1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ideas for new mobo and cpu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DEFEATEST, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    358 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Hi guys. Just wondering if you guys have some suggestions for me on a new mobo and cpu. I'm giving up my crappy m2a-vm mobo and my amd 6400 and would like a new mobo and an Intel proc. I will keep my 4870 and xfi sound card. What would be a good choice for me for around the 400$ dollar mark? I'll leave the ram out of it but would like a 1066mhz mobo for the ram. And also something that wont have my vid card a millimeter away from my sound card.

    Any suggestions would be great!
    cheers and thanks for all your help as always.

    p.s I will be using win xp pro 32 bit
  2. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    I would get an E8500 and a Asus P5Q Pro. With the left over money I would get a good cooler or games.
  3. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Hmm, well it all depends if you want a quad or a dual core, which really comes down to what you are going to be doing. E8400/E8500's are great for Duals, as long as the Q9400's for a quad. :toast:

    With the motherboard, I would pick up a p45 board for sure, such as a P5Q Pro or P5Q-E for crossfire down the road if you wish.
  4. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    this is wat i looked up and would get if i were in your position

    Asus P45
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131297

    C2D e8500
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115036
    or if you want quad

    q6600
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017

    there was another quad q8200 but most seem to thk and so do i, that the q6600 would perform better when both are overclocked. stock they're pretty dam close according to these other communities
    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=582939
    http://forums.hexus.net/hexus-hardware/148592-q6600-vs-q8200.html

    if you like to multitask a lot i'd go quad, if you a hardcore gamer go with the e8500 either one will satisfy you and blow that 6400 of yours out of the water :rockout:
  5. Moose

    Moose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    306 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Don't discount AMD out of the picture the 9950 is practically the same s the Q6600.
  6. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i wish amd were doing better, but this review i just googled says otherwise
    http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-371-3.htm
    yes its the q6700 but the only thing that separates it from the q6600 is clock speed, which the q6600 can easily do 2.66 and yes you could overclock the 9950 as you have but in the end the q6600 would oc higher and win. but dam i hope amd has deneb tweaked to rape or at least a dam nice performance/price ratio cause i don't thk they'll trump nehalem but maybe when the fusion comes out we'll see some impressive stuff
  7. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    358 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Great suggestions guys, thanks. Will my ocz stealth 600w psu still be good for this? I only run one HDD and 2 dvd burners. I think I'm ok with it.
  8. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yes, i was running SLI under my 700watt version of your psu and i was fine so i don't see why your setup which is very similar to how mine was wouldn't run 1 card with 600watts.
    that's a good quality PSU and will do its job with 72amps on the 12v
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    P5Q pro and an E8500 should do you nicely for gaming. I recommend g.Skill ram for the P5q-pro.
  10. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    358 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Thanks for all your help guys, I think Im going with the p5q or p5qe and e8500 . I think I will go with either corsair, ocz or mushkin ram. Ive always like my corsair. Which would be best for that board. G. skill I cant get without ordering online and I want to buy locally. Anyone better than the other for dd2 1066? Is there any reason to buy 1200? Heck whats the diff between 800mhz and the rest? Is it worth me spending the xtra bucks? Dont you hate when you only want to upgrade a couple of components and it turns into a "well I might just as well keep my vid card and sell the whole dam box !" LOL
  11. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    If you are buying locally, just make sure you are getting double sidded Micron D9's for the memory chips. In gaming and real world diference between 1000MHz and 1200 mhz is small. I would get a good 1066 kit.
  12. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,534 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well i don't think ram is that big of a deal, i'd go with 1066 simply cause its at a good price now but the cost of DDR2 1200 and for it performance just don't match up, ram only has a SLIGHT impact on performance, most revolves around CPU+GPU.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page