1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I7 930 on P6X58D-E

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    I am helping my dad overclock a i7 930 with Asus P6X58D-E motherboard.

    I would like to find minimum voltage for 4.0 ghz.

    Should I run:

    qpi/vtt: 1.2v
    cpu pll: 1.8v

    ?

    What other voltages should be changed from auto to a fixed number?
    I was going to start v core at 1.2v and then reduce from there.

    Thanks.
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    No need for QPI and VTT just increase vcore in small increments untill its stable. 4GHz should be a walk in the park. Post all of your specs too.
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    Doc,

    Would you suggest leaving all those other voltage parameters to the default/auto/etc?

    Thanks :)

    Here is stock cpuz output:
    [​IMG]
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You should need more for 4GHz. try bumping it to 1.3 volts. i got 4.5Ghz stable with a 920.
  5. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just go for 200x20, you may need anywhere between 1.2-1.4V, just try and keep your temps under 80C. QPI should be fine an Auto if uncore is 3200MHz.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    22*182 would be the best place to start, this would keep the BCLK lower and you can use the turbo multi. Make sure you set all voltages to their manual defaults cause I have seen X58 boards adjust voltages that are not needed when you start changing multi/bclk. start around 1.3V

    most boards on X58 didn't like over 200Mhz Bclk. my ROG II Gene only would do 205mhz Bclk
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Good idea but with a BCLK of 182 you will struggle to have you're memory running at rates speeds because the memory multipliers won't play nicely like they do with 133, 160 and 200. Unless you fancy OCing that too.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    200 Bclk would put even 1333mhz ram over 1600mhz and would need ram that could keep up with the change.

    with a 19*191 Blck my ram went from downclocked 1066 to 1536mhz just to stay stabled (ram didn't like to go over its rated limit of 1600mhz CAS9).

    Using a lower Bclk will help in times were ram clocking is slacking. Had to deal with this some on P55 as well.

    If you’re running RAM that’s rated at 1600 MHz, you’d want to set BCLK to 1600 / 10 = 160, where 10 is your maximum memory multiplier. For 1333 MHz RAM, set BCLK to 1333 / 10 = 133.

    Some motherboards by default will only allow downclocking to 1066mhz on the ram which is a 8x multi and that would = 1600mhz real time clock at 4ghz if the ram would allow.
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yep they should, only mentioned to help some people out that their ram does not play well over 1600mhz as did mine. individually they would do 2000mhz CAS9 1.6V stable but in tri channel they would do 1700's CAS9 1.65V before crash.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Sorry deleted post as I realised the HyperX was more than likely from his own build and not the one in question.
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    Yep, my dads specs are different from mine. his specs are in the first post (shown in the CPUZ screenshots).
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It shows ram's max supported freq is 667*2=1333mhz, this could be a problem like mentioned in my post about Bclk
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, don't get too scared with vcore, mine needs 1.35v to do 4ghz stable. And yes, x58 seems to prefer under 200 bclk. I run at 23x173 and have my 1866 capable ram at about 1750. Also have my cpu pll at 1.88, it just wants that, you probably can use less. qpi volts can also affect ocing, mine needs 1.36v, but I run 24gbs ram, so I have to bump up everything a bit.
  14. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    If you look at the XMP profile under the SPD tab in the screenshots it's shows his memory has a built in profile of 800MHz = 1600MHz DDR. I would go for the 200x20. Just my thoughts but your choice, lower BCLK could be more stable!
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,708 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    Thanks for the info guys. I passed the thread onto my dad, he says he's going to attempt an overclock again in a few days, he was having stability issues unrelated to the overclock from reinstalling a scsi card or something.

    From what I remember, he was stable very high IBT at 1.25v, 4.0ghz using a tutorial he found, but I think he can be at a lower voltage for 4.0ghz.
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, it's been a while since I went through my system. I may be able to lower volts on several things now. Let me know your results, may try them here.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    930's like odd multi too
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
  19. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Agreed, especially the 930s and the 950s, they were never quite as cool as the 920 D0.
  20. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It was quite the opposite. The original batch of 920's needed considerable amount of voltage.
  21. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah the C0's, the D0 stepping was a massive improvement.
  22. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Here is my 4.5Ghz stable on a cheap Gigabyte X58-UD3. I used 1.42 volts on custom water. 215FSB and 21 multi. Remember, the 920/930's liked odd multi. Disable turbo too.

    [​IMG]
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,985
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea my old D0 only took 1.275V for 4Ghz 24/7
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Dam, yeah, I keep hearing that about the 920 D0s... my 950 is such a pig!
  25. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    Incorrect, You could easily go over 200 BClck and as mentioned, Bloomfield CPU's played better with odd multi. You most likely needed more voltage.

    950's were binned chips.....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page