can that is why I am asking.... possibly shooting for 5ghz eventually.
     
  12. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    What are your temps like ?
     
  13. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    58c to 60c on hottest core after 20 runs on LinX w 4096MB RAM Room temp about 70F
     
  14. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Every chip is different....... go to 4.7GHz and slowly raise voltage till its stable. keep the load temps under 80 and your golden. You have a lot of headroom
     
  15. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks Man... I appreciate the advice. That Vcore for some reason just seemed high to me.... and if I remember correctly I thought Voltage not temperature was the enemy with SB. But you are right I probably shouldn't be concerned.... my temps are golden!
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,269 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Rochester area
    Its LGA 2011 those chips are made to clock I would't be surprised if you could get 5Ghz at ~1.38v
     
  17. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    My motherboard automatically loads on voltage. I was running at 1.36v at 4.2GHz. I had to offset by a -ve amount to get a lower voltage. Happy to hear the <80 and as high as 1.4v is seemingly okay. Might overclock my cpu (same as 20mmrain) a bit more now. :toast:
     
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Those are not always stable
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Neg. for me. I don't have a great chip and need voltage
     
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    yeah i have been seeing most people need 1.4v+ for 5 ghz. I doubt i will hit that high at only 1.38v. I'm with you... I think I will need a little more voltage for my chip.


    Still wondering how many people Here have messed with the CPU strap on these cpu's? Is it worth it to achieve lower Voltages? Is it safe also if offest is able to be used along with it.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,285 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,087
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to run 1.45v on air. As long as your cooler is half decent you should be able to pump it up to 1.5v without a problem. With is not IVB, this isn't even SB. SB-E is a different animal. Now how high the CPU goes is highly dependent on your motherboard. I suspect many of the people commenting here probably haven't used a P9X79 or any of its variants and for a smaller group, haven't even touched SB-E either. I can say from personal experience with my P9X79 Deluxe that it needs more voltage than other boards to achieve the same overclock as say an ROG board or the Extreme11. Not to say that it's a bad board but you don't overclock nearly as well as say other boards for skt2011.

    My 3820 does not hit 5Ghz on my P9X79 Deluxe, even with 1.54v. With a lot of tweaking it will post and boot, but it is never stable. The highest stable overclock I was able to achieve was 4.92Ghz at 1.52-1.53v (1.49-1.5v, extreme LLC) but I would never leave it at that.

    I would say just set it at 1.45v and work from there, I would suspect that you might start running into a limitation at about 4.75ghz+, but let us know; give it a try.

    Also, your VCCSA feels a bit low to me.

    Check out my specs.
    128.6Mhz BCLK gives one of my memory multipliers a perfect 2400Mhz, which is why I use the 125Mhz strap + 3.6Mhz. I also need the strap for any overclock over 4.2Ghz since the 3820 is partially locked.

    It's very important to remember that you don't just set the BCLK to 125Mhz, you change the strap first which will bump it up to 125Mhz, then you work from there. You still are stuck with the 5-8Mhz limits outside the strapped bclk though. The strap just lets you run higher base clocks without impacting the PCI-E controller, DMI, and such.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
    20mmrain says thanks.
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Let me clear a few things ;)

    Full stability on a SB-E 6 core with less than 1.48v?

    You'll need a golden chip for that, trust me or you need to disable HT (not guaranted it'll give you more than 100 Mhz at same voltage).

    Very few can do 5Ghz with less than 1.48v, far less can do 5,2Ghz AT ALL.

    I binned two chips, one was a complete dud, not even posting with 1.6v at 5Ghz and the other one does 5,2Ghz at 1,55v.


    I'm anxious to see if IVB-E can do 5,3Ghz+ reliably.




    Max 70c full load on IBT AVX enabled. Rendering is like 5c less.

    Keeping it at 4,7-4,9 Ghz. CPU pulls upwards of 350w when pumped with 1.55v+ lol.
     
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I was staying quiet on that one. You are correct
     
  24. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    For gaming Intel quads are so much better.

    A delidded 3770k can run easily at 5,2 Ghz with proper cooling and it trumps any SB-E CPU due to increased IPC and obvious frequency advantage.
     
  25. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Key word with proper cooling and possible removal of IHS. I have owned a i7 2600K, i7 2700K, i7 3770K, i7 3570K and now an i7 3930K. All were water cooled.... and so far from my experience... My current CPU is the best performing and so far the most fun.

    The fun part is just an opinion... and that is because of the extra settings available for overclocking. So far it feels more like an enthusiast CPU.

    But in terms of performance I am scoring a superior score in benchmarks @ 4.5 ghz over other CPU's that were clocked at 5.0ghz.

    For gaming performance I have not run the numbers yet to compare my old i7 3770K to my new i7 3930K. However if I am loosing any performance it is not noticeable and it must only be a frame or two.

    In terms of IVB @ 5.2Ghz trumping a SB-E CPU are you comparing overclock vs stock? Correct??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page