1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

im a little new to over clocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by leprakorn, May 19, 2005.

  1. leprakorn New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok ive had a 9800pro for about 2 years.
    ive had to get a new cooler because the old one burnt out.
    i got the zalman ZM80C-HP + fan that comes with it, also i cleaned the whole thing, even the thermal grease and applied some thermal take arctic silver.

    so cooling aside i think itll be fine there.
    i got the atitool just a few mins ago and i got no idea what to overclock it to, i guess im affraid of melting it.

    any recomendations?

    oh and how do i view the temp on my card?
  2. TeufelHund New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ello there.

    Well interms of cooling you should be fine, like you say no problems there. And for the ati tool just hit find max core and then find max mem and ati tool will do the rest automatically searching for signs of overheating and atifacting so it will find the best core and mem clocks that work. and the temperature should be dispalyed by ati tool in the top right if im not mistaken
  3. leprakorn New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok......its been going for 5mins already and its upto 408.86 core and riseing...
    is that a little high?
    and theres no temp monitor

    nvm it stoped at 432 core..doing mem now
  4. TeufelHund New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    ah i wouldnt worry bout it being too high ati tool knows when to stop and as for the temp monitor mmm... dunno must ask around ive got a radeon 9600se which doesnt even have temp monitoring at all
  5. TeufelHund New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    oh the one thing you may want to do is increase the time ati tool takes for heat up between increasing core and mem just incase and to preven it from being overclocked to fast.
  6. leprakorn New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol too late.
    ive overclocked to
    core:432
    mem:348.30

    that sounds about right doesnt it?

    and about the temp monitor, i read in one of the posts that i need some bios update, ill take a look at that.

    and ty for the help.
  7. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    He's not going to have temperature monitoring unless he has an R360 core.
  8. leprakorn New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    when i was realding some of the other threads and some of the 9800pro's have a r360 core, how do i cheak if i have one?
  9. TeufelHund New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    well the easiest way to check is using ati tool just go to settings and under overclocking there should be chip type between device ID and Memory size
  10. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    No, that won't work. ATI tool will report it as an R350 just because you have 9800pro bios. You can dump the bios using ati tool and then use RaBit to view it. If you have an R360 rabit should have this line in the description "R360 Hynix DDR 113-A07537-103 BIOS" (without the quotes and the key part being the R360). If the description has R360 in it, there is a good chance you have the R360 core. Of course to be absolutly sure, take the heatsink off your GPU and use your own eyes to see if has R360 written on it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page