1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 870

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by vychytraly, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello

    I tried to overclock processor i7 870
    I changed FSB from stock 133 to 160, and also decreased the RAM multiplier from 12 to 10
    Everything seemed OK, the RAM frequency was 1602 MHz and the processor frequency was 3,51 GHz

    But what I didnt expected is, that the Uncore speed raised from 2,40 GHz to 2,81 GHz

    In my mobo i only can set up RAM multiplier to 6/8/10/12
    Processors max multiplier is 22

    1. Is it ok? Should the Uncore Speed increase?

    2. What is that Uncore Speed?

    3. How much could RAM run over their stock frequency? I think that 1602MHz is still ok, but how much could they tolerate higher clocks?

    4. Should I turn off Turbo Boost?

    5. Should I turn off Intel SpeedStep technology?

    6. Should I set up something else too in BIOS?

    7. Should I increase the CPU Voltage?

    8. Should I (is it safe) to decrease CL at RAMs?

    9. If I want to overclock the processor using smaller frequencies, should I put BCLK to 200, RAM multiplier to 8 and decrease/increase the Processor clock multiplier in order to decrease/increase the frequency by 200?

    10. With 8GB RAMs should I turn of virtual memory in Windows?

    Thank you very much in advance
    and please sorry my english
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    1. yes
    2. double the ram speed;)
    3. some 1600mhz kits can go to 2400Mhz and beyond, depends on the kit.
    4. No need to.
    5. again no need to.
    6. possibly, you never said this clock was stable;)
    7. Only if it wont function with the current "auto" voltage.
    8. Again, depends on the kit if it will even work.
    9. I usually ran a 200 BCLK and changed multi's.
    10. Don't need to.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  3. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    thank you very much

    sorry, my RAMs are Kingston HyperX Grey Series 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9

    so Im going to overclock, if i understood right I shouldnt worry about uncore speed

    but dont i hurt processor somehow if i decrease its multiplier? isnt it a too big amount of work for other multipliers? (maybe a stupid question sorry :) )

    I only have 4 pin cable for electricity from PSU to processor, could it be a problem? beCause my mobo dont allow 8 pin.

    cant I hurt the RAMs if I overclock them to 1700 or 2400 MHz? does it have also same overclocking insurances as the processor has? (it turns off) is it a big performance difference if I overclock the RAMs too?

    and please, Im worried about temperatures, At every site I see different numbers, how big temperature should be at the i7 870 in the burn test? and how big at HD6950?

    Thank you very much for your reply
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Sorry I have no experience with that specific kit.

    If I remember right top end for uncore was like 7200-7300 mhz before it flakes out.

    Running a higher BCLK is tougher on the proc than running a lower multi would be.

    It could but not likely until you try to push further in the OC.

    If you don't know how to test properly before booting to windows, you run the risk of corrupting data or trashing the OS entirely. Typically, yes, the PC will shut down most times before damage occurs to the ram, unless you are over volting, then its 50/50 as to what may happen.

    At 3.5ghz i would assume during Intel Burn Test, it could be in the 70's. If you are on the stock cooler it could be much higher, since I don't know what cooler you are using its just a guesstimate. I don't get the reference to the GPU though, what about it?

    That's why we are here! ;)
    vychytraly and Wrigleyvillain say thanks.
  5. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    thank you very much

    but still i think i dont really understand what uncore speed is

    ok it is tougher for the processor but it is the only option or isnt it? could i damage it? do I shorter its lifetime?

    i dont know ho to test before booting, but i didnt planned overclocking the ram, so if i stay in 1600-1620 MHz toleration i think i dont have reason to worry or do I?

    I test the processor via OCCT, my cooler is Noctua NH-D14, in burn I now have 70 degrees, without overclocking, I thoought that safe temp is around 85 degrees

    in the reference there is just maximal safe temperature which is around 100 degrees, but what could be the safe 24/7 operational temperature for this card, if I dont want to shorter its lifetime?
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    Uncore is "everything else" inside the chip that is not an actual processor core such as the internal memory controller (IMC). I think QPI ratio or "speed" which you may be able to set lower in your BIOS affects the uncore clock speed if I remember correctly. Google "Lynnfield overclocking guide" to find good articles about this with more information. Anandtech had a really good one I think.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  7. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    so my temperatures on cores in burn are 50 50 48 49 but CPUTIN is 65, what is that CPUTIN and CPUTIN(2)?
  8. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    458 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Finland
    Those are actually very good temps. What cooler are you using?
    vychytraly says thanks.
  9. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    744 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ignore cputin temps, just check your core temps, make sure u have a decent aftermarket cooler
    vychytraly says thanks.
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    +1 for Sneekypeet. He know this CPU very well. Considering your board is a 4-pin CPU power, it may not be a performance board and may not handle the BCLK of 190-200 that seems to be the "sweet spot" for overclocking this CPU. Make sure your RAM is running at it's rated voltage.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  11. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    My system specs are: (I dont know how to fill it in my profile sorry, but I was looking for it, I dont see it anywhere)

    Coolermaster Elite 335 • Intel DH57DD • Intel i7 870 2,9 GHz • Noctua NH-D14 • Kingston HyperX Grey Series 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz • Sapphire Radeon HD6950 Flex 2GB 800 MHz / 5200 MHz • Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB 7200 ot. • Cougar CMX 700 • Windows 7 Professional 64bit

    I dont know how i figure out if my RAMs are running at their rated voltage
    In BIOS they are set to 1,5 V

    (note : the BIOS screenshots are from age, when I had 1333MHz 2x2GB RAMs, now I have 2x4GB 1600MHz)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    so if I understood right, when I go to overclocking, the only actions which I have to do is
    1. changing BCLK to 200
    2. Putting down the CPU Multiplier (for example from 22 to 20 if I want to have 4 GHz Processor?)
    3. Putting RAM pultiplier to 8

    End.

    Nothing more nothing else? No other options to change?

    Thank you very much for your replies.
  12. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    1. You ram voltage should be set to 1.65v and no higher. This is the upper limit of the CPU and P55 chipset.
    2. I always disable Speedstep and CPU C State.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  13. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    but is it necessary to turn it off? And should I set the RAM voltages to 1.65V now or only if they would be unstable?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page