1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IDE controller Out of Date{HELP}

Discussion in 'Storage' started by jboydgolfer, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I have a custom built PC that is running Win 7 Ultimate.I have had NO problem's of any kind ever,but today I noticed that in my Device manager my storage controller is out of date.I have tried and tried to fix this issue , to no avail.I am hoping someone can help me.the EXACT message say's "AN7J7KFB IDE Controller is out of date"
    I've tried win update , and updating through the device manager already.Any help would be appreciated.Thanks all.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,480 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,371
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Are there any updated drivers for your motherboard?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I saw a few, it's an Asrock EXtreme 3 Gen 3,Although I dont know which would remedy this problem.
     
  4. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    there is a Intel rapid storage driver,
    Also a Raid Driver,
    I Use IDE solely.
    I specificly have 1 sata drive running in IDE mode, a seagate barracuda.
    No other drives at all.
     
  5. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Let me guess, you have Daemon Tools installed (or other CD/DVD emulation software. that uses SPTD), I'm I right?
     
  6. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    You are correct I Did,,Although I AM aware of that issue,so I removed it.
    Is there another step I can take?? e.g. removing leftover files??
     
  7. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
  8. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I did the Uninstall through device amnager,,Rebooted, then it Showed a new Error different 8 digit code though.
    I uninstalled that one rebooted, and that seems to have Fixed the issue.
    BTW,,that Damn program install's a gadget in your desktop also.I didnt know that.

    Thank you for your help and time.
     
  9. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    Nope still having an issue,,
    Every time I uninstall the device driver , I get a new 8 digit error code.
    e.g. A0D3JHMX IDE Controller W/ an Exclamation point next to it. :{
    Should I disable it??
     
  10. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    SPTD install a new random named IDE controller on every reboot, you should uninstall/disable the SPTD driver itself, try using the installer to remove it.
    Other option is using manually delete the SPTD.sys from the drivers folder on
    Code:
    %windir"/drivers/
    Or disabling it via registry on
    Code:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\sptd
    change the value of
    Code:
    Start
    to
    Code:
    4
     
  11. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    thats what I ended up doing actually.
    I appreciate your help though.
    I've rebooted twice , and the issue seems to be resolved .

    Thank you.
     
  12. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    803 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    Why am I unable to Find the "post New Thread" option??
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,583 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Should be there, at the top of each section.

    PM a MOD, maybe there is some requirement you need to meet or a glitch.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page