1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I7 930 on P6X58D-E

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Vario, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Hmm, you guys are getting me to think about playing with settings again... wonder if my gene II would like over 200 bclk, would like to get my ram speed up a bit more....
    Edit: and yes, 930s and 950s like odd multis, so 21x and 23x are the only options....
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Don't worry about memory. You will be lucky to pull over 1900MHz anyhow and there will be minimal gains with the 930. Concentrate on core speed. In the day, I was a master with these chips. Got 4.7GHz suicide on it.
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    That would be good enough for me! And this chip will do at least 4.3 stable... but I don't have water cooling.
  4. tongey54

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    IBT and Prime stable? ;)
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You may be limited with your cooling. I would test how high you could get the bclck and see how high the system boots 1st. See what the beast has. Cooling will have no effect in seeing max Bclck.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I didn't want to go past 4.3, because temps were getting out of hand... it might do 4.5 with a full custom loop.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    No you are incorrect.

    Pull straight from TPU's X58 OCing thread. Most boards did not have the voltage capabilities to run above 200 Bclk 24/7. I have went through 20 boards on X58 and maybe 5 could do it stable.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Umm, I am not. I reviewed many X58 boards. How many have you reviewed? LOL A $130 X58-UD3 pulled it easily. 20 boards, you must have used EVERY X58 retail board... LOL
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I am not arguing with you, I am just posting my findings and we all know you HAVE to be right and argumentative.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, have to try now... going to see if this thing can pull 200+... inquiring minds must know....
    drdeathx says thanks.
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Seeing you used a 20 multi you didn't know 19 multi on the 920 was the trick..... You did have a 920 though so you may have been limited. The OP has a 930 so he should easily break 200 FSB.

    Make sure Turbo is disabled and use a odd multi even if the multi is low.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I used a multi 21, 20, 19.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,562 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    I hit 210BCLK on my GIGABYTE x58 UD7 and X58 UD3 w/i7 930. I may have been lucky, or the added watercooling to the chipset helped. Not something I would run 24/7 though. 205 was comfortable though.
  14. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    ON 920's the only way you could use 21 was with turbo enabled. I am a sharp mofo. Turbo enabled would not be able to overclcock high on 920's.

    Testing the BClck on boot no boot with air cooling would not matter. Stress test yes.. Watercooling chipset would not make any difference with air or water. Watercooling extreme voltages, yes. Even at 1.4 volts, chipset would be fine. A small fan on chipset certainly would not hurt.

    The UD7 certainly would do better than UD3 or the same....
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, I wish it was binned better... can't do 200 bclk at all, but got it running stable at 4.17ghz, except under extreme stress testing, it hits 95c... Really need water cooling for over 4ghz on these.
  16. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I would stop. Bloomfield CPU's degrdate easily. Don't take it over high 70's
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I took it down to 4.1, low 70s in gaming. I want an sb-e, so I don't expect this to last forever....
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Thanks for the kick in the butt... running 4.1ghz, ram at 1800, max temp when gaming is now 66c, 53c is average. Fps gain isn't huge, but is noticeable. Had to crack a window in my computer room to do it, but it's worth it.
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I have one if your interested. PM me.
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    New stable oc. Stays well under 70c now under load. Guess this cpu did have more left in it...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Guess I'll be happy with this for another year, then I hope to god I can cobble together a SB-E system......
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Oh you couldn't??? I wonder why? Seems the good Dr knows it all. :rolleyes:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    it can do over 200, but divider crap puts my ram at over 2000, and it just wont do that. I'd have to crank qpi ect, and I still don't think my ram would do it.
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Brandon stop.... you have no idea what voltages he has or his memory. Every time you pull this you lose. If you read his replies and look at CPUID you would understand.

    HERE Brandon:
    There is a divider for memory to back the frequency down. Also, you may need more vcore. I needed 1.42 volts for 4.5GHz and 215 Bclck. Make sure turbo is disable too. Disable turbo and use 21 on the BClck.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,352 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yes, I can back memory down, but under 1600... not what I bought 1866 ram for. And even though I could get 4.3 stable, this is the best compromise. SB systems give you more choice. An ivy bridge system I built for a client would allow me to select any speed ram I wanted, and boot to that. 1st gen systems are a pain in the ass... just the reality.
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I believe you have been proven wrong countless times, You give some of the worst advice.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page