1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 o/c to 4.5ghz suggestions?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by sol.fides, Mar 11, 2010.

1. sol.fides

sol.fides New Member

Thanks Received:
    hey, I'll be upgrading soon and wanted to hit 4.5Ghz on air again, only this time with an i7. I'd use it at 4.3Ghz 24/7. I haven't seen many comprehensive databases available on the net like there was for the conroe. Have you guys run into a collection of some promising oc results? any links? thanks. Many review sites don't share my lack of fear. I'm not afraid to push my processor. I've been pushing the limits of every processor I've had for 8 years now. If its not good enough I resell it.

I'd be willing to go water, but wanna keep the whole 4.5ghz experience under $500. I'll be investing in a high quality tri-sli board probably a classified.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  2. erocker

erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
  3. sol.fides

sol.fides New Member

Thanks Received:
  4. MickNat New Member

Thanks Received:
    If its anything more than $15-20 more than an i7 920 I really wouldnt bother, they are the same chips bar the multi is 1 higher on the 930, oh and they are all D0. Most 920's will do 4-4.3ghz on air with a good board and cooler fairly easy, its the 4.4ghz + where it starts to get a little bit more tricky.
  5. bpgt64

bpgt64

Thanks Received:
    920's do a 21x multiplier with speed boost. So does the 930 do x22?
  6. MickNat New Member

Thanks Received:
    Yes, short and simple answer :p
  7. Binge

Binge Overclocking Surrealism

Thanks Received:
    This is sad... the moderator just told you where you should ask your question.
  8. Binge

Thanks Received:
    It will not do x22 when overclocked.
  9. MickNat New Member

Thanks Received: