1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm building a new budget gaming PC

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bL1nd3R, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, I'm from Romania and I'm building a new Budget Gaming PC. I'm looking forward to buy :
    GPU : MSI HD7790 OC 2GB
    Mobo : ASRock 970 PRO3 R2.0 or ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 or Gigabyte M5A97 R2.0 LE
    CPU : AMD FX-6300 Black Edition
    Ram : Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB (4x1) - I will buy extra 4 gb later.
    PSU : High Power Plus 500W
    HDD : WD Blue WD10EZEX
    Case : Zalman Z3

    I already have the Case,CPU and PSU.So what about the other components? Do I have to change them ?
    If I have to choose something else for my rig, please pick parts from these sites :
    www.pcgarage.ro
    www.evomag.ro
    www.itmix.ro
    www.dc-shop.ro
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,350 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    CZ
    looks good to me
     
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    bL1nd3R says thanks.
  4. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well, everything is overpriced in ro...but, what can I do. I will think about delaying my purchase, thanks for replying.
     
  5. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    cry me a river
    i live sout of danube. same story here.
    i bought some of my parts from uk. you can get good price drops when items are on sale.
     
  6. LeonVolcove

    LeonVolcove

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    149 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    HD7790 gonna disappear soon and will be replaced with R7 260/260X
     
  7. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yes, it will, that's why I want to buy it soon.Because i don't want a R7 260/260x.
     
  8. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    R series have dedicated audio chip that provide audio processing for hdmi output. this reduce load of the cpu so by specs R series are better then HD.
     
  9. LeonVolcove

    LeonVolcove

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    149 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    wait, you dont want to buy R7 260/260X why? well if you said that R7 260x is rebranded from HD7790 its correct but not all, it has intergrated audio(TrueAudio) although not implemented yet
     
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    wrong'o : true audio is only implemented in Hawaii type GPU (including the IGP or the Kaveri APU)


    little seeking and it seems the R7 serie has it ... aherm even if i don't care about True Audio i find this totaly revolting to not put it in all the R7 and R9 serie ... :D

    R9 290X R9 290 R9 280X R9 270X R9 270

    TrueAudio Technology Yes Yes No No No

    R7 260X R7 260 R7 250 R7 240

    TrueAudio Technology Yes Yes No No
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  11. LeonVolcove

    LeonVolcove

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    149 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    no its built-in into R7 260x too beside hawaii
     
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    WELL let me finish to edit my post before posting ;) :clap:
     
  14. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    be quick or be dead
    :)
     
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    oh well im not dead and i corrected myself before i did read your post so .... i AM RIGHT!

    beside this .... i dont see the advantage of True Audio ... since it will output the sound on the TV speaker (at last for me i prefere my ALC892 on a 5.1 than True Audio on 2x5w) lag due to audio processing? as if it was noticeable with a ALC, so for output on a 5.1 you need something more, not very budget friendly... xD

    edit i think my budget rig has the same cost as the OP one (or even a little bit less) and would run just same in games ... but since he allready has the CPU/case/psu no biggies :D
     
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    what bad in tv speakers. if you have surround system after tv it should work just fine.
    advantages of true audio are bigger for weak cpus. for 8 or 4/8 cpu audio processing will be 2% difference at one of the cores. for 65w or 35w apu however audio processing could eat significant part of the cpu resource.

    be quick or be dead - iron maiden?
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    for me maybe it would be useful (the X4 760K is basically a A10-6800K without IGP) oh wait ... 4/8core no real use for T.A. well the OP has a 6 core so no use for him either and a ALC892 or above already give good result for a cheap codec ...
    unless he has already a audio installation that would allow him to take advantage of T.A.

    for the TV problem ? what IF the TV has no forward output (or the normal monitor ...)

    now for the Iron Maiden reference ... you should ask my cousin he's totally into it ;) me i was ... 21yrs before :oops:
     
  18. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    So afterall, wich one should I buy ? The HD7790 OC 2GB or the R7 260X OC 2GB ? Worth extra money ?
     
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    new even if rename are always worth it, i took a R9 270 2gb instead of a 7870 2gb for the minor price jump versus a not so bad performance increase. (and the MSI Gaming OC ed. is whisper quiet, thanks to the Twin Frozr IV, and was the cheapest also ... for me it was just 5chf over a 7870 2gb)

    plus if it support True Audio and you have the mean to use it : then yes worth it
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  20. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    +1
    and to add that r7 260x will get mantle support earlier then 7790 but ofc price difference in ro is most important for your decision
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    indeed Mantle should be a good reason to buy new renamed series... im dying to see how the R9 270 will perform with Mantle, fingercrossing that the API will be widely supported...

    for a combo 6300/R7 260X it should be good too
     
  22. bL1nd3R

    bL1nd3R

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    74 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    What about the HDD, is it good for gaming ?
     
  23. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,346 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    gaming HDD 1st time i heard of it ... :D

    well 7k2rpm are still enough for game.

    IE: for me i use a 120gb SSD with OS and some of my most used games but if i run them from my Samsung Spinpoint 500gb 7k2rpm : NO difference except in loading time between two zone (which happen not so often so why bother)
    i also used a Velociraptor 150GB 10K rpm to test well for load time it was almost near the SSD but again ... no real bother about using the 7k2rpm, just don't use a SATA Green 5k6 :roll:

    for WD blue are fine but black would be better.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page