1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm dizzy with new cable internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by marcosamerio, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi all, i have a question about my new cable internet connection, i pay for a 4 mb,

    but there is my question, i post two pictures:

    http://imageshack.us/f/17/speedtestx.jpg/

    http://imageshack.us/f/826/fdmc.jpg/

    the first one is speedtest.net showing i have actually 4 mb, but the other one

    is free donwload manager and i only reach 204 kb/s on the download, all is default

    on windows settings, ¿what is wrong?, the modem is a Motorola SB5101

    http://imageshack.us/f/607/motorolasb5101.jpg/

    I hope someone can help me.

    Bye all
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Download speed is Megabits and that's your maximum in speedtest. Download manager shows you Kilobytes and the conversion would be 204 KB/sec = 1.59 Mb/sec
  3. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, thanks for reply me, but ¿why i cant reach 4 Megabits or 400 KB/sec download speed in FDM?

    Bye
  4. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    The source of the download can be a huge factor. Try downloading something from a big website like microsoft or any other site where you know they won't be a limiting factor and see if you reach your speed.
  5. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    jup or use a multi-threaded download manager like flashget
  6. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I cant watch a youtube video in HD without pasusing and playing or even in 480p, but

    speedtest.net still saying me i have 4mb, i dont know, im so confused.
  7. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    I have a 24-27 megabit connection and it often struggles with YouTube. Some ISPs throttle video streaming as well.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    Ha YouTube can't stream HD on my 100Mbps connection at times.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,868 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,940
    Location:
    Oregon
    There are a lot of variables involved. Your not going to get 4 Mb down on most stuff. Its just the reality of how it works. Time of day, distance, servers, traffic, cabling, solar flairs, swarm of locusts will all effect the speed.
  10. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Updates, now i test in steam and stuck at 40 kb ¡¡wtf!! is this, im thinking tomorrow i revoke

    the contract and go back to my old ADSL ISP

    Bye all, im tired, all day with this, thank u all for the replies.
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    Steam is worse than Youtube when it comes to downloading things.

    Go to nVidia.com and download the latest drivers, that should come close to maxing out your 4Mbps connection, the download speed should be reported as about 450KB/s.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,189 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You know, instead of throwing a fit and throwing your hands in the air proclaiming that you're giving up, I would call your ISP after confirming it's indeed your connection that is going slow.

    Does speedtest.net say that you're getting 4Mbit down?

    Edit: I just looked at your signals. Your upstream power level is REALLY high. If it doesn't get fixed it's possible that the high output could damage the transmitter in your modem over time. Right now it's within spec, but all it takes is 55 dBmV to put your power level out of spec.

    Mine is pretty much on the money so I use it as an example.
    [​IMG]

    Maybe the node on the street is too far away and your modem is struggling to send data to it?
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page