1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IM finally upgrading my cpu!!!!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ste2425, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ive been searching recently for a new cpu as allot of you guys have helped on and my search has come to an end!!!! Ive found a nice little E8200 that im going to pop in my rig i crnt wait just thought id share the good news an wanna say thanks for the links and other cpu's you guys have shown in my other threads :toast:
     
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,591 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,646
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    You'll love it, it's the same clockspeed as my Q9400, which is still a beast with only 2 cores enabled (I was doing a test where I was running it a 2.33ghz with only 2 cores to see how it compares to my E6550, the result is it is 15% faster clock-for-clock)
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    New kit is always great :D

    I'm already itching for my next build.
     
  4. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    aye i crnt wait whilst this cpu has given me supprisingly good performance its got the the point where i get an itching feelin its lacking now, like games would stutter or i wouldnt get unplayable fps but certain textures in a new area of the map for example in games would take a while to load up
     
  5. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Must... Resist... Urges...
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Ha ha, so terrible isn't it?

    I've built 2 rigs for myself in the space of about a month <_<
     
  7. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,245 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    439
    Sorry to burst your bubble but that really isn't an "upgrade" just a sidegrade. The difference in speeds wont be that crazy, don't get me wrong it will be faster and you will get more fps in games just don't expect miracles.
     
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I would think that the huge Cache difference would make quite a difference. Also doesn't the 8200 have a much faster FSB compared to his current proc? I'm not a intel guy so very much out of the intel loop:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    if he run it at stock, then yes but if he oc he will se a nice performance increase in cpu demanding games.
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    from a E2180 id says its a large enough upgrade, from 1 mb cache to sumit like 6. from 2.0 stock to 2.66 itsa fair enough upgrade for me :D
     
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    are you serious? it is a very heavy upgrade, generations forward, much smaller die....hell, im not even going to list the differences, im just going to pretend I didnt see this post. Hell, an e5200 would still be a heavy upgrade to an e2180.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  12. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    im looking forward to getting ahold of me a Q8200, ive got an e2140 myself but overclocked higher, 3.2ghz
     
  13. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    i tried but it must be ma board then as i couldnt get over 2.9 stable
     
  14. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i was having issues with the cpu side FSB interface, BSEL mod to 266mhz fsb [from 200] seemed to get me to like in the range of 415mhz or so fsb, always wanted to go back and try 333mhz BSEL mod but im a little bit not sure if i really want to try to take off that defogger repair stuff.. that stuff is pretty well on there good.
     
  15. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    i dnt really no what you said lol, every one seems to oc with such low fsb? is that coz you change the multiplyer? i have nbo control over that with my mobo so all i can do is bump up the fsb which might ave been my problem
     
  16. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    thats all we can do, right now my FSB is at 400mhz
     
  17. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,232 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    congrats on upgrading your cpu dude :) i want upgrade myself but i would need a new motherboard =( and my brother gets annoyed and say stuff like "why you want upgrade cpu for your cpu gd enough" and so on, and i don't even know what cpu is good upgrade
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well a quad core would be the next logical step eh : ]

    I can't recommend buying from TPU members enough, you'll likely get better support and a much better price for most things.

    Especially CPUs and such :D

    because I bought my xeon from an American Member I actually saved myself a fair amount of money : ]
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  19. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    you mean can right?
     
  20. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    yea i thought that
     
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    actually I meant " Can't reccomend buying from tpu members enough"

    But managed to bugger up on an epic scale D:
     
  22. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,483 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    UK
    it made perfect sense the first time panther
     
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    i just wish it'd hurry an come through the post then i get to do some benches
     
  24. miko2323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Good idea to upgrade to Q8200 or Q8400? or just get the C2D equivalent (Price)?
    Rig is used for gaming Mainly.
     
  25. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,512 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    how much would you want to part with it for? your old chip i mean... I figure its gotta be a little better than my pent D, although my cpu has done pretty well so far

    edit: nvm i see your in the uk, shipping would probably be more haha
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page