1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

If I went from my Q6600 to a E8400 or E8500...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Would I be down grading? I am thinking about getting a E8400 and trading someones E8400 for my 7800 GT, PS3 games, Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro and AMD Athlon X2 4600+ CPU?

    With my Zalman 9700 cooler, I wanna hope to get near 4GHz.
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,396 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    What is the main use of your PC, if it is gaming, I don't know exactly if it will be a downgrade, but more purposefully built since games don't use 4 cores yet, multi-tasking might take a bit of a hit, but if you get the E8400 to 4GHz then it really won't be too different.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    If you're a gamer, I would call it an upgrade since those chips are faster.
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I mainly use my PC for gaming.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You have a Q6600 already.. Save your money. Yes the E8400 is better but unless its a straight trade I wouldnt buy one.
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I think really overall you won't notice much difference at all. Games don't really use cpu's that much, any recent gen will handle just about any game just fine. 8400 moves faster of course, but the 4 cores on the quad make certain things faster w/ it. Benches probably work out about the same too, w/ the exception of single core ones in which the quicker 8400 would win. Overall, I'd say your good until nehalem unless your just looking for a change.
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    This Q6600 doesn't overclock that well. I wish I'd bought a G0.
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I went from a AMD X2 to a E2200 with the same card and I would not say that :eek:
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    It depends on what game, some games (rts's primarily) do use cpu to perform a.i. and other calculations. However, like I said, pretty much any mid-range chip around right now will do that just fine. The bigger issue is making sure your cpu isn't bottlenecking your gpu. A q6600 and e8400 will both handle games similarly is what I meant, b/c it is not the crucial factor, and neither should bottleneck a gt at all.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  10. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well at least maybe wait a month or two. Supposedly intel will be releasing the 8600 and q9650, which will drive the prices of the 8500 and q9550 to their rightful market place ($199 and $299 respectively). Although, who can say when for sure that will happen, as they have no real compelling reason to do so except to spark further interest in high-end.
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,032 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    +1 to everything farlex85 said. I really wouldn't call it a upgrade or a downgrade.

    Now on the other hand, if you want the 8400 for OC'ing potential, heh, go for it.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    e8500 is FAR better then q66 or e84 for overclocking. mine does 5ghz on water.
  13. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    It would be a downgrade indeed.The E8400 is slightly slower than the Q6600 at stock and an over clocked Q6600 is faster than an overclocked E8400 :) Do not do the trade.

    I disagree with you It's not far better, the E8400 is quiet equivalent at best and bare in mind the average person doesn't have water cooling.

    If anything the performance gap difference between the benchmarks which favour the E8500 opposed to the Q6600 is very small.

    Who cares about SuperPi there is more to life than benchmarks. Every benchmark I've seen that favoured the E8500 only showed about a 5-10% difference. The E8500 is a fantastic CPU but I couldn't justify removing a decent Q6600 for performance which isn't certain and slight performance increase at best.

    Look at this review:http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/amd_phenom_9850_black_edition_review/page10.asp

    There is like 1-3 frame rate per second difference between the E8500 and Q6600, is that really worth loosing money and changing processors? Also the Q6600 would would do well for encoding etc and has hardware longevity which outweighs loosing up to 2 frames per second in the odd game.


    I was talking about benchmarks in general not necessarily a specific one, I think superPi is superficial :p

    Ah so we are on the same page-ish, I recommend the same thing :):toast:

    I don't want to increase my post count unnecessarily and I don't want to hijack someone else's thread.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  14. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,396 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    The only place a quad beats a dual is in benchmarks and heavy multitasking or CPU intensive programs. In day to day usage, the differences are very small.
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    e8500's are hand picked.
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    In some instances the quad is faster, in some instances the dual is faster, overall, it won't make much of a difference.

    A 8500 can easily clock 1ghz over its stock 24/7 stable on air. I haven't seen one that couldn't. A b3 q6600 can maybe get 1ghz over, but it won't be nearly as stable, and the voltages and heat are far more.

    Not really, superpi, the 8500 will absolutely demolish the q6600. And when reaching really high speeds, the 8500 wins by a fair margin in most other benchies as well. Around stock they do about the same in multi-core benchies, single core 8500 wins easily.
  17. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    well i have both an E6580 and a Q6700 and i can comfortably tell you from experience that my overclocked E6850 gave slightly better results in gaming (ONLY coz it could clock higher.).

    This is not new and has been discussed over and over on TPU. When it comes to specifically duals and quads in gaming, the higher clock performs better! period.
    This like explained by someone above is coz most current games use a maximum of 2 cores and nothing more (this may however change in the near future)

    However for daily multitasks, video rendering and general computing at the same time you will be better off with the quad. Same with benchmarks the quads bench better than the duals.
  18. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Your the one who brought up benchmarks, I was just illustrating how in a benchmark where 4 cores are not utilized the e8500 wins by far more than 5-10%. I'm aware there's more than benchmarks, hence my own recommendation of sticking w/ the q6600 for lack of reason to go higher. Why must you edit the post, you can reply.......:laugh:

    Fair enough, I just keep having to look back to see your reply. :)
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
    Darren says thanks.
  19. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    There is a very detailed review on Tomshardware http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/cpu-gpu-upgrade,1928-7.html... where they tested different CPU's on a different GPUs. They also tried the CPUs at different overclocks. The difference between E2xxx and X6800 (and others) was NOT noticable in gameplay and when measured was <<5% in FPS.

    It is really only in synthetic benchmarks that you see a big difference between CPUs because they have a blended score where the CPU is scored independently and then ADDED to the overall score.

    In practice, once you are on Core2 > 2Ghz, you are GPU bound all the way.

    Do not "upgrade". Keep the Q6600 for encoding videos/MP3. It will do those jobs so much faster than ANY Exxx
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Minimal difference. A 3.2GHz Q6600 is very well over sufficent...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well I just spoke to my dad and he is upgrading everything in his computer and I'm gonna build it for him etc and he said when he orders the E8400, I'm swapping my Q6600 for his E8400 :)
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Well hey, as long as you don't have to spend any money, you get a new chip to play w/. :)
  23. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I hope to hit 4GHz or more.
  24. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    You'll hit 4ghz easily most likely. That seems to be the sweet spot for those. After that you'll likely have to start upping the voltage.
  25. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I'm guessing around 1.38V? My Q6600 is at 1.34V @ 3.2GHz. Prime95 stable for a few hours.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page