1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm having a problem with my new computer, artifacts and crashing.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CobaltViper, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. CobaltViper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I play a graphics intensive game for longer time (somewhere between one and two hours) my PC will freeze and the screen wil show artifacts, the only way to recover is to reset my PC is using the reset button on the frontpanel of my case.
    My first thought was that it's my GPU, but I have no way to test it, what are your thoughts on the problem?
    System:
    CPU: Intel C2d E8500
    GPU: Asus EN8800GT 1GB
    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
    RAM: 4*1GB Corsair PC6400 800MHz DDR2
    I still have warranty on all the parts, but I want to be sure I'll be sending in the right part.

    Another question, if I get my money back for this card I was thinking of upgrading the GPU to one of three options:
    One MSI 8800GTS 512MB OC
    Two MSI 8800GTS' 512MB OC
    One 9800GX2
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    First off are you overclocking anything at the moment? Which power supply are you using? What timings and ram speed do you have set?

    EDIT: BTW, Welcome to TPU! If you could please take a visit to User cp, fill out the system specs options and make them visible.
     
  3. CobaltViper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Filled in the User CP, I'm using a 600Watt PSU by Zalmann.
    No overclocking, though I have tried it a bit but I reset everything back to defaults because I didn't really see any increases in performance.
    My CPU never went over 50 Degrees Celsius in CoreTemp.
     
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Please try memtest86 to test the RAM, and check the temperature of the graphics core when playing a game (use ATi Tool).
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Definitely check ram timings and what voltage is on both northrbidge and memory. I too as well was getting this issue, it was related to RAM timings.
     
  6. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    it could be any of the two (mem or gpu), but it can also be a failing gpu driver.

    I think you should check the gpu temps more than anything else....

    1. restore bios to default settings.
    2. restore any OCing tool to default
    3. monitor temps.
    4. check driver.... best use original (cd provided) driver

    and wellcome to TPU!:toast:
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,627 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,953
    Welcome to the forums!

    To test the graphics --

    Download AtiTool

    After installing it, select Run 3D button so that you get a furry cube generated graphics.
    Take note of the temperatures your GPU is reaching while the furry cube is displayed.

    Try to leave it running for an hour or 2 and see if you have any crashes/artifacting.
     
  8. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    349 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    I think u should check ur GPU and Mem settings but for me the GPU is the issue, try to lower the GPU clocks and see what happen...
     
  9. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    Black Panther is right.... atitool will help you a lot.
    alternatively, you can use Rivatuner ( http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/721/RivaTuner_v2.03.html )
    btw do you get the same problem in gfx benchmarks?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page