1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Idle very high.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by the - dutchie, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Hello,

    Recently I bought a new mainboard and cpu:
    A Intel E8400 and a Asus P5N32-E SLI +.
    I was curious what the tempertures were when it it running on idle.
    When I started it this morning went into the bios it was allready 69 degrees Celcius... This is a bit high is it not?

    Is this also the reason why overclocking failes drasticly? Or am I changing the wrong thing?
    I tried changing the "SPP <-> MCP Ref Clock, MHZ" wich was on auto to 350 for a 3.2 ghz cpu instead of 3.0ghz just to start with, but my pc failed to start.

    Further system specs:
    750 Watt Thermaltake
    Asus P5N32-E SLI +
    Intel E8400
    ATi HD2900XT

    Any tips for this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    69c is way too high for idle. Make sure the heatsink on your cpu is properly attatched. Considering the stock E8400 heatsink doesn't work very well, I would look at a better air cooler if you want to overclock.:)
     
    the - dutchie says thanks.
  3. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Thanks for your reply.
    I checked the heatsink twice and letting it double checked by my brother who recently completed an IT education, and also applied some more Artic Silver 5.
    I will look for another cpu cooler.
    My brother has a E6700 with the stock cooler and that cpu is lower as 45 degrees at idle. Does the E8400 runs hotter or is it really something with my system?
    Btw, how can I increase my CPU fanspeed?

    Thanks



    EDIT:

    Will the "Zalman CNPS7500-AlCu LED" be a good choice?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    It shouldn't run too much hotter, however the E8400 heatsink is different from the Q6700 heatsink as it uses no copper. I would try re-seating the hsf again to be an the safe side. There is no way of controlling the CPU fan, unless there is some sort of "quiet fan" option in your bios.
     
  5. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    But how can a bios update cause the cpu to run that hot?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  6. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I tried Real Temp and, as stated in another thread, my cpu temp. is much more realistic with Real Temp. It is 50 degrees celcius at idle. This is around normal right?
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    With my E8400 and a Zalman 9700 cooler I get 29c idle. Generally I get around 50c at load. Check what the temp is under load, and you realistically want to keep it under 80c. 50c is still quite hot for idle. Overclocking it is going to make those temps. jump up as well.
     
  8. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I just fired up my corvette in GTR2 and after a couple of minutes my system froze.
    When rebooted I went to the bios and the cpu temps were 81....What the hell is going on here :twitch:
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    Most likely the cooler isn't installed properly. What voltage is your cpu using?
     
  10. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I checked it, re-installed it about 23 times now, exactly like told in the users manual.

    Everest says at Core Voltage = 1.063 V


    Going to bed now, 11PM here allready. Have to get out pretty early again.
    Hope to hear from you guys tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  11. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Any furhter tips on what the problem could be?
    I will double check the cooler again when I'm back from work.
     
  12. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    for more stability with a new cpu , asus manufacter increase the nb default voltage,you know, for cpu temp it's a mistery.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  13. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    So I have to lower my cpu voltage???
    And what do you mean with "nb" in your two posts in this thread?
     
  14. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    80 °C for CPUit's very hot.
    Touch with your fingers the cpu (near at possible,of course) if it's really hot.
    "Everest says at Core Voltage = 1.063 V" No,possible bug with Everest ,1.063V isn't sure.
     
  15. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    nb=northbridge (for you it's nvidia 650i)
    always read cpu voltage on bios.
    here E8400 Specifications:http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLAPL
    you can see voltage range 0.85V – 1.3625V.a little question about your memory,are you linked or unliked ?.
    read this interesting review about thermal pastes http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&number=1&artpage=2953&articID=635
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  16. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I think it's linked, it is on auto...
     
  17. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    ok.
    you must know if your cpu run hot at stock speed,voltage.it's essential for identify problem.
    1-what is cpu voltage displayed on bios?.cpu stock speed)!
    2-what is cpu temp displayed on bios?.
    3-what processes are running more than 50% ,look with task manager (ctrl+alt+del),possible bug or virus
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  18. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Dutchie, I just wanted to let you know that I am experiencing the same issue with my new E8500. I'm also using an ASUS motherboard that wasn't originally designed for 45nm CPUs. I seriously suspect that there is an error with temperature caluclating being done by the motherboard. My motherboard and Everest are both reporting my CPU temperature to be in the 60-70C range at idle and at stock clock. I have watercooling and this is about 30-40 degrees higher than my coolant temperature. Also, every other componant in my system is reporting temperatures only a few degrees higher than coolant temp, which is normal. I suspect there is some sort of mathmatical error occuring when the MB calculates 45nm CPU temps. I'm having no stability issues with overclocking though, which further supports my theory that the reported temperature is incorrect.

    RealTemp is reporting much more realistic temperatures between 40-50C.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2008
    the - dutchie says thanks.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    Have either of you tried using RealTemp?
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i think your mobo have epu chip so if it have it , try to update the bios and install all mobo support programs
     
  21. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD

    In my last sentance I meant 'RealTemp'. It's edited now.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,409 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,057
    It's really a shame if the problem is a thermal sensor that far out of wack! I would complain to Intel and get different chips. Heck, it could start throttling your performance even if it doesn't need to!
     
  23. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    In realtemp on my computer it also reports around 50C, but how can it be that my pc freezes and after a reboot it reports 80C in the bios?! Is this just a emergency thing the computer does because it thinks it's running too hot?

    I have the latest bios, and installed all the windows vista auto. updates for my mobo.... Altough I cancelled a chipset driver, but that just was a sata-driver
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2008
  24. the - dutchie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    I think I'm going to give the shop where I bought the stuff a call and explain it to them for another mainboard.
    I'm pretty sure they will let me change it for another anyway.
     
  25. rge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    CPU temperature (single diode between cores) is what is read in the bios, and also by speedfan and everest "cpu" temp. It requires proper calibration and support by the bios to give accurate results.

    Realtemp is reading the DTS (diodes on each core) on die, which is going to be accurate at load temps, idle will typically read too high on 45nm since intel did not calibrate DTS at idle temps. The DTS (core temps), unlike cpu temp, is not dependent on bios support/calibration.

    If you are reading 50C at idle on real temp (core temps) at the same time you are getting 70C on cpu temp (diode between cores via speedfan or everest), then clearly your motherboad does not have proper calibration/support for your cpu.

    Also your load temps by real temp is going to be accurate, regardless of bios, etc. It would be helpful to know those compared at same time to cpu temp via speedfan/everest.
     
    the - dutchie says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page