1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 build by newbie

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by mikemastah, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am planning to build a new, computer which has to perform good with gaming, various multimedia stuff and compiling.
    I started this list with possible components. But I'm new at building computers so I was wondering if you guys could give me some backup.

    Case: Antec Twelve Hundred

    Motherboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2

    CPU: Intel i7-920

    PSU: Corsair HX1000W

    Video card: Radeon HD 5870

    RAM: Corsair Dominator DHX+ DDR3 1600MHz 6GB x2

    HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB SATA2 x2

    DVD: LG DVD±RW

    Keyboard: Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard


    Since I'm new at this I also need some advice on the coolers, I prefer to use air cooling though. I just don't like the idea of water in my computer, maybe later.
    What kind of CPU cooler should I buy? And so I need cooling for other components like my RAM/GPU
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2009
  2. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Okay well the i7-950 is alot of money, if you don't want to spend much, get the 920?
    And there are so many good CPU coolers out there, it will be a battle to tell you what would be the right one. So basically its what you like, but also be smart in searching, like look for reviews and see if the one you like is good enough. I would suggest like a Xigmatek s1283 cooler.
    And the 295 is great, so no extra cooling.
     
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Everything looks pretty good but i would go with the 920.
    It will overclock and run about the same speeds as the 950 and you can use the extra cash somewhere else.
     
  4. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  5. WOOKZ

    WOOKZ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    112 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SYD AUS
  6. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay so I'll go with the 920 and I will take a look if they sell that memory in the shop.
    Also for some strange reason they don't sell the HD5800's here. So I kinda have to pick the GTX 295.

    I was wondering is there any way to tell how much power this will need, for PSU. And what about the rest, is the Asus P6T Deluxe V2 a good choice?

    I can pick between 8-8-8-24 and 7-7-7-20 Ram, which should I pick.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2009
  7. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    man , best they have is GTX295?it is powerful, but its dual gpu card, and no directX11 support. You will play all games just fine, but what about a few months from now or so, new games will come out and you will think of how to exchange this for a directX11 compatable one. come one , if ur buying right now, get your hands on a single ATI 5870 any way possible, its close to GTX295 performence level, only 1 gpu, and supports directX 11,, and get second one later to crossfire, I7 920 cpu is very good, power 850watts would be great, as for motherboard it seems good and supports two video cards at pcie16x
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,652 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Take cheaper Core i7 920 instead. They all clock to 4GHz anyway on that ASUS mobo.
    Also take RADEON HD5870. It's cheaper than GTX295, yet it's similar in performance, single GPU is less problematic, lower power consumption and DX11 support. Do i need to say more?
    As for the HDD's, have you checked new Samsung drives from SpinPoint F3 series? 2 platter 1TB drives are very tempting and i would recommend you to look at them. Less platters means less noise, higher transfer rates and lower seek times. Other than that, the system is great.

    As for the 3D googles, do you really need them? I still think they are useless gimmick.
    Besides, you need a 100/120Hz display to even use them. Eyefinity on HD5870 looks much more useful. Buy 3 LCD displays instead 1 expensive 100/120Hz and those 3D glasses and experience gaming on huge screen.
     
  9. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, eventually I did find a Sapphire Radeon HD 5870. but it's over €500 a ridiculous amount of money... is it worth it? If this card is a lot better I won't hesitate to buy it, even for that price.

    I looked into those HDDs RejZoR and they were only €2 more. So I'll take those

    you're right about the 3d goggles, the kid at the store just kept advertising them.. So I'll drop the goggles.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2009
  10. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Whoa, 1000w PSU?

    I think thats a little much... I'd go for something like 700w if you want to be on the super safe side and if you plan on Crossfiring and OCing...
     
  11. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So 1000w is too much? Should I go with the HX 850W? Or 750? I really don't know how much power is required.
     
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Well, if you want to upgrade later, and seeing you have a lot of money, I would suggest the TX or HX 850

    I love building i7 rigs, and I have done so many times in the past :) Now, where do you live and are you willing to buy online?
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,652 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    HD5870 @ 500 eur? Where do you live!? And i thought we have high prices in Slovenia.
    The cheapest i could find in my country was 343 eur (MSI Radeon HD5870 1GB).
     
  14. Master

    Master

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    80 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Iran
    i would recommend the 850W , the more the better , also keep in mind that there is sth called
    capacitor aging and simply it means each year it passes ,the PSU you get will decrease in performance slightly compared to the initial date of uses , so maybe you wana use this PSU for at least 4 years or maybe more , and also you might upgrade your cpu or VGA,there that would come in handy .
    still let the pros tell you which one to choose .
    ( i also think overclocking this beast would consume more electricity and thus a more capable PSU ! )
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,652 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Well, high end PSU's have solid capacitors (polymer) and are far more durable than standard electrolytic capacitors. And as far as i know drop in performance due to aging should be minimal with solid caps.
     
    Master says thanks.
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    can use a Newgg wattage calc. i typed in the things you have listed i would get a 800w-850w PSU. Antec 850w its not bad but heres some PSU in the range you would need. and for the Video Card i think this ASUS 5870 would be great and it doesn't have a crappy sticker its about the only one in stock. this will help future prof your comp and get the I7 920 save some $$$ hopefully you can get stuff from newegg if not you can still try and find this stuff around you

    EDIT1: don't forget you will need a OS i would get W7 Home
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2009
  17. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I live in the Netherlands and after a lot of surfing I found a HD5870 for ~€350. So I'll definitely take one of those. I buy all my stuff online because the local stores are ridiculous expensive (the exact same HDDs are €40 cheaper each, when I buy them online).

    So the HX850W then? What's the difference between HX and TX?

    Also about the memory, they have '8-8-8-24' and '7-7-7-20'. Which is better?
     
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    could you point me out to specific websites please?
     
  19. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    7-7-7-20 is better
     
    mikemastah says thanks.
  20. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Don't waste too much money on memory... Cheap crucials without heatspreaders will do much better then most of the others
     
  21. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm afraid Newegg doesn't ship here :(

    What websites?

    7-7-7-20 it is then
     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    From where you are willing to buy from
     
  23. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheap crucials will do better?

    http://www.komplett.nl/ Is where I buy most of my stuff.

    Can I use an OEM OS? it's not that if I update my PC, I'll have to buy the OS again?
     
  24. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    yes you can use oem that whats on my pc you can update or reformate type in your code again, if you end up moving it to a new pc just call Microsoft's automated service it lets you re use it
     
  25. mikemastah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok cool, I'll buy Win7 too then
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page