1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Inebriated numpty flashed the incorrect BIOS

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Robes, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The inebriated numpty was me last night :) You live and learn!

    Anyway, Gigabyte didn't help as the selections were a bit confusing.

    So I have the incorrect BIOS on my card and the problem is that my computer will not boot with this card in the computer. I can boot into windows fine without the card in by using the integrated graphics chip, however if the card is in the computer will not post, there is simply a flashing underscore in the top left corner.

    Now clearly if I can get the computer running I can reinstall the old BIOS (I was sober enough to make a backup) but its getting the computer running with the graphics card plugged in that is the problem. Any ideas? And thanks for any help.
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Never flash your BIOS when your drunk. :)

    When you're using the iGPU, that becomes your primary video device. Your video card would be the id after the primary.

    Law-II has some good advice in some other threads, so either I will find one of his posts or he will beat me to the punch and post here himself.
    --
    Edit: Here we go. This is for fixing a bad flash to a 6950, but the process is the same. Since you're using the iGPU it's most likely ID 1 instead of 0 which would be you're iGPU.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2834583&postcount=2
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  3. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    unfortunately the computer won't even post with the card in, even if i have the integrated chip selected as the primary card, so i don't think i will be able to boot from uSB?
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Select the iGPU as your primary display in the BIOS before putting the card back in. By default motherboards default to PCI-E first before the iGPU.
     
  5. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unfortunately the iGPU is selected as the primary card. It's definitely working as I can see a flashing underscore in the top left of my screen. If I pull the 7850 out then the computer posts and boots to windows.
     
  6. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually, it either isn't letting the igpu be the primary display adapter when the 7850 is installed or the 7850 is stopping the system from booting or displaying anything no matter whether it is primary display adapter or not.
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Does it show this right off the bat or does the machine post first then come to this?

    Not to be a downer but my optimism is fading. :(
     
  8. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I can only get into the BIOS when the card is disconnected. So I've selected the igpu as primary and everything works OK, but as soon as I reinsert the 7850 the computer won't even post.
     
  9. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've tried to seat it in both pcie slots too but it makes no difference.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,463 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I don't know what to tell you then. If the machine won't boot with the video card even in the rig there is no chance you're going to be able to flash it. Something must have physically damaged it. If it's under warranty I think an RMA is in order.

    Please refrain from double posting as it is against the rules. Please use the edit button if you have something to add to a post and no one has responded.
     
  11. Robes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Apologies for the double post.

    Yes I guess it's looking bleak. I'm hesitant to RMA it since it seems to be me that is at fault, however the card was faulty before I flashed it, hence the reason for me flashing the BIOS. I will persevere a little and hope to get the computer to npost with the card in it.
     
  12. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If you have: Removed all unessential hardware from the PC

    Booted with mobo cpu one stick of RAM and *vga card attached [will not post]

    or

    Booted with mobo cpu one stick of RAM and *vga card attached [will not boot to DOS from flash drive]

    -vga cards vbios is failed

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page