1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing a VM to a seperate HD or Raid 0 OR Both??

Discussion in 'Storage' started by $immond$, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I am looking for the most performance I can get with my VM machines. Now I have 2 500 GB Western Digital Blacks I was thinking of running raid 0, will this allow my VM's to run faster? or should I install my VM on a separate HD while running RAID 0?

    I have an extra 500GB seagate that I could use to install seperate VM to but it would mean taking out of my linux/server machine. For my main OS I might use Vista or Windows 7.
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,395 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Unless you're running a lot of VM's, you'll probably do fine with just with the RAID-0.

    Can always add that third drive later, if performance does become an issue.
  3. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    I installed Virtual box in my RAID 0 i7 setup under Windows 7. The VM load up really fast but when using the VM it runs slower than on my Core 2 duo setup on an 80Gb 5400 RPM disk. It might be because I am using Virtual box 3.0 in Windows, so I am going to try VMware Workstation 7.0 and see if there is any improvement. As from benches it would seem VMware may be faster. For my VM I installed Ubuntu 9.10 and I enabled all performance features. Ubuntu is using 512mb of ram and 2 cores.
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,395 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Haven't tried VirtualBox before, so I can't offer any tips there. But my Ubuntu/CentOS/Fedora experience has always been good with VMware products.
    $immond$ says thanks.
  5. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    yea I installed VM Workstation 7.0, huge performance gain over Virtual Box in Windows. It seems though Virtual Box runs better in Linux and runs choppier in Windows. I have no issues using VMs in my RAID 0 setup, though I should probably back my data up once and a while. Thanks for your input!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page