1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IE7 - Firefox Url Handling Bug Caused By Windows

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    An exploitable bug in Mozilla Firefox discovered earlier this month was first believed to have been caused by Internet Explorer 7 but soon after that Mozilla was forced to admit that it was Firefox that could trigger the bug as well. Today however that bug has apparently been traced back to a Windows API function. However Mozilla seems to have fixed the bug in their latest Firefox 2.0.0.6 version.

    Source: BetaNews
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2007
  2. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Well this clears up any disagreements from the initial news post comments about this. People were ready to slam Mozilla for being "quick to judge". Perhaps they were, but this shows it wasn't FF's fault.
     
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    I think its just cool how the bug has been in IE all this time, and then within days of the same exploit being found in Mozilla, that it was fixed straight away :p.
     
  4. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I think it is easier to fix something when you have 1 product than when you have 100 so in a way i don't really blame MS. Besides i am sure they will fix it fast now that it is known that it's Windows fault.
     
  5. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Well M$ does have dedicated teams per project, so IE has never had an excuse for bugs.
     
  6. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Actually most teams in Microsoft shift projects from time to time according to what project needs more help. However some people stay in every project.
     
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Caused by a windows API function.. reeks of M$ discreetly trying to stop mozilla from working on at least their "new baby" Vista. Talking of Vista, I saw a laptop roundup in a mag, think it was PC Pro, only 2 laptops were still using XP, but they absolutely slammed and decimated the Vista based machines in all areas.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    ::grin Ketxxx::


    good to know it wasnt FFs fault, but I still stand behind the comment that within 2 or so days, the problem was fixed with a WINDOWS API error for Firefox (perhaps ms is trying to keep FF off vista?)

    And the thing with MS, they have dedicated teams, this should have been fixed with IE soon after it was discovered.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page