1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

INSANELY Slow Internet Speed

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by spearman914, May 13, 2008.

  1. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Ok, I've came down to a solution to dump my wireless and install DSL. After a couple of days the lagness starts to rise while loading pages. Some pages would even not show up right. Like the TechPowerUp! Forums picture will be vertically standing in the corner. The User CP will be besides the New Posts laying diagonally. I've try cleaning the cache with CCleaner. Repaired connection, flushdns, unplug and replug, restart... Nothing..... And games also have a problem. I mainly get up to 60 FPS average. But now it average at 2.4 FPS :confused: :confused:

    UPDATE: And to mention what are the last things I did: Playing SF and MS. Installed IDT HDMI drivers. And not to be stupid but the VERY last thing I did was opening up the computer in safe mode.
    Edit: I will soon do a virus/spyware scan to see if anythings wrong and update/reinstall drivers.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  2. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    open up a prompt and do tracert yahoo.com
    to open up a prompt run cmd

    oh and if u dont know what all that stuff it says means paste it in here and I'l try to help you.
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]
    2 20 ms 21 ms 20 ms 10.32.70.1
    3 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms P2-2.LCR-01.NYCMNY.verizon-gni.net [130.81.35.14
    0]
    4 35 ms 37 ms 185 ms so-6-0-0-0.ASH-PEER-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81
    .17.177]
    5 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms 130.81.15.170
    6 * 33 ms * ge-1-0-0-p110.msr2.dcn.yahoo.com [216.115.108.45
    ]
    7 * 43 ms 34 ms ge5-2.bas2-m.dcn.yahoo.com [216.109.120.199]
    8 36 ms 34 ms 33 ms w2.rc.vip.dcn.yahoo.com [216.109.112.135]
     
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    see how it jumps to 185ms right there for a second? you probably have a problem there.
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Porbably... Thats what I'm trying to figure out. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
     
  6. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    umm, that woudlnt be your problem it would be outside your stuff, like, ok if you think it might be you or inside your network, ping your router

    ping -t 192.168.1.1

    and if that ever spikes then it might be, but its prolly outside your network
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  7. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    This is worse:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]
    2 21 ms 21 ms 20 ms 10.32.70.1
    3 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms P2-2.LCR-01.NYCMNY.verizon-gni.net [130.81.35.14
    0]
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 25 ms 23 ms 25 ms 0.so-3-1-0.XT2.NYC8.ALTER.NET [152.63.10.41]
    6 109 ms 106 ms 97 ms 0.so-2-0-0.XT2.LAX7.ALTER.NET [152.63.112.13]
    7 96 ms 99 ms 98 ms GigE7-0-0.IG2.LAX7.ALTER.NET [152.63.118.37]
    8 309 ms 302 ms 304 ms cnc-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.224.142]
    9 310 ms 304 ms * 219.158.3.133
    10 304 ms 304 ms 304 ms 202.96.12.154
    11 374 ms 321 ms 306 ms 61.148.3.34
    12 316 ms 321 ms 325 ms 202.106.48.66
    13 308 ms 306 ms 307 ms 61.135.181.175

    I trying doing the ping thing and they all got :
    Reply From 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
     
  8. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    it looks to me like that 4th hop is broken, all you can do is give this information to your ISP and if they will fix it then yay and if they tell you something weird then you should get a new isp
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Something is wrong with your ISP provider. Try hard resetting the gateway. That should reconnect to the ISP and hopefully get you a better connection. Make sure you have DSL filters on all used lines in your home. Perhaps call you ISP and they will ping your gateway to see where the problem lies.
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    nvm I solved the problem. The ethernet connector has tons of dust and is extremely hot causing the internet to slow down. I unplugged the ethernet, went to school, came back, and replug. :D
     
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Eh? Dust? No. Because that would have caused a problem WITHIN your LAN, or if the dust was on the router to wall socket... then on your second hop to the ISP, but not the 4th hop, from the ISP to other internet addresses.

    Must be coincidence. Probably a router/DNS server down at the ISP, now fixed, or you are now connected to a new DNS server due to the fact that you unplugged your router and got a new IP.

    ****lesson****
    If you've got a bad connection, try rebooting the router. Not to fix YOUR router, but to get a NEW IP address from the ISP. This new IP address can sometimes be "requested" be soft booting from within the 192.168.1.1 admin panel.
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  12. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    go to:
    www.speedtest.net

    and click on the yellow prymid. tell us what the ping is you get
     
    spearman914 says thanks.
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    spearman914 says thanks.
  14. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Ping is 30. I fixed the problem...

    I'll try that. Sounds encouraging and great software.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page