1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

install os from hdd

Discussion in 'General Software' started by slyfox2151, May 6, 2009.

  1. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    not sure if this is possible, but i remember reading somewhere,

    you can create a partition and say put the installation files of say Windows 7 on it,

    you can then boot from that drive as if booting from a normal cd / dvd and install the os as normal.

    if this is indeed possible, would it be as simple as extracting the entire iso directly to a partition then some how booting from it?
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I dont think its possible to install Windows in Windows. I think Ubuntu can install in Windows, but not Windows.

    Extracting an ISO doesnt allow you to boot from the partition. You can create a new partition with partition magic and then burn a Win7 iso and reboot. Install to the newly created partition and your golden with a dual boot system.

    No DVD burner, no problem Windows 7 can be installed from a USB drive.
  3. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    I know you can boot and load a OS from a flash drive. Are you saying you want to just copy the install and just throw it on a partition?
  4. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia

    im saying, i wanting to use a partition as the install dvd disk basicaly...

    say in a dual boot system u can pick XP vista or select the 3rd option witch will load vista installation from a hdd partition.
  5. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    simply create a new partition to size say... 40GB worth and mount the .ISO to a Virtual Drive. use Daemon Tools for that. then run the setup from the mounted .ISO and you'll have a choice to choose which HDD/Partition to install it on.

    OP - i tried what you are asking and it resulted in Vista or w/e not booting and it totally messes up with the Boot Manager.

    also note: you can't do this with Xp or any other earlier OS. only with Windows 7.
    slyfox2151 says thanks.
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    thanx for your answer, i know i can mount and install but would prefer the option on boot up. also u can just extract the iso to a folder with winrar and just run the setup exe and install windows

    i really dislike cds and dvds in genral :p always getting scrached and broken
  7. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    i see. well, the computer does boot after the 1st or 2nd step is completed.
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    not if ur OS is *ucked :D then u have to pull out the good old dvd -,-
  9. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    how would your OS be F'ed? well, unless you chose the HDD with your current OS which i even doubt the setup would allow that.
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    well lets just say that it involved a raid 0 and an electrical fault :p
  11. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    me don't mess with RAID so me wouldn't know anything about that. the outage though you mention i can say shit... :eek:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page