1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Info on clocks and memory speeds..whats the big picture?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Irish_PXzyan, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey there.

    OK..ive finaly gathered enough funds to buy my dream card:rolleyes:
    The Club3D X1950XTX 512mb, iam going to buy this card on monday from kemplett.ie for 416 Euros. I have an X800GT 256mb and am wondering..When I buy this card what should I expect from it. When it comes to core clock speed,,the X800 is 475 and the X1950 is 650..what kind of difference will this have?? and how do I notice the difference in gaming? the same with the memory speed..the X800GT is 490mhz and the X1950XTX is 2000Mhz..what does this actualy do?? what difference will this have when gaming?

    Also..the card is 256mb..and the X1950XTX is 512 GDDR4...what difference will this have when gaming?? what does this..GDDR4 do?? as far as I know..its the only card with this GDDR4 memory..but what does this actualy do?? and the same with the 512mb???

    any info would be great..ive looked around and cant find any info anywhere to what these memory speeds do for a card and for gamers.
    Thanks in advance!
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    DDR4 is faster in frequency and slower in timings ...so ddr4 is more or less better cuz u can get good increases in frequency and then possibly even tighten up the ram some too...and as for the card itself there will be a big difference in FPS and paddle responce time.....but power draw is bigger too.
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    When I buy this card I will be buying a new PSU also to support this video card.
    Ill find a decent 500WATT PSU to handle it with ease! I hope..
    Anyone know much about the core and memory speeds?? I understand higher the better..but how much better? :rolleyes:
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    you forgot about the eyecandy ;)

    and the 512mb on the card uses less mem from the comp ram am I right ?


    well the most i got with my X800XL in 3DMARK05 was 7127 with my CPU OC and Card

    and with my CPU and Card at stock I got 11035

    so its alot better more of everything
  5. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    lots:toast:

    I have a x800xt pe and a x850xt pe and the eye candy looks the same but you can go way higher with the x1950xt and have way better performance so Yes Sir i did for get the eye candy !
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thats great stuff!!..ive got 1.5gigs of PC3200 DDR 400mhz...1 gig and 1 512mb sticks. I am good I beleave.

    I just want to be able to play M2TW and R6V on full if possible.

    Also..ive got an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0Ghz...will I need to expect some bottlenecking going on here with the X1950XTX??? I hope not to much.
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Clock your cpu to 2.4 and you will be GOLDEN:toast:
  8. Hollywood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would like to point out you CAN find an Nvidia 8800 GTS at around the same price. Some places in America at about $360 USD.

    The 8800 stomps the XTX cards(it even out performs crossfired dual XTX setups), running still in DDR3 but with 640 MB -320 bit. It does this all at only 500mhz core speed. All these XTX come out at like 650mhz, not impressive to have to buy a card OCd that much. ;/ 8800 Also has a 128 bit version of HDR, where I believe the XTX are 64 bit. And it's Direct X 10 ready+ uses Sm 4.0 not 3.0

    To answer your question, you WILL notice performance difference from your current card to this one. However, if you go for severe image quality, HDR+AA+FILTERING+etcetc, at 1600 resolution, you will notice FPS start to drop. I doubt they will drop into threatening chunky bit ranges, but Ive watched XTX drop below 20FPS on games like FEAR.

    I really go for ATI generally, but if you're paying for an XTX, really check out the 8800GTS. And as for the GTX don't bother, you'll just wet yourself with pleasure :)
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    to keep it simple and cheery, that x1950 will smoke your x800 :D
  10. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well I have been checking out the 8800GTS all right..but here in Ireland that card costs just under 500 Euros..I dont have that much nore do I want to wait anymore..ive been waiting since
    mid nov to have enough for a video card and PSU..but it dont bother me to much..come to the end of the year or mid-summer I will buy the new ATI R600 cards once its about.
  11. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    the 8800 series is also buggy, its not a proper unified architecture, wont run dx10 very well, runs hot as hell, forget about running it in a pci-e 8x slot it just wont work, the extra ram is practically worthless, hell 256mb is enough still, and the x1950 uses a 512bit ringbus, which, obviously, is superior to a 320bit bus :p
  12. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I agree with Ketxxx about the Geforce. I would continue to save and get the R600 when it comes out.
  13. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I would like to do that..but its there first DX10 video card and is gonna be buggy in some areas..id really rather wait until the bugs are more or less gone..and also..I dont need a DX10 video card...perhaps later this year once those DX10 games begin to rain down.
  14. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Whoever mentioned the G80 shall get pwned because its the buggiest shi*&@$*&#&@ on earth currently. Id get the X1950XTX for the meantime. Then When R600 comes out, u can use the X1950XTX as a Physics card, many times more powerful than the "Specialised" Aegia Physics card (equivalent to a Geforce 3 >_>).
  15. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Sounds good..I know little about these..physics cards! but it sounds rather sweet!
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Lol, that X1950XTX will pawn that PhysX shit a million times :roll:
  17. Hollywood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Benchmarks don't lie, no matter how much you want them to.

    If you haven't used the product, don't open your ignorant nerd mouths.

    Tired of bashers who've never even seen the box of a product let alone used it.

    THE ONLY proven, and true advantage XTX has over 8800 is that it can use AA and lighting HDR simultaneously, instead of one or the other.

    And again, any card that has to be Oc'd to 650 to keep up with a card that runs at 500mhz, is in itself, as you put it: shi*&@$*&#&@.

    However, this is about Irish getting himself a nice new card, not your ego trying to run the same speed as your OCd front side BUS.

    Irish:

    You could, since you are buying a new card when it comes out, go for a lower x1900 XT. It's going to perform really nice for you, and I can see you saving 100 Euros or so on it.


    Enjoy whatever card you get!
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    How exactly is an X1950XTX OCed to 650 Mhz?
    That is the stock clock:nutkick:
    The meaning of overclocking is to increase the clock of a device to higher than he device is intended to be.
  19. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    This ofcourse, depends solely of the monitor. 256MB cards will choke on res' higher than 1280x1024 with HQ AA and AF.
    Ringbus is not the same as memory bus.
    Besides, how would one create a 512bit memory bus with 8 GDDR4 chips? Widest GDDR4 chips are x32, 8x32bit = 256bit. 512bit would need x64 chips or 16 pieces of x32'ers.

    ->
    X1k series has a 512bit ringbus but memory bus is still 256bit.

    8800GTS @ 320bit > X1950XTX @ 256bit
  20. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well I have looked at the X1900XT alright..and looks great..I dont know..but the X1950XTX just draws me in more than the X1900XT and I can afford the X1950XTX anyways..its not really how much I can save at this point..

    I have a 19 inch monitor and I do see that a 512mb would be required for me :D..as I love putting those graphics sliders to the max!!

    Well anyways...time is near..and I cant wait at this point!
    For the PSU...I do need one..and I have choosen this one:
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=313804

    Now..I also need help here..will this work fine with the video card with no problems????

    Ok...I have a compaq case...here it is:
    http://www.officedepot.com/ddSKU.do...top Computer With AMD Sempron Processor 3400+

    Will I come up with problems with fitting the PSU and video card in that case? or will everything be just fine?


    I just dont want to end up buying some great stuff and not be able to use them.
  21. Hollywood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Zubasa, I don't believe that they have to be made at 650mhz. If they cannot achieve the power results with something lower, than the card is crap. It's not OC'd by a vendor maybe, but 650 is an OC ranged mhz rating. Which just goes to show the beastliness of the 8800 running only at 500mhz.

    Irish, the signifigance of the XT vs XTX is the price. If you're going to run out and buy a new ATi when they drop, you're asking for a price ripoff and whatever natural problems that arise when a new product is released. The XT will do what you need, and the money left over will let you take the 'hit' as you most likely will, when you put a first generation 600 in your rig.

    If you, however are going to wait till several months after the 600 release, to let the smoke clear, then by all means take the XTX.

    Going back to the prices. You said 416 Euros, that's about 285 GBPounds.

    8800GTS
    http://www.pricegrabber.co.uk/search_getprod.php/masterid=29978871/skd=1/search=8800 gts

    I've seen them for lower as well, but this was first link I ran across.

    So there's your 415/16 Euros, and now you have no excuses!

    A 500watt, ATX - A-power PSU will be fine, check it has 6pin PCI-E connector.

    I won't comment on the fitting hardware, strange things happen.
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks for your advice man.

    The GeForce 8800GTS is to big for my case so I beleave...so its a sad thing for me..ill will end up buying a new Case to support the new R600 when it appears..but it dont bother me yet.

    And the PSU does indeed support a 6Pin PCI-E Connector! thanks for letting me know that. I do hope everything will fit in...ill let meh local store do it for me just in case..although I can build a computer from scratch...I rather let a qualified person deal with it instead of me :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page