1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ICMP attacks for me! help!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by saarxee, May 4, 2013.

  1. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,064 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    You said that already and they prolly fried the poor thing. :(
     
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Seems an odd pastime to me ,if it cost me one router already id have at least phoned your Friend and asked him to stop it especially as its the easist fix..
     
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,754 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    Location:
    Mexico
    Call you ISP, they are the ones with the power to stop this, they can filter his packets or (if he has the same ISP as you) suspend his connection.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    Spameeeeerrrrr!!
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    THREADCRAPPERRRRRRRRRRRRRR

    I'm just messing, but you see my point, there is a report post button for a reason :toast:
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  6. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,064 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    Also it's fire safety awareness month.Be careful or Smokey bear will rape you in the middle of the nite!!!
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,867 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,465
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Which is better than letting the router process it. I would rather my connection get bogged down than my router get taken down by a DDOS attack. If you have a static IP, you don't run from your problems, you confront them. It's not the perfect solution but it is a solution and it does mitigate the problem regardless of the fact that the problem still exists. He might as well enable it, it won't hurt and it can only help.
     
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I would brute force attack his router, and create such a havoc upon his home network that the only thing his pc would be good for, would be a door stop. I would have him carry fruit to my door step as payment while chanting my name to get me to stop... Mua.. hahaha He would find my brute force attach far more powerful than his ICMP attacks. Mua.. hahahaha j/k I don't know how to do that type of thing hehehe or do i?.. lol Actually, I would tell him if he ICMP attacks me one more time then he is gay! and if he does then you have your evidence he is a happy person. :toast: Good luck!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    US
    and if it's not he might be able get the settings and enter them manually, this way can make them change the ip address. i used to do it with my isp which in my case took 3 days.

    other wise complain to the isp as you said, but i would like to know how he knows his supposed friend is attacking him.
     
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, honestly I would do like W1zard said and get another IP. I would disconnect your modem to get a new Ip for your modem. If you disconnect your router you're only going to get a new ip in your lan and not your wan. You can check your wan IP by going to www.ipchicken.com. I would go there and write down your ip and then disconnect your modem and router and reconnect modem then router and go back to that website to make sure your IP changed. If that doesn't work then I'd call your ISP. What kind of modem are you using? do you have the admin password to it? if so then you can try like asrock said and manually change your ip. Just remember to change the last set. the example 192.168.1.X you want to change the X. You can also connect to a proxy until he gets bored and stops. :toast:

    EDIT: When you disconnect I would wait 5 to 10 minutes before reconnecting to ensure you get a new IP.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,867 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,465
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I thought a recommended a sure fire way to fool DHCP into giving you a new IP.

     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,038 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,948
    some implementations link the IP to your contract/login/physical line
     
    Aquinus, remixedcat and Mindweaver say thanks.
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    True he has to wait till his lease is up good call, if you don't get one after waiting say 10 minutes then yea try an hour.. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,236 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    US
    some routers tell you how long the lease is ( mine says there is a day left ). As i said if you fix the details that the modem gives the router and use static IP on the router it will time it out sooner or later.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    As does my cable modem, but this guy hasn't told us what modem he is using.. I just set up a company last week and they are using u-verse and I was very surprised that it was a modem/router/wireless device aio.. I have to say it was pretty cool little unit. I didn't setup it up... I just setup a few desktops for them. I would have liked to mess around with it, in my past I usually hate dealing with any at&t dsl hardware, but that was so much better than those others i've used. So, I wouldn't be surprised what this guy is using. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,064 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    698
    Please, OP, specify what you are using in order for us to properly assist you.

    If it's a "residential gateway" (modem/router combo) doing what you need to do to release and renew and obtain a new IP may be more diffcult. Also Some of those might not even have the proper config menu options to perform the action.
     
  17. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    a question , u have any service running like dydns (did i missed it) ? i wonder how he gets your IP all the time, if so disable it, change the dyndns name ....
     
  18. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,152 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,430
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    wait wait... how do you know the one who attack you is your friend?
    if he said that, why dont you ask him to stop or....
    yeahh. you know what i mean
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    using the settings in the router may not stop the attack, but to him it will LOOK like its not working.


    call your ISP and ask for an IP change, or do the things already suggested in the thread (change MAC address, punch friend in the face, tazer him, etc)
     
    remixedcat says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page