1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Icon virus? wtf is this and how do i get rid of it?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Fitseries3, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i've tried all the common programs but this aint leavin so far.

    [​IMG]

    what now?

    this is drivin me crazy.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Right click on Desktop->View->uncheck Show Desktop Icons.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    haha funny.

    i meant how do i get rid of the overlay that someone has so nicely sent me.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    that is odd u sure its malware and not a bug
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  7. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,083 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Dude did someone take a screenshot of your desktop and replace the wallpaper with it? You know one of those old computer pranks.

    Try changing your wallpaper, just for fun.
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im the ONLY person that uses this machine.
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Browse to you desktop folder in explorer and see if the shorcuts are messed up there too.
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    [​IMG]
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,083 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Did you run a scan to see if you would find anything?
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,082 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Location:
    Florida
    hmmmmit deff looks like malware...some kind of reg mod seems like. try cleaning

    TEMP
    PREFETCH
    do a diskcleanup

    then reboot
  13. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    129 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    India
    you are missing "shortcut arrow" images. you have to edit "imageres.dll" with restorator or any other resource editing tool, and replace Icon no. 163. you can find that file inside system32 folder.

    OR

    simply copy that file from install.wim from your vista DVD and replace it...take ownership 1st.
    Zehnsucht, Fitseries3 and Solaris17 say thanks.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,082 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    Location:
    Florida
    wow awsome job you could also disable desktop icons..that will probably get ride of it as it wont call that image.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  15. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Wow. That is truly some cracking Windows skillz!
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    sweet!!!!

    thanks man.

    worked great.

    i just searched for the DLL in google and found the replacement, rebooted and FIXED.

    saved the day! LOL

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page