1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing Raid-0 ... having problems..

Discussion in 'Storage' started by copenhagen69, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    Installing Raid-0 with 4 36gb raptors.

    I get to the win7 menu to choose the partition to install win 7 on. I select it and i get this error message.

    "Setup unable to create new system partition or locate existing partition. see setup log files for more info."

    I can install win 7 just fine with 1-2-3 drives in raid but as soon as I add the 4th I get that message. All the drives are good and i have swapped them out and tried different orders to test to make sure they are.

    mobo is Rampage III Extreme....


    Any ideas? My manual say it can handle up to 4 drives in raid....
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  2. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,518 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Location:
    United States
    You're pressing CTRL-F during POST? That's what I have to do when mine boots, but I am using a Crosshair III
  3. Meow9000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    283 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Wales, Uk
    Ok, im seeing several sites all with conflicting posts, even on the official Asus website. Io im going to put my original post back.

    Then there's several saying the Marvell controller does not support Raid, followed by a bunch of others stating that the 7x Sata 2 ports work fine.
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  4. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    got some sata cables mixed up so they were not in spots 1-2-3-4 .. once I made sure they were it works beautifully
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  5. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    update OP with new problem adding a 4th drive to raid ...

    need some ideas i have never had this problem before ...
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    thats wierd.... you shouldnt be having problems with 4 drives....


    does your chipset support online raid extentions? (cant remember the official term)... are you able to install windows on the 3 drives, then install your raid software in windows and add the 4th drive to the existing raid array.


    EDIT:

    your raid controller is the intel ICH10R (afaik) which does support online raid migration..... so you could just install windows on 3 drives... install intel Rapid storage manager and add the 4th drive to the existing array...


    will probs take an hour to compleat the migration.
    copenhagen69 says thanks.
  7. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    I dont think so?

    to add a drive to the array it makes me delete the array and then setup a new one.
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    no you add the drive in windows, not in your bios/raid setup utility. im using the same chipset you are... i have sucsessfully added 2 drives to my 2 drive raid 0 wile online running windows. so i ended up with a 4 drive raid 0.
    copenhagen69 says thanks.
  9. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
  11. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    ok thanks.

    So in short. install 3 in raid-0 get into windows and install that manager then follow its directions and i will be set?
  12. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yeah open rapid storage.. goto manage click on ur array... and somwhere around there should be the option to add a nother disk to the array.


    if its not in there ill find you the older version of the manager which will definetly be able to do it.
    copenhagen69 says thanks.
  13. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    [​IMG]

    What is wrong with this ... they show 2 different sizes ...

    Ideas?
  14. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    open up the disk manager and see if you can extend the partition.



    ill take your thanx meaning all is now fixed? :D
    copenhagen69 says thanks.
  15. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA
    If you were here I would so 'bro-hug' you right now Sly!

    that fixed it and I greatly appreciate your help!!!

    I dont care what they say about you aussies you are ok in my book :)
  16. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,605 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    heh no worries :p


    iv spend more then a few hours just fiddleing with all the different raid settings on the ICH10R chipset ^^
  17. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,897 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    USA


    Ya the disk mananger entending option worked like a dream :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page