1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 960 too hot 80c

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by lordjohn, May 19, 2012.

  1. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    my system was build last year, i7 960 stock speed stock fan, on gigabyte x58, it used to have only 12gb of ram, I just upgraded the ram this year to 24gb with all same 1600 4gb patriot memory. I saw many people use OCCT to stress test the system, so it is my first time running it. i7 can go up to 80 c in 3 mins, I wonder is that because i set the ram speed to 1600? since i7 only support ddr3 800 or 1066, but the gigabyte x58 support up to 1866.

    note that mem86+ can pass for 10 times with no errors for memory.

    I checked the stock fan and re applied the sliver paste, same result, 80 c in 3 or 4 mins.

    now, I just installed a new APSALUS2-90 water cool build by asetek model 545L, my temp is still high for OCCT around 80 c in 5 mins. I wonder what should I do?

    cpu volt from 0.8-1.2
    memory volt at 1.52

    the system can run any game(e.g. BF3, Batman2, etc) at full setting ok, temp never go over 65c. but i need it to work on some heavy load progarm, sometime it will go around 80 c if the work load is very heavy, thus the cpu is 100 load almost all the time.

    Thank you very much for any suggestions
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's really high for any CPU. What kind of cooler are you using and if you're running on air (which I'm assuming you are considering the temps,) have you removed any dust and crud from the heat sink?
     
  3. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Intel stock coolers are crappy, I would not be surprised if they gave you one with plastic mounting clips, I am pretty sure it is not applying the correct amount of pressure on the CPU.
     
  5. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,167 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    How much thermal paste did you use when you reapplied it? Your only suppose to use an amount equal in size to a pea/one or two grains of rice. Too much thermal paste will cause high temperatures.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,613 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Wow, that's a huge problem.

    This may be a stupid start, but I have to ask the following:
    1) Do you have a barrier between the cooler and the CPU? I've seen people leave the plastic protector (a thin film) in place, and apply thermal paste. Temperatures soared, and that was the reason.
    2) Did you apply thermal paste? The metal to metal interface is far from ideal, but some newcomers occasionally "clean" the heatsink of thermal paste. Not everyone understands that it is there for a reason.
    3) Are all of the screws tightened properly? Again, the heatsink needs to make a large contact surface possible. If you cranked down one screw first, and wedged the heatsink, you'll get very poor cooling.


    Assuming that you thought those solutions insulting, I would look at your fan header. Burnt out heatsink fans, or inactive pumps in the case of water coolers, can prevent heat dissipation. Try the cooler on a direct power connection from the PSU, and see if that lowers the temperature. If it does there is a problem with the fan header you were using, and the best way to fix that (barring just using a different header) is an RMA if the board is still under warranty.

    My only other suggestion is to check and see that the overclock isn't too high. The 960s have a 130 watt TDP, which is the maximum Intel usually allows. This means that they run hot even under the best of circumstances. If you push the OC up you get significantly more than a 130 watt TDP...
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've done this by accident before, this can mean the difference between 75*C and 62*C under load on my 3820. Keep in mind when you tighten the heat sink that the layer of thermal compound will be extremely thin. You want just enough to make contact with most of the CPU. Also don't spread it yourself or you will end up with air bubbles, if you just put a spot the size of a grain of rice or two like BarbaricSoul said and put the heat sink right on it and let the pressure spread it out itself, you should be good. If it's still really high after, the TIM might not be good. I'm assuming this is all at stock speeds, because if you're overclocking then that is your answer.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,167 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    I had a friend use a whole 2.5 gram tube of paste one time. :wtf:
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks


    Thanks,
    I checked from 1 to 3, no such problem. however i can not connect the pump and the fan to psu since there is no 4pin standard psu connecter from the fan and pump. I did not oc the 960, it is running at 3.2, 133x24, I wonder does setting ram to 1600 is a oc? rams are standard 1600, but the cpu only support 1066 rams. this high temp problem never happend before when using only 12gb or 6 gb of rams, the old rams was at 1066.

    however, i notice the stock fan push more in than the aftermarket watercool, but i tight all the 4 screws, in a cross way. the screws are all in, and cannot go deeper, the only way i can think of is add some plastic ring between the screws to make the watercool push more on the mainboard.
     
  11. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    thank you very much, i will rebuild it, and i will only apply little silver compound, not sure how much is enough? 3 little grain of rice? if I apply on cpu, should I also apply on the heatsink/pump head?
     
  12. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    how much should be normal?

    what temp should i expect? if room is at 26 c, the case has 2(120mm and 80mm speed 2000) fans blow in from the left side, the radiator has 2 fans 92mm speed 2000 to bring the heat out. i7 960 stock speed. 24gb ram at 1600
     
  13. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,613 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Ok. One more question, that I didn't have the foresight to ask before.

    You say the RAM is running at 1600MHz, but you say there is no overclock. How is this possible?


    The RAM speed will generally default to the lowest value of either the identifier chip on the RAM or the IMC in the CPU. As such, the computer should have the RAM running at 1066 MHz.


    The only way to get 1600 MHz would be to change the multiplier. Did you do this?

    Additionally, when you went from 12 to 24 GB of RAM did you step from 1.65 to 1.5 volt modules? An improperly set memory voltage, combined with a substantial frequency bump, could be pushing the IMC hard enough to be heating up substantially. I would recommend you check that the RAM isn't being overvolted, and set the RAM to 1066 MHz frequency. If this fixes the temperatures, you've got your culprit.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  14. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    thanks, i changed the speed of ram, since i thought ram is a 1600 ram, i will set them back to 1066, the volt is 1.52 all the time
     
  15. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    one more question

    so if i set the ram at the ram default speed, but it is higher than the CPU acceptable ram speed, it is consider a overclock for the cpu?
     
  16. B0B New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Can you run Gigabytes Easytune6
    Look at the voltage for qpi/vtt
    Under the power on is the default setting (greyed out)
    Under target is what its running at in windows
    I am running the G1.assassin x58 board when i went from 3 sticks of memory to 6 the qpi voltage when up heaps when i run the memory higher then 1066 the voltage goes up a bit more
    Some times bios settings set to auto can set things higher than they need to be
    My uncore was out of spec so lowering it to 1.5 times my memory speed dropped my qpi voltage and helped with temps aswell
    I think for your cpu the uncore needs to be around 2x for my 980x its only 1.5x
    As i said run easytune6 look at the voltages see if any are higher then default
    I am going to replace my 6 sticks of ram for 3 sticks to help with voltages and temps on the 980x
    Good guide to read if your not to sure about x58 and i7 setups
    http://i4memory.com/f55/intel-core-...oltages-uncore-memory-frequency-ratios-23430/
     
  17. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,613 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Going to go into some history here, so be forewarned.


    Historically, the CPU and Northbridge were separate entities. This meant that the RAM controller, which was on the Northbridge, could be overclocked without increasing the temperature of the CPU.

    As processors moved forward, specifically with the start of the i series processors for Intel, the CPU integrated the functions of the Northbridge. As the primary task of the Northbridge was to control the RAM, this component was called the IMC, Integrated Memory Controller, in the CPU.


    Today, the streamlining of chipsets (Northbridge, Southbridge, and CPU to CPU and Platform Controller Hub [PCH]) means there is less power lost, and simpler boards. This drops the price and complexity of boards. On the other hand, it means you need to overclock a CPU to increase the memory frequency. It's the same component as previous generations, but integration with the CPU means that overclocking it will heat up the CPU.
     
    cadaveca and lordjohn say thanks.
  18. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,167 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    I use a dab about the size of a pea. If your unsure about the size of a pea, aim for the size of two grains of rice. Only apply it to your CPU. Don't spread it, let your heatsink/waterblock sqeeze the paste flat as you tighten the heatsink/waterblock.

    As for the temperatures you should expect, my I7 860 under a Corsair A50 heatsink gets to around 60'c at just under 3 ghz(stock speed with turbo mode) while running all 8 threads at full load running WCG.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    One of my systems i have a i7 950. Early this year the stock fan crapped out on me. Didnt matter if I re-seated it or not. Temps were idle mid 60c to load at High 80c. So i bought a Antec Kuhler H20 620 for $50 dollars. Room temp is always low 70f and now the 950 idles at 38c games at 48c and load at 58-59c never breaks 60c at 3.2ghz its only Push out.

    If your changing the BCLK your overclocking even if your intention is just to get higher memory speeds.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  20. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    thanks
    i saw the volt of ram at 1.62 when using auto, so i set them back to 1.52. the high temp i am having is at ram volt of 1.52.
     
  21. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    thank you very much, now I understand. I was always remembering that ram was controlled by NB, so things have change so much just 2 years.
     
  22. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ram at 1066

    with ram back to 1066, ram volt at 1.52, cpu core highest temp is 71c after 20mins of OCCT linkpath 22gb ram
     
  23. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    applied new pasta

    applied two small pea of pasta, cpu in occt at 59c for 20mins, but at linkpack at 73c for 20mins.

    i think the silver pasta i use is a bit hard, and the pumphead does not have enough push to spread the pasta.
     
  24. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    1.52v is still pushing you're luck

    Your DRAM voltage should never be more than 0.5 V above VTT, or it could cause system stability problems. Since the default VTT is 1.1 V, this means that your DRAM voltage shouldn’t be higher than 1.1 + 0.5 = 1.6 V–unless you also increase VTT. So if you’re using memory that has a default voltage of 1.65 V or you’ve overclocked to that amount, you should increase your VTT voltage to at least 1.65 – 0.5 = 1.15 V.
    FAILURE todo the above WILL result in a dead chip shortly
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  25. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    final solution

    I rebuild this machine 4 times, each time with a different amount and apply method of thermal pasta, extra or little pasta would give a different in 2 c for cpu under linkpack of OCCT.

    room temp at 27 c

    the ram are back to 1066, volt 1.52
    idle at 40 c
    cpu under linkpack of OCCT still high around 72 c for 20mins
    cpu under OCCT max at 63c for 20mins

    now I under clock the cpu to 2.93,
    idle at 37 c
    cpu under linkpack of OCCT max at 62c for 20mins
    cpu under OCCT max at 55c for 20mins

    this is water cooled with new water cooler, just shipped to me 2 days ago.
    is that because 24gb of ram will load the cpu more?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page