1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

iMac AMD Radeon 5750 (5850m) flash error

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by iMacDKOwner2013, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Dear friends,

    I am a very sad man right now. I did something very stupid and even-though my gut instinct was telling me otherwise I decided to do so. I wasn't aware of that changing the ID tag would have these consequences, but it did say caution. I took a backup of the BIOS, but it is on my iMac, which is not working now. The screen is black and I used my original bios with some tweeks. I was stupid enough to choose an option in ATIFlash, where I selected it to be recognized as a Radeon HD 6870. Now the screen is black and I cannot do anything. The computer starts and everything, but I cant see anything.

    I was thinking about making an automated flash CD that flashed it back. Would that work? Does anyone have the original BIOS file for the card? Mine is on the iMac harddisk... I feel so stupid right now :cry:

    A friendly member here just informed me that the Video ID in RBE should not be the problem. Could the problem be that the clock was set to high? The default was 625 and I sat it to 675 or 700?

    I have just tried to reset the NVRAM and PRAM but no difference?

    The same person also told me that the video id option in RBE should not have caused the problem? The machine is booting into OSX as normal with sounds and everything... But there is no picture at all. Everything is black, but there are no error sounds either?

    I just had an idea!!! Could it be an power issue? I mean that the GPU is not getting enough power or voltage perhaps?

    I just remembered something today! My GPU has GDDR5 RAM! ATIFlash said something about it not being able to read it correctly! Did this be the cause of problem maybe??

    And is there an ATIFlash specialist in here? Any expert with the different commands and such? I've been looking through the command list and maybe.... just maybe, I can still save it!

    Update:

    I honestly do believe that this is not a lost cause! There are none of the errors sounds that you hear if the MOBO is dead or so. Or if there is a GFX error (in the PC/Windows world). So I am convinced that it can be done. I do not think that I need to buy a new MOBO... Because then I could just as well buy a new iMac.

    I really liked your idea in regards to the ^G because, then I could hear that the batch process is actually executed!

    I hope to discover a way where I can boot from CD, but flash from USB... Then I can also recover the error log and send it to you!

    As I see it there are two options, but I hope option one can be done:

    1) Blind flashing - Boot from CD, flash from USB and discover the error log. I saw there was a -scansii attribute. Is there a way so that I can flash it where ATIFlash discard everything and just flash the damn thing as I state? I do think that it can find a device id, but I cannot confirm it. Is there a way to perhaps change the device id or clock speed, voltage and such without accessing the BIOS of the VGA card? Because the problem could be that the VGA card is not getting enough power - because I tweaked it.

    2) Manually removing the BIOS reflashing it and inserting it. But how do I find the VGA BIOS? Can could I just buy an empty one from a electronic shop, flash it and insert that one and clipping the old one out?

    UPDATE 1:

    I have now fully dissembled my iMac. I have extracted the GFX card from the iMac and I am planning on getting it reflashed tomorrow. I have located a shop near where I live that I knew had a E3 Station (flashing station for e.g. PS3 downgrading). I will bring the card to him and he should be able to flash it with a stock BIOS as they have the same iMac in there workshop.

    UPDATE 2:

    I actually believe that the Apple EFI is preventing the GFX from booting because the Video ID has changed! I think there is some sort of precaution/restriction in the Apple BIOS that prevents the iMac from booting if you upgrade or change your GFX!

    UPDATE 3:

    I have now managed to extract the original stock VGA BIOS backup from my iMac harddrive! And I have loaded the one from this site, my backup and the modified bios and taken screen shots of them, so the people that wants to help me in here can see it too :) Does anyone know whether I can access SSH-access to OSX if I extract the iMac HD and connect it to my Windows PC?

    UPDATE 4:

    I went to the place and they could not fix so.... So I just bought a new card.... And just replaced it with a AMD Radeon HD 7970M... It didnt fit, so I had to modify my spacing within my cabinet and the VGA card (MXM)... But when I turn the computer on all the fans are running at high speed like crazy! Could it be that I need to apply the CPU with some new thermal paste? I think so... I now I have to dissamble it again to do that! I still have the old card and I will just reflash it or replace the BIOS chip with a new reprogrammed one :) The old card is not dead it just needs the BIOS replaced so that is good too :)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  2. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
  3. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
  4. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I've seen it myself however I do not know whether it takes care of the video bios either? I think it only refers to the computer BIOS... Maybe an expert in here can verify?
  5. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
  6. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    its mislabeled
  7. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    yeah so this is the correct bios, im just the guy that finds thew bios someone else can tel lyou how to flash it using a windows 98 bootable dongle method
  9. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i dont think you can do that on a mac.
  10. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was thinking the same thing, but the problem remains - the screen is black and I cannot see anything on it? :-S
  11. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    put in another video card or switch the display cable to another port not on the gpu and clear the CMOS on the mobo so it reads the new port

    also can you show me a pic of what ur gpu looks like so I can add it to the db :)
  12. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i would try this first http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2213
  13. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Thank for you help :) But you do know that its an iMAC and not an Mac Pro? There is only one GPU in it as far as I know?
  14. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    yeah I was just looking at some pics, your only option is to follow that link and that is it, it should work if u find a way to make the imac read the cd and does everything automatically without you having to see whats going on, is there a cmos clear on an imac?
  15. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The problem is that I cannot find the right restoration CD for my iMac. Its not stated within the tables, which computers are supported :-S
  16. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    That I do not know. There is something that clears the RV something that I read about. But I do not know, whether that would be the same thing? Is there any other way to flash it back again using software tools? Otherwise can it be done hardware-wise - well theoretically yes, but is it a valid option in practice?
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Read up on the 'Blind flash method' But because you changed the device ID you could have a problem with atiflash but their are other options
    YES
    read the pdf in this post http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2778429&postcount=10
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  18. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    In all honesty I do not believe that I changed the ID Device but perhaps what it would show up as - that what I thought. Can blind flash be used on an iMac? And I read your guide, but mine is not a external VGA card, but an internal. And its an iMac, so I am uncertain if that guide would be useful for my situation - in all respect.
  19. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    How do i pinout 1 and 8? And what do I flash it with then? What tools do I need to do so? And I am very thankful for your help - and everybody else in here. Its an unfortunate situation :-(
  20. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    the last Mac i worked on was a G3:eek: so my info on them is just a bit dated ..I get that the VGA is onboard. But is there a vid bios chip on the MB? Can you post a link to or a high res pic of the MB. mabe post the full model # of the rig & i'l have a look on the web for so info
    Is the chip on a MXM card??
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  21. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I will try to do that tomorrow as it is close to midnight right now. I have however tried to Blind Flash using boot CD and automated flash sequences... But for now without luck :-( I cant see what is stated and why it is not working.... Im using ATIFlash with the -f command :-(
  22. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Does anyone know how to force ATIFlash to flash a ROM and discard all checks and everything else and just flash the damn thing??
  23. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The problem could be that ATIFlash cannot find the VGA card? Can I force it to flash it there anyways eventhough it suspects that everything is wrong?
  24. iMacDKOwner2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    46 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I found some pictures on this page that might be what you asked for?

    http://www.twam.info/hardware/apple/installing-additional-ssd-in-mid-2010-27-imac
  25. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,174 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    because the device ID is wrong = 'card not found'
    NO...see ^^^
    in the pic red square your vid card?? could be removed & replaced or fixed

    Attached Files:

    • imac.jpg
      imac.jpg
      File size:
      153.9 KB
      Views:
      121
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page