1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

In Need of a NAS

Discussion in 'Storage' started by magibeg, Jan 12, 2013.

1. magibeg

magibeg

Thanks Received:
    Basically I've started to accumulate fairly large amounts of data, pair that up with multiple PC's and things have kind of become a mess. I'm pretty new to the whole NAS thing but I do want to say that I really want this to be a very minimalist approach so simply building a mATX or ITX computer is not really what I had in mind.

It'll be mostly for holding movies, lossless music and various other media files. Speed isn't a huge deal but still nice to have of course because i'd like to do some streaming off it (I imagine something like 20MB/s should be fast enough). I'm still not sure if I should go with a 4 drive solution or just a 2 drive. I'd like to think I could get away with 3TB with redundancy but that might not be the case in 5 years lol.

For cost I guess anywhere from $200 to $400 plus the cost of hard drives of course.

I was looking at a couple from QNAP and Synology and they seem somewhat pricey.

So any information or advice would be wonderful.
  2. AthlonX2

AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

Thanks Received:
    Check thecus. N2800 for dual bay , n5550 otherwise
    magibeg says thanks.
  3. Kreij

Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Given any thought to backing up the NAS? It's part of the equation.
    magibeg says thanks.
  4. magibeg

magibeg

Thanks Received:
    Well i figured with a dual drive solution i'd run raid 1, and with a 4 drive i'd do raid 5. But I haven't thought about backing up the entire NAS somewhere else.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

Thanks Received:
    I still use my Seagate 2TB home NAS.
    magibeg says thanks.
  6. magibeg

magibeg

Thanks Received:
    Ok so ones i was looking at:

Seagate STAR401 Black Armor 400