1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm caught in an infinite Steam Update loop

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    I really need help with this.

    I get a pop-up from Steam that it needs to restart to apply some updates.
    When I do so, after some 5 minutes I get another popup thanking me for participating in the beta on Steam, and telling me to restart again. Then I get the original pop-up from Steam telling me that it needs to restart to apply some updates, and then I get the same popup thanking me for participating in the beta on Steam and telling me to restart again. Then after a while I get the original pop-up telling me that it needs to restart........... :wtf:

    And it goes on like that all the time I'm on the pc.

    I googled and read that Steam updates are iffy with antiviruses, so I disabled MSE, and for good measure also ran CCleaner and rebooted.

    But it still goes on... and on... and on... :banghead:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,303
    Steamception... Try going into settings and make sure you're not participating in any beta. You may need to do a Steam reinstall.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,671 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,181
    I don't recall the names of the folders, but aren't there folders you can delete to make steam re-update correctly?
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    [​IMG]


    :ohwell:
     
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Try quitting Steam, deleting clientregistry.blob in the install folder and restarting Steam. This seems to fix 95% of Steam problems.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    And it seems my problem is one of those 5% because this didn't fix it... :ohwell:

    Any other suggestions? I've been googling getting no results (other than to disable antivirus which I did).
     
  7. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,364 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,952
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Have you tried looking in windows task manager to see if you have multi "steam.exe" processes running?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,961 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I would cut/paste userdata and steamapps directory to another folder, uninstall Steam, install Steam, move folders back.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Damn.

    I'd try mindweaver's suggestion, first.

    If it doesn't work, try reinstalling Steam, perhaps. However, I don't think it's strictly necessary to move your steamapps out of there, like Ford said. I think doing that would lose you a few settings, while just installing over the top should preserve everything.
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Only got the one.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    I had this last night same problem last night. I finally got tired of it bugging me so I figured I would just ignore it and pressed the close button instead of update. I have not been bugged about the update since.

    If I really have updated it is still in question.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    Can you recall any microsoft updates around the time this problem started?

    I know MS had a few updates that put windows and other software into an infinite loop :wtf:

    Do you have steam on one HD and games on another?
     
  13. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    I have a similar problem, Steam is always wanting to apply an April 22 update, one day I updated 3 times to no avail. Like James, I just quit caring and didn't apply it. I'm hopeful that when there is a real update things will fix themselves.
     
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    Black Panter have u tried going into steam settings and change beta to none restart steam let it boot and don't down a beta update and then re-activate beta updates?
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    This is the fix. I had the same problem and bingo.
     
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    BP, this looks like a Steam bug you fell foul of.

    I've just downloaded a Steam update and one of the fixes was "Fix client update-loops caused by inconsistent server and proxy-cache states".

    Should be sorted now. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page