1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Increase your PC's speed, without upgrading or spending money!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Xazax, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    No, this isnt "GET FREE RAM FOR YOUR COMPUTER" using some internet junk to fool people into thinking they can make there PC's faster. These are ACTUAL programs that MAY! again MAY help increase your PC's performance without you spending a single penny.

    Here are the two programs you require

    "RAMDISK" (note only a 15-day Trial)
    http://www.superspeed.com/download/trialversions.php

    Eboostr (Note only a free Beta)
    http://beta.eboostr.com/

    Please note, you will need 4GB DDR/DDR2/DDR3 ram or more for this to be effective, 3GB is cutting it close i don't recommend doing it with 2GB or less.

    What you do
    1) Download both programs
    2) Install and run RAMDISK, make a "Fake" HDD with it 1GB or higher(depending on how much ram you have installed.

    Wanna see the difference between an Mechanical HDD and RAMDISK HDD?

    (HDD was a Western Digital 250GB 16MB cache, Ram was DDR2 800mhz CAS5)

    [​IMG]

    Now with RAMDISK Windows should see it as an actual HDD, yes you can store files on it but that's for another session.. make sure to format the RAMDISK.

    *Note* once you make the RAMDISK Whatever size you made it, Windows will always see the amount of ram you made in in "use"

    [​IMG]


    Now with that done, install Eboostr its going to require a restart. Once your back in windows it will ask you to configure a device for it. You'll see the RAMDISK drive you made select it and build a cache.

    [​IMG]

    That's it your all done, you got a free performance boost.

    How does it work? Well i can give you the simple version.

    RAMDISK makes Windows read set amount of ram as an HDD and Eboostr Cache's frequently used programs. So what your doing is using your system memory, which is really fast, to act like an HDD which Eboostr then uses to cache programs that can be called-up @ anytime instead of accessing the slower mechanical HDD.

    PART 2
    Subjective Analysis, Does it actually increase performance at all? :confused:
    (Coming Soon!)
     
    Soylent Joe and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  2. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    thats pretty cool actually thanks brah i might have to give this a run
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,397 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    so it does the same thing as vista/7 superfetch?
     
  4. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Ill have to get the performance numbers to show you guys if it works or not as of right now its really up to you guys, I dont have the time ATM to do so, but i will see if these programs are better.

    @ Sneekypeet sorta but not really
    @ Mussles, We'll see with the performance numbers I will compare a Basic Windows 7 fresh install compared to ones with those programs loaded on it.
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Will watch this to see if it really helps.
     
  6. Thanks! I'm going to try it later today.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,397 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    installed the Eboostr, but it wants a reboot. i dont plan on rebooting for another week or so, so i cant test yet.
     
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia


    you cant compare it to a fresh install of windows..... Superfetch will only work effectivly after some use.

    windows 7 already caches programs into ram without the need for eboostr, how ever if you cached onto a fast mediem such as a Raptor or SSD instead of ram, then you might see benifit as you could cache a lot more.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,397 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    the main advantage of this over readyboost would be that you can choose what gets cached.

    Unfortunately, seems useless for gamers.
     
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    What i mean by fresh install, is a New install of windows 7, loaded with my usual apps. Games, Coders etc. right now about 70 some gigabyte's

    then ill install the programs, and see if anything has changed, I.E is it faster?
     
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    you got somethin naughty on your desktop lol
     
  12. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    The whole ramdisk idea has been around for a while, when people started with XP it was relatively handy, but it requires large amounts of ram... and is also volatile, so be careful :p

    Curious, since ram is getting a bit larger than most people will use (8gb+) at a lot of times, if it'll return to actually improving performance any. WTB benchmarks.
     
  13. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    I think this way is "suppose" to work better then window's prefetch, but again it all remains in subjective testing.
     
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I thought Windows' prefetch was relocating files to faster locations in the hard drive(Although it may also use extra ram for this, I'm not sure.).

    Think of it more of a readyboost. Cached files are stored on a faster, albeit smaller drive (Pendrive/Ram) instead of the slow hard drive. It's faster to store/access files located in memory than it is on the hard drive. Move files to the ramdisk, and they will ofcourse, have very rapid access times. ;)

    All the ramdisk program does, it reserve a large, specific amount of memory, and then pretends to be a storage drive.
     
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    someone on here already did this and did benchies .. newtekie i think
     
  16. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Theres a thread where, fitseries installed Pcmark on his ramdisk and got an insane boost in his score.
     
  17. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I got myself RAMDisk Plus. I keep Firefox on it for now, with everything--app, user profile and cache--hard drive does almost nothing now when I launch, use and close Firefox with my dozen+ constant tabs. And some very VERY fast page loading :D

    But you gotta have the Plus edition for 64-bit, or so I heard. Can't wait til I upgrade from 2GB. If I go 6 or 8 I will have entire apps in there. Maybe even a VM drive or two :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010
  18. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    991 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    finally could put 8gb of ram to some use
     
  19. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ok I just got it and checking it out.
    I am a little confused with building the cache.

    When I select configure devices, I choose RAMDISK.
    Then I choose Use this device for caching.
    Then is says select the cache size, I have up to 996MB to choose from. I made 1GB using RAMDisk.

    Do I set all of it to max?? 996mb??? and build the cache??
    or only a small amount of it??
     
  20. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    use all of it. I am also trying this out, just downloaded the stuff, very very interesting i must say.
     
  21. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Would you leave some left over if you want to put your own stuff on it? Like photoshop CS4??
     
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I checked the RAM usage and it's using an extra 1gig of RAM and now only left with 1.5gb??
    is that supposed too happen??

    i thought this uses beyond the 3.25gb limit???
     
  23. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    You mean naughty in a non sexual way then i think i found what you say"Z"
     
  24. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    This is not a good sign when no one has reported any results yet.
     
  25. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Well, I don't know about EBooster, but I did write about how RAMDisk Plus has made my Firefox browsing experience a whole lot better and faster.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page