1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Im unsure of this build guys

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Spook, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    I would say your Mobo, will be held up by your RAM, it may be OCZ, but its DDR2 800, and the standard is 1066, but 1200(o.C.) on your motherboard.

    Im not sure if that mean's anything but i though ide point it out.

    And yea ide ditch the ATI card, for a 9800 series, or even a 280 series if you have the cash, though you might want to wait till the 295 series comes out.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  2. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    wait how are you arguing that against the 4800 series???

    last I checked as far as 4800 series goes.

    4830 detuned 4850 would beat a 9800GT.
    4850 beats 9800GT
    4850 = 9800GTX+
    4870 beats 9800GTX+
    4870 beats GTX 260 one with 192 shaders if I remember correctly
    the only thing higher is a GTX 260 with the 216 shaders and GTX 280. which money isn't worth. heck some 4870 1gbs could probably contend with the 280.
    And then GTX 295 is about 500 bucks which is overkill vs a 4870x2 which will drop in price. heck 4850x2 is the 320 range...
     
    Spook says thanks.
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    It's more like.
    4830 OCed beats 9800 gt
    4850 beats 9800 GT "and" 9800 GTX +
    4850 < 9800 GTX + SLI
    4870 beats 9800 GTX+, not sured if 9800 GTX+ SLI will do a difference
    260 216 > 4870 > 260 192
    Who said GTX260 is not worth it?
     
    Spook says thanks.
  4. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    are you talking about 4850 crossfire vs 9800GTX+ SLI because I could understand that.
    Single card wise 4850 should beat 9800GT, GTX, and = the same as GTX+ slightly edging it out I guess.

    yea you got me on the 4830 I guess I should have oc'd.

    I argue against just 260 with less shaders....sounds awkward but it doesn't make sense. Since it gets beat by the 4870, heck 4850 could breath down it's neck in crossfire but that would contradict the earlier statement I made.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  5. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    I was refering to the 4830, not the 4850 or any of the such. And the 9xxx seriers of card IMO are crap compared to the 8xxx series, but that just IMO.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  6. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    just get a geforce 6600!
     
    Spook says thanks.
  7. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Lawl. How about a radeon X300 SE?
     
    Spook says thanks.
  8. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    Yea im gonna overclock the 4830 to 4850 speeds or at least around there i dont have enough money for an 4850 :/ so i should buy a OCZ Gold rather than the Fatal1ty? Lol at the Radeon X300 SE and the Geforce 6600! XD
     
  9. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    jesus.... i never had good luck...

    sorry for reviving this thread but i need Advice (again).... so i followed my dad's advice and stayed with my old power supply its an ULTRA X-CONNECT 500 Watt but i forgot that the my BIOSTAR mobo is 24 pin so i bought an adapter and guess what else i forgot! i forgot that cpu is 8 pin not 4 pin so now im stuck in between buying another adapter which my dad says i should do. but before i jump the gun check the specs of this old piece of junk tell me if its enough to turn on my rig before i have to adapt my brain!!! this website reviews my old junk http://www.bjorn3d.com/read.php?cID=711&pageID=1088 if you need more info on it ill gladly look. Sorry again and Thanks in advance. ~Spook
     
  10. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    Bump for tonight ^^
     
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,113 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    what are you guys talking about, he needs a good video card like the fx5200, that thing is a beast, lmao!
     
    Spook says thanks.
  12. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    well i would always say that when it comes to PSU if you have to mod it, forget it. I just think that something like your PSU shouldn't be modded to do something it can't do. If your pus goes to hell it will take your computer with it. That's IMO.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  13. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    my recomendation: get the corsair 550w and be happy :D
     
    Spook says thanks.
  14. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  15. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,754 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    get a ati radeon card most of nvidia cards nowadays are just renamed 8000 series card with old technology compared to ATI Radeon HD 4000 series, get a Radeon HD 4850 or a 4870
     
    Spook says thanks.
  16. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Why the HECK would anyone still get a Dual-core CPU? And a gamer no less.. what is wrong with the world?
     
  17. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    What about a HD4850 ?
     
    Spook says thanks.
  18. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    8800 GT ->> 9800 GT
     
    Spook says thanks.
  19. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    and what abt P5Q-E
     
    Spook says thanks.
  20. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    i already have the parts..missing PSU

    i need a new psu basically because my old 500Watt Ultra cant handle the truth xD. so heres the rig i have so far i have the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4830 im gonna try to overclock it, 4GB (2*2) A-DATA at 4-4-4-12 timings :O, the Biostar TP45HP mobo and im gonna reuse my old 320GB hard drive lets see what else..i bought the Tuniq Tower Cooler (its HUGE) and a LG blu-ray Drive.... i need at least 430-500 Watts to power this thing up. i dont know which of the two to pick either the OCZ or the CORSAIR the OCZ has more wattage though..even though wattage isnt important. ~Spook
    Thanks in advance.
     
  21. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    I agree. Just get a new PSU, Corsair is your best bet :)
     
    Spook says thanks.
  22. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Corsair seems to be making some of the best quality/price PSU's atm. It's hard to go wrong with buying a 550 or 650 from them.
    Personally I got a CoolerMaster SilentPro and I'm happy with it too. But that's one experience versus at least a dozen on TPU with Corsair PSU's.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  23. Spook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New York City
    yea unless someone convinces me so i think ill go for the Corsair rather than the OCZ... i mean the OCZ has more wattage yea but the Corsair is Just pure quality ;)
     
  24. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Make sure you have sufficient amps on the 12v rail. I would say go Corsair, but i have a Silverstone PSU and im happy as hell with it. 62a on the 12v rail, enough power to power any gfx card in existence and in the foreseeable future as well.
     
    Spook says thanks.
  25. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Ohio
    Some dual cores are good overclockers..plus they are cheap and I'm sure there are people out there like myself that use them in secondary rigs like the one I'm building for LANs..
     
    Spook says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page