1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 750 vs PII build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Isn't all of that run off of proprietary hardware? Can you provide a link on this camera system? I got 5 cameras in my shop and good ol' VHS.
     
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    coljarcker says thanks.
  3. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    if your going to make it into a dvr you should only make it that, a dvr. running it as a normal computer as well will have complications later down the road in terms of performance and overall usability.. for instance, what happens if the computer blue screens or gets a virus that will not let it boot? all possibilites
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    There will be an OS drive and then the "DVR drives" if you want, that is for sure... I can easily install windows on the DVR drive just in case...

    but you might have a point, and there is only a 50% chance this will be the DVR computer anyways...

    But just like that, How much would a very cheap dual core with at least 3 PCI slots (not pci-e) cost to build? (no DVDRW or HD)

    I do want to have some options to be able to present to my uncle


    oh and the i5 buld will be max like 30-50$ more than the PII build so isn't the i5 worth it?
     
  5. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  6. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    YES , if you game in 640x480 , and you like to archive files 2 seconds faster .
     
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I don't quite understand why you're looking to get him high end equipment? A dual core intel or tri-core amd set-up would do him just fine and also save money while doing it. Getting the Athlon II x3 would be cheap and would do anything and everything he's wanting it to do, same with the newer i3's or even the older core 2 line. I just don't really understand why go the more expensive quads when he probably won't ever see a use for it.
     
    werez says thanks.
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Like erocker said, not a huge diff but I'd go Intel.
     
    coljarcker says thanks.
  9. werez

    werez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    298 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Romania
    that was my point ... thank you Kenshai
     
  10. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,064 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    My vote would be AMD PII

    PS. Arrakis+9, your avatar is HOT!!!
     
  11. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    If reading this has changed your mind, my offer is still open. :)
     
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    You brought it upon yourself, here comes TRUTH, it hurts! :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The same trend continues in every single comparison. The i5 750 is superior when compared to Phenom II. Fact is fact.

    http://www.techspot.com/review/193-intel-core-i5-750/page8.html
    http://www.techspot.com/review/193-intel-core-i5-750/page7.html
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-750-core-i7-860-870-processor-review-test/18
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-750-core-i7-860-870-processor-review-test/12

    ;)
     
  13. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    If you don't need a quad core, an i3 530 or 540 offers pretty awesome bang for the buck. They overclock decently and are 32nm. They also compare well to the Phenom II 965 in many gaming benchmarks, especially overclocked.
     
    coljarcker says thanks.
  14. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I would go for i5. Nothing to think about here.
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Very nice set of data here to prove your point. However, if you only need a Ford to drive yourself to work in a slow lane, I don't see the point of getting a Ferrari. You will still be stuck on the same slow lane, maybe you can accelerate faster to shave off a few seconds.
     
  16. xrealm20

    xrealm20 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    467 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Houston
    +1

    I remember those days! Had a Abit BP6 with two of 'em =)
     
  17. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I believe his post was sarcastic, showing the minor differences in the two processors.
     
  18. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    If you people only had an AMD setup to play with for a day, you'd forget all about your small lead in a few benchmarks and embrace the smooth feeling that comes with owning an AMD platform.

    This is from a guy who is pretty much an Intel fanboy...as much as I love my Intel silicon...my AMD setup just 'feels' better.


    That being said, AMD can be as smooth as it wants....there is no denying that Intel did it again with the i5/i7 line and made true monsters both in heat output and power. :)
     
  19. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I have used quite a few AMD set-ups they feel identical I don't know what this smoothness thing is you're talking about. I've used Phenom II x2, Phenom II x3 unlockable, to x4 as well as Athlon II x4 all within the past month, I also have used i7 and i3 it really just doesn't feel any different.
     
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,165 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,718
    :laugh: This is the exact reason I gave my brother my E2200 instead of my Athlon X4. Youtube, Firefox, iTunes, and MS Office doesn't need a quad, but his 3000XP wasnt cutting it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Everyone has their own view, mine is that they feel a lot smoother than any other Intel setup I've used or played around with.

    Intel feel 'clunky' on the desktop and under normal use (i.e torrenting pr0n/youtube/random other crap)....thats why I love my AMD rig....and at the same time, I hate it because it fights me at every opportunity.


    I guess that makes for more fun OCing this platform than I've had with any other. :roll:
     
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I'm Impressed with my i7 and 4850 it handles every game i can throw at it. But in everyday use i don't notice a difference between the i7 and the E1500 or even the X2 4200+ :ohwell:
    I would go for the PII because there alittle cheaper and are easier to overclock.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,165 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,718
    The smoothness factor does exist :roll: I thought it was pure shit too until I noticed it myself between my 965BE and i7 860. A couple other members here have noticed it too. Its weird, but its there.
     
    aCid888* says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I can say i didn't notice any difference going from a X2 240@3.9ghz to the i7 920@3.8ghz. I have heard it has to do with ram timings. I was running the X2 ram(DDR2) ~1100@5-5-5-12 and the i7 is running ~1500@7-7-7-20(DDR3) So maybe that has something to do with it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Thanks for backing up my claim, dub. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page