1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

incorrect readings

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by leemerlord, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    lately i have noticed in cpz that the multiplier and core speed are not the same as what my bios post. i have setting to defaults and heres a pic of what they currently read from cpuz, could i have possibly fried the chip?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you have an i5 760 cpu, it is probably showing at post, it is running at 2.8 GHz; and, not the Max Turbo Boost speed of 3.33 GHz.

    Your specs listed are incorrect... you show the CPU you have as a i6 760. I believe that should be a n i5 760.

    CPUz seems to be showing your CPU is running at Maximum Turbo Frequency, which is at a bus/core ratio of 25 and a bus speed freq. of 133.4 for a MTF of 3.33 GHz.
    This is normal for that chip to act this way at default settings. It should, however, fluctuate those core readings as you watch them, if not... then something is odd.

    If, they are staying on the max turbo frequency then it could be a misbehaving/conflicting app, process, service, driver, etc. or virus/trojan. And, maybe, settings or hardware.
    Or, even, a problem with CPUz.

    You may want to test with the Intel® Processor Diagnostic Tool.

    The normal (non max turbo) frequency for that chip is 2.8Ghz, which is 21 * 133.4 .

    Intel® Core™ i5-760 Processor

    Quote from Intel's Turbo boost web page:
    Intel® Turbo Boost Technology frequently asked questions
    Intel® Turbo Boost Technology Monitor
    .
    .
     
    leemerlord says thanks.
  3. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    good info thanks, much appreciated. everything seems normal and it passed the intel test. only weird thing i see is if i OC just a little, the info post will saw 2.5ghz when ill manually have it set to say 3.4 with known good voltage and setting configurations, how ever in cpuz it will show the correct values i have set in the bios. am i just tweakin out and that is normal or has something started to malfunction. again thank you for the good information
     
  4. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    leemerlord says thanks.
  5. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    doing better, have a set up which is A LOT more stable on way less voltages. only thing that seems odd to me but i guess is normal, which is when turbo boost is on it fluctuates like crazy. but problem solved thanks for the great help and info once again on this awesome fourm.
     
  6. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Turbo Boost was designed to be very dynamic by Intel. As more cores become active, the multiplier decreases and as cores go to sleep in C3/C6, the multiplier increases. This is happening constantly, hundreds of times a second. RealTemp will report a very accurate average of this activity.

    Some motherboards let you disable Turbo Boost and will let you lock your CPU at a fixed multiplier instead. Some users, especially when overclocking the base clock (BCLK) speed, prefer a lower but fixed multiplier.
     
    leemerlord says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page