1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing the latest drivers from the ATI site for my card.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by J-Man, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Last night I got my card, put it in and I'm happy :toast:

    Thing is, when I installed the 8.7 drivers, it didn't seem to actually install either CCC (ATi program in the task bar) and the actual display driver and I was like what the hell, why isn't it installing the display drivers. It seemed like it was installing nothing. The installation went quick and and finished quick. I then got out the drivers on the CD that came with my card and installed those and it's fine now but I dunno if the drivers I'm using are the latest because the latest on ATi's site don't seem to install right.
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,789 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,428
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,221
    are you using the x2? if yes, then the drivers from the ati site won't support it yet as far as i know
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I've never used any cleaners like that before. I've always uninstalled drivers > change video card > install new ones. I didn't run a driver cleaner no, I just remove the drivers in add/remove programs.
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,087 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,363
    Was it an nvidia card you were using before the x2? if so you should maybe run driver cleaner and start again.
  6. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I switched from the 3870 x2 to my new 4870 x2. Before I installed the card, I uninstalled drivers then I shut down, installed new card, install drivers (tried latest from ATi and didn't seem to install right) so I'm using the drivers from the CD for now.
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yep looks like it the the ones on the CD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page