1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 rig not booting to windows! SOLVED, forgot to put AHCI for my SSD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by n-ster, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Well, I had decided to do some cable management, so I unplugged everything and did some serious cable management improve, I mean HUGE :D

    So I try to turn it on... My ASUS 5850's fan seemed to have failed and started becoming hot to touch, and windows was failing to boot (at starting Windows screen animation, there is a quick BSOD, unreadable thats how quick, then restart), so I took it out of the comp, thinking that was the problem... tried again with just my XFX 5850, but thats a no go... I took out all the unneeded stuff that was easy to take off (U3S6, sound card, wifi card)

    Still no go, tried to do a repair with my windows 7 USB, but my SSD doesn't have the 8gb free space requirement, the automatic windows system repair seems to find a problem but says it can't fix it..

    I am thinking it might be the HDD, but I have some data I do NOT want to lose. Before I use my laptops HDD and wipe it clean with a new windows install to attempt and fix it, what do you guys think it is?




    Do ask for more info if needed
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2010
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You said you were doing cable management so i would start there.

    May just be a loose cable or grounding out on something.

    Give it a good look over.
     
  3. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Silly question, but did you try and reset the cmos?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    but the windows repair works fine, and when using the USB key to repair windows, the same animation works fine and everything seems to work fine except the booting lol

    Also, obvious,m I tried to double check everything without undoing my cable management...

    And yea, I reseted the CMOS a few times



    btw, I'm going to SC this week, will be there 11th to 18th :D Myrtle beach or Hilton Head, not sure yet
     
  5. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Then I'm clueless, other than it grounding out somewhere where it shouldn't. I say follow anything near or attached to the video card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Tried but can't find anything... by touch, shouldn't I feel some tingling or something if it wasn't groundedd? and I can leave it on for hours on the system repair or the windows 7 repair screens
     
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    I remember at some point when BIOS would go to default, it would put some intel technology on and it would BSOD, I should try to disable some of those
     
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    you got another dribve to plug in and install windows to see if it does the same with a fresh install?..... that way you can rule out a software issue
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    oh shit, I didn<t check if the HD setting is in AHCI

    gimme 2 sec
     
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    WOW, it was that it wasn't on AHCI :facepalm:

    What an idiot I am lol...

    on another note, I hope that the ASUS 5850 fan didn't actually fail and that I was just mistaken
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Take off your case side and check? It's pretty easy to tell with a flashlight.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Glad to see you sorted it out.

    I thought it would be something simple you just overlooked.

    Have fun at the beach....I go to Myrtle every year its pretty nice down there.
     
  13. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yea, I used to live in SC too :D

    If you could PM me the condo or hotel you go to usually, it would be nice :D or any hotel or condo you head good about

    Thanks :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page