1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

If Intel released a Q4400 in the sub-$200 price range, would you buy it?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by newtekie1, Sep 13, 2007.

?

If Intel released a Q4400 in the sub-$200 price range, would you buy it?

  1. Yes

    19 vote(s)
    65.5%
  2. No

    10 vote(s)
    34.5%
  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,665 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Basically, like the Q6600 is two E6600s in the same package, the Q4400 would be two E4400. Four cores running at 2.0GHz with a 800 FSB and 2x2MB of L2.

    I know I would probably snatch one up pretty quicly.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Nah, I don't really see the need for/want a quad core processor, personally.

    My dual-core Brisbane does a fine job :). If I'm upgrading my CPU/mobo anytime soon, it's to Phenom/Barcelona.
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Likewise zek!
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    have some ambition in life nuh... bout phenom [​IMG]
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I think that's a good idea! :toast:
  6. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    AMD fanboys have hijacked your thread, Newtekie :p.
  7. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    My quad will be: [​IMG]


    :toast:
  8. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    913 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    sounds like a good idea to me :D
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    :laugh:
  10. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    id buy one, they would overclock quite nicely
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,665 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Meh, it happens. People have their preferences, I personally prefer Intel, but not to the point where I would pay more for less(which is why I have an X2 in my line-up) and certianly not to the point where I assume a companies new product will be good before seeing final numbers.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nah. My 5200+ does the job, and if I was going to get an intel CPU I would need a new motherboard.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    If it was a true quad core (not just two dual-cores on the same die) then yes, absolutely. That's the main reason I won't be getting a Q6600, and got the E4400 instead, just to hold me over until the true Intel Quads come out :)
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I would get a Q4400 for sure, especially if they clock like a C2D should.
  15. FAXA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    236 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I would...but only if Phenom turned out to be bollocks.
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,431 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  17. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i like the idea but 800 fsb?????????

    it would have to be a 1066fsb for sure
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,384 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    If they were based on the E4400 I would not buy one, not because I see no need for Quad, it def has it's uses but I am not a great fan of Allendales or the L2 stepping, they need too much voltage and give too much heat off in their dual core format never mind in a quad, if it was B or G0 stepping then yes I might consider it.
  19. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I would get rid of my pos gfx cards first.

    Or maybe I wouldn't.. hmm oh well who cares what I think. :)
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would if i had the money to get it and a board.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Yeah, I doubt I'd spend $200 on my computer...lol.
  22. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    I was gonna say most of that, my 4400 needs 1.49v for 3.4ghz, 6000 series can do that on less than 1.4 usually

    if intel went to quad core in one lump of silicon (instead of 2)a quad version of the e2140/2160 would be cool, as all the cores would share cache, so single/double threaded tasks would have plenty of cache to use
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,178 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    are the penryn quads true quads? or are the true intel quads further away.
  24. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Phenom forever, if you're looking for a low end cpu just buy a dual-core
  25. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,384 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Glad we agree :D

    To answer tigers question, I am pretty certain it's not native quad core but remains effectively 2x dual cores bolted together but with the lower 45nm fabrication process and the instruction set improvements in some apps it can be upto 20% quicker than existing quads.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page