1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

In need of decent network monitoring application.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Brutalfate, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Hey, I'm looking for a decent Network monitoring application that I can use to remotely connect to the three other computers on our Local network. Any ideas what i could use?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Network Magic, it works wonderfully and does all the fancy network config stuff for you.
     
  3. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Awesome. Thnx. :) I'll give it a go.
     
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    Remote desktop if all are XP Pro
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,622
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish, but you may want to check out SpiceWorks.

    http://www.spiceworks.com

    It's totally free.
     
  6. Brutalfate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    374 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    AUS, NSW, Sydney
    Network Magic is great... If only it could do remote desktop.. which is what I also want :D haha.
     
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    Pretty sure remote desktop only works when all pC's are on a domain and the domain is the same.
     
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    logmeinnow has a free version where you can remote into pc's and no domain needed , they have a free version and it is great but the free version will not allowe file transfer and paid for version does allowe file transfer>> do not use the rescue version !!! herers a link>>https://secure.logmein.com/go.asp?page=home
     
  9. Dreya

    Dreya New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    Possibility - depending on usage?!

    Real VNC - different versions depending on usage and requirements -
    http://www.realvnc.com/ Works remotely, but needs to be installed on a client / server basis.
    (Needs to be on all machines to function correctly). Functionality can be either fully taken over by yourself or jointly by you and user. - Only snag is if you need a reboot on the remote machine you lose connectivity (obvious really but can be a glitch if using DHCP as IP address may change :ohwell: )

    Works well in close networks and wider - perfect for monitoring remotely in cybercafe or educational type facilities or your server at home if your abroad on business or pleasure and an emergency crops up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page