1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm looking for this cards bios ASUS EAH5850 DirectCU TOP

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by trt740, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have the regular ASUS EAH5850 DirectCU and it is limited to 900 core in smart doctor and Afterburner per Underwire doesn't support it. I believe the tops bios allows smart doctor up to 1200 core can someone post this bios I know it was reviewed a while back.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  2. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    little harsh aren't we??? and there is a bios where? I have smart doctor I need the bios and I don't think it's on that link. Also that link is not to the top version I have the card you linked I need the bios for the Directcu top version.
     
  4. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Yo man!
    Click on download and select your OS, than select which number of vga driver you want
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Yo man I don't need a driver I need a bios. :banghead: Thx for trying too help but your not being much help here.
     
  6. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
  7. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    trt740 says thanks.
  8. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Weird... i already posted that before :S
     
  9. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    those are all stock clocked, and not the TOP model, I'm thinking of other options now...
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    post your bios and ill change the max clocks on it ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
    trt740 says thanks.
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    That won't work these card have special voltage regulators and need special software to control the regulator and asus has limited there max clocks in smartdoctor the only tool that give these card voltage control. Now you can set the voltage control in smart doctor and use CCC to up the clocks past 900 but I just want one tool.

    example [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Also I'm changing this fan I have to say at the default clocks it is okay but I don't agree with W1zzard when he says this gpu cooler is good because mine is loud past 50 pecent and has a very hard time keeping my gpu cool when oced. Overclocked with moderate voltage this cooler is loud and has trouble keeping this gpu under 85c. I realize thats acceptable to ATI but the noise that comes with it isn't. Also to say this cooler is excellent is just not true. It is much louder then a gtx 470 ref cooler and my old modded Accelero Twin turbo did a much better job and wasn't near as loud on my prior ref 5850. Franky unless my cooler is defective or a heatpipe is bad I think this cooler sucks. I have changed the heat paste and used Arctic Silver Alumina and it didn't help a bit. Also my stock temps are exactly the same as W1zzards in his review. I'm very picky about gpu cooler and fans in general, and anyone who know me , realizes I love Asus. However, in this case I wanted to like this cooler but am far from impressed. Hope this isn't offensive to anyone but I bought this partly on the review that W1zzard posted and because this card really is well made but this cooler is not up to my standards at all. When I add a after market cooler we will have a different animal all together.

    this will be it's replacement. http://www.zerotherm.net/eng/product/CM3000.asp or this ZALMAN VF3000A Enter VGA Cooler

    now I need a bios.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
  14. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Looks like the harsh one is you now, as you don't think of sending wizzard a PM for this :pPP
     
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,268 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Mine is the best card/cooler combination I have ever owned, this cooler is even better than my old Sapphire Toxic vaporX+ cooler but we all have different experiences, TBH it's that good I rarely go above 50% fan speed under load.

    I will upload my bios for the OP to use... Tom it may well actually be that my bios helps with the noise/cooling also. my overdrive upper limit is 1100 I think.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I already did, but you didn't know that because it was a private message

    Something must be wrong with this cooler then because under occt it will hit 90c. Under normal use during load it hits 75c. It's a good card but once I slap a new cooler on it it will be great. Also tatty this is a brand new card.
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,268 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I don't think I can help you Tom, just got home, checked, my Bios will do nothing for you as my Smartdoctor upper limit is 900 also, I just don't use it to overclock, I use overdrive for that, the only thing I can think of is you need to get your hands on a Asus TOP overclocked edition Bios, they are also DirectCU, PM W1zard, I know he did a review on the card so he will probably have dumped the Bios, there is a backlog of bioses he has for uploading to the site so it may well be in there.
     
  18. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I already did, but you didn't know that because it was a private message
    Why did you open the thread than???
     
  19. driver66

    driver66

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,053 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    indiana
    Because he seems to be looking for help? :rolleyes: I appreciate that you seem to want to help, but you are just sniping now bro :toast:
     
  20. karnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The EAH5850 TOP bios is already in the system as 75141.rom.
     
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,022 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,570
    Points have already been awarded, please keep your personal feelings to yourself and stay on topic.
     
  22. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I don't see it all of them list core clocks of 725 for asus 5850 and thats not the tops version.

    FYI added a Zalman 3000N the black version, I didn't need the voltage regulator heat sinks mine has it's own, and it dropped my temps 20c. It's very nicely made. I used the N version because I like it's look better, it was ten dollars cheaper and mounts the same. The only thing I needed to do was not use the black rubber washers but it seems universal for Geforce or ATI card minus the VRM heatsink.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2010
  23. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,268 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,011
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    What are the reference clocks for the TOP Tom?
     
  25. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    not sure haven't flashed it yet
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page