1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 920 D0 @ 3.8Ghz stable hows it look?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Live OR Die, May 8, 2010.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    i've gone from 3.2 to 3.6 now im at 3.8Ghz should i keep going :) i have tried 4Ghz but i couldn't get it stable i needed more vcore maybe then what i tried 1.24V and temps got up round 70c before it BSOD, how does my oc look atm?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  2. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Vcore of 2.24V will kill the chip.. i hope u meant 1.24V

    most of my D0 will do 4.2 at or below 1.4V
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    typo lol sorry i had to bump the vcore up to 1.22500 it got errors in LinX any lower, temps on load are 70c now what temps would be safe if i go higher im changing to a coolit cpu cooler soon so hope that helps


    EDIT im still getting errors so i have to keep playing around with the voltages, should i turn Vdroop off?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,792 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,208
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Follow Binge's guide HERE

    You have a 760 Classified (or crucified) so you should have no issues getting to 4.0 Ghz stable. I have a 758 that I can 4 Ghz with 1.3ish volts.
     
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    lol thats why system name yer im running a Classified i use to have a 758 that died and i couldn't oc my ram with out a slot not showing up, i turned Vdroop off and dropped the vcore to 1.2v and no errors so far, will it be ok will vdroop off?
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,974 (8.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,454
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It takes my D0 1.25v for 4ghz and 1.275 for 4.1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Darwin96

    Darwin96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    303 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Washington
    Just out of curiosity, what kind of cooling system are you rolling?
     
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    just whats show in my system specs whys that?
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You need to be testing for stability, so you have a clear picture of your overclock. If you are stable at the voltage, then you can start moving the BCLK again until you are not. Obviously, it gets more complicated than that, but it's a good place to start. I do know, in my eyes that an OC doesn't count until it's stable.:)
     
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    that what im been doing for the last 3 hours :) linX takes a long time :(
     
  11. surfingerman

    surfingerman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    unless you badly need the extra power i would stick at 3.8, the voltage and heat jump starts really getting exponential past 3.8
     
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    finally got stable at 1.24373v with Vdroop on big jump from when im stable with it off on 1.2v

    what do you guys think?
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Darwin96

    Darwin96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    303 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Washington
    I'm a newb to TPU, I always forget about that "system specs" off to the side. :D

    I'm doing heavy tests on a bunch of procs tonight with different coolers so I'm always genuinely interested to see what others are using for cooling. IE: I've got 3 i7 980i's that I'm going to try and blow up with different coolers attached and see how high and stable I can get them albeit I prefer to see some rigs light on fire from the proc exploding.
     
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    lol well the v8 does a good job just though a higher CFM fan onto it, im getting a new coolit cpu cooler in a week or two so ill see how that ranks up vs my v8
     
  15. Darwin96

    Darwin96 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    303 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Washington
    I was having a hard time burning a chip so I had to take matters into my own hands. From the attached image, you can see how important it is to have a proper cooling system. :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Archapada New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi..i am new here.. but could u try to low your CPU VTT into 1.275.. i need to know how stable as if run memory at DDR3-1600.. but keep CPU vid just change CPU VTT volt.. thx
     
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,160 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    454
    i have my CPU VTT on 1.3v because im running a higher uncore and i am running my memory on 1600
     
  18. gusther New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    uruguay
    I just bought 3 packs of Super Talent 2000 mhz memory and QPI-dram (QPI-VTT)in xmp rises to 1.6V.
    Is marked very dark red.
    Is that ok !!!
    I have a core i7 920 without overclock.
    i was looking around and I could not find anyone who knew anything or were very specific.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page