1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installed Audio Driver - no sounds!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dj-ElectriC, Apr 21, 2013.

  1. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,184 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Hellow fellow techies,

    i recently moved to my humble testbench as main system.
    X79-GD65 8D board, 3960X CPU, 32GB of ram, a GTX680.

    I've fresh insalled the OS, win7 with all the official drivers.
    All's good but for some reason i can't get any sound whatsoever.

    Tried to disable all other devices, front audio, back audio, different speakers and headphones.
    Indicators tell me that sound is playing but i just can get it out...

    Help?
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,969 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,002
    Location:
    Oregon
    Screen shot of your sound properties. And what your using for speakers
     
  3. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    What's the output? HDMI? Coax, optical, 3.5 mm jacks? And what's picking it up?
     
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,184 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    The output is 3.5mm jack. Sound equipment is solo6c speakers, some headphones. Not at home right now so can't upload any pictures but is there something else i need to check for?
     
  5. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    My line of thought is the make sure all components are on, the right inputs are connected to the right outputs, the selector switches are on the right setting, shit is turned on, volume on device is up, headphones aren't plugged in, ya know, the basics.

    Its frustrating when you are trying to get sound out of the analogs, but the digital is the one that's hooked up!
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This. Could we get a screenshot?
    Example:
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Jetster says thanks.
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,798 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    check from audio jack first then the cable itself, if could test your speaker too.
    if your bios set right and windows says its fine (correct driver, setting etc) the err could from the jack itself or cables or speakers
     
  8. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,184 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    speakers are fine, connected to my phone to check the sound. Will update on devices later
     
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,184 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Well, plot twist, with my CMSTORM connected (USB) i have sound, as it is using its own sort-of controller

    anyway,

    [​IMG]

    buttom is the CMSTORM, the active is the 3.5 jack, not working.
    May it be a problem with the ALC chip?
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This sounds vaguely familiar. I think it would be worth while for a restart spree and a driver re-install. Use the software uninstaller to remove the driver. If it still exists in the device manager, remove and delete the driver. Restart the computer and download the latest codec from MSI here: http://download2.msi.com/files/downloads/dvr_exe/realtek_hd_all_mb.zip

    Install that guy after restarting after the uninstall, then when it's done give it another restart and lets see what happens. I'm assuming you used the package from MSI's site but it doesn't hurt to re-download it. Getting drivers directly from Realtek I find don't always work properly, so make sure to go with what the motherboard vendor has.

    The 2 might indicate that two drivers are installed and they could be conflicting with each other. You might need to do some driver cleanup, but just doing what I said above might work. It doesn't hurt to try but the restarting is very important.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page