1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Idea/project chilled water cooling FITS

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fitseries3, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    well at that rate we just need to figure out the fluids...:)
     
  2. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
  3. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    just based on the tables i'd go with Propylene Glycol / Water Mixtures because it'll boil not flash. Eventually the dice will be gone so what ya gonna do when the temp rises. you would need a constant supply of dice. we are talking major oc and heat right? it would depend on the thermal properties though

    EDIT: Ok i just realized you're prolly not looking for full time cooling with this, I get carried away sometimes.

    EDIT: we need to get BLKhogan here, he works with heating and cooling.

    her's some more info... http://www.dow.com/heattrans/fsa/silicone.htm#Anchor-Inhibited-47857
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2008
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    attention plz!

    im gonna be posting a ton here in the next hour.
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok...

    here's what i have for the build. i'll be taking the fan off of the rad.

    [​IMG]

    and the hardware...

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok... i used a few 2" screws to elevate the rad from the bottom of the cooler to allow good flow.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    :D i like Sponge Bob
     
  8. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    place the RAD at an angle if you can to improve/promote the convective aspect of cooling ;)

    still waiting........

    spongebob FTW!
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    rad in cooler...

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    built the loop... filled and filling ice

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    and results so far...

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  12. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    [​IMG]

    This would be a good idea. The a/c system would need to be matched (BTU's) to the amount of water or other cooling liquid used. The evaporator setting in a properly sized pool of water would be like runing a small "chiller" unit. Using copper cooling lines would further increase the abiltiy to cool. The coil on an average a/c window unit runs at around 32 to 40 (to insure no freeze ups) degree coil temp depending on abient suroundings. You can "starve" the coil to potentualy get lower coil temp. This will cause the coil to start to freeze, but in a pool of liquid it would transfer the temp drop to the liquid.
    You have to remember that all things in nature flow from hot to cold. A substance will always "migrate" to the coldest point of a system. Its getting the substance to exit the coldest point is the other factor in a cooling system.
    If I were to do a solution of liquid for cooling I would use a Propylene Glycol set up, but with DICE it will tend to start to gel if droped to real xtream temps. Most of your bar "beer" coolers with "tap" servers will run a Propylene Glycol cooling system along with the beer lines leading to the tap. Beer is usualy served at 31 to 34 degrees at the tap.
     
    Skitzo says thanks.
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    after it chilled down for a bit i ran a full load test.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Are you just using 1 core for testing?
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    no. this chips got a funny temp sensor.
     
  16. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Ah that could do it. Looks promising now.
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    rad temp....

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    this is a totally usefull way to cool your cpu for OCing and benching. i've been running this for almost an hour now and temps are still the same. i only put in half a bag of ice and half a gallon of water.

    idle temps on this setup are as cool as my TEC block. load temps on the TEC are only a few degrees higher then idle though. that has to do with the fact that the TEC is direct die cooling.
     
  19. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    try tilting the RAD on an angle to see if it make's a difference
     
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i gave it a cool 10 min try and nothing different. :(
     
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    What you need is an underwater pump blowing through the rad's fins ^^
     
  22. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    circulation makes sense, got it on the pc side of the cooling system.
    That makes me wonder about putting the rad in a fountain. :)
     
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    WARNING!!!

    you MUST insulate your board for any type of cooling that will bring temps below room temp. condensation WILL OCCUR and your motherboard, cpu, etc. may be damaged.
     
  24. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    this should prolly be at the begining :)

    :eek:I hope your not saying you've had a problem...


    EDIT: Blkhogan are there any fluids that won't cause condensation in the pc loop using the same equipment?
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    lol

    well kinda but not really.

    after only an hour of use i had a nice puddle of water on my cpu when i pulled the block off.

    i just blew it off with the air compressor and it boot right up again. no problems.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page