1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Instead of Building a new System

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Evolved, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So I decided to stick with what I got, instead of spending another $1200+ on a new system.
    I figured, "Why not just maximize on Overclocking and Cooling?"

    Which, I presume, will give me even more performance from what I currently have?

    I want to get a new Case, the Antec Nine Hundred (I have the Three Hundred at the moment).
    And then get a new Power Supply, possibly the Corsair TX series 750W.

    And then a shit load of cooling parts.
    Is this a smart move? In the end, will this WORK?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,364 (12.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,997
    List your current system specifications by going to the UserCP. There are many better cases than the Antec 900 that you can choose from.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  3. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I shall list them here.

    CPU: Intel E8400 - 3.0Ghz
    MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3L
    RAM: Mushkin DDR2 800Mhz (2x2GB)
    GPU: Sapphire HD 4870 1GB
    PSU: PC Power & Cooling 610W
    HDD: Western Digital 500GB 7200rpm (Black)
     
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,712 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Overclocking isn't always an option - depends on motherboard, cpu, gpu etc. As e-rocker says, you need to list your spec. I mean, you might have an agp gfx slot and a single core processor - in which case, contact a museum. ;)

    lol, that post wasn't there when i started typing.

    Hmm...... Dual core, okay but even overclocked not as good as a quad.

    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html - it's near the bottom.

    4870, not bad but not dx11 (but thats no biggie).

    It's a competent system but i dont know hgow far that E8400 will go.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
    Evolved says thanks.
  5. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    okay, i just posted a reply of my specs... do u guys see it?
     
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah over clocking that setup isn't really going to do much for you .
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,364 (12.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,997
    I think your setup is fine. Perhaps add a new video card if gaming is your thing. Also add a decent aftermarket cooler for your CPU to allow better overclocking.


    Not true at all. Adding a new video card and overclocking that E8400 will make a good difference.
     
    MxPhenom 216 and Evolved say thanks.
  8. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Should I get a new PSU?
    And I should just a get a new video card? Can't I just OC my current one?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,364 (12.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,997
    Nope, no reason to.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  10. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    With those specs I think you'd be better off spending some money on an upgrade rather than on cooling gear. You can sell that 4870 and make about $80 off of it, and sell the E8400 for around $100. Use that $180 on a used mid-high end card from last gen. You could definitely get a HD 5850 for about $140, a GTX 470 for all of that $180, a GTX 460 for somewhere in the middle. All would offer a significant gaming gain. The E8400 is a good chip, but I think that instead of getting a new PSU you should look around for a used Quad. I managed to snag a Q9450 for $125 that I upgraded my E8400 to.

    A lot of people like PCP&C PSU's. Unless you're yearning for a modular unit there is no reason to. 610W is enough for you.

    Also, good lord don't "upgrade" to an Antec 900. You're about 4 years off there. If you want a better case 2010/2011 has much to offer you.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  11. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    hmmm... i think ill stick with the E8400 and maximize that.
    I MIGHT get a new video card... but so far, any game I play now already runs perfect on max settings.

    Looks like I'll be getting the Antec DF-30 Dark Fleet Mid Tower Case
    And a Cooler Master V6GT CPU Fan

    From there, I shall Overclock to the MAX!
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
  12. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Well, everything depends on what games do you play and what is an acceptable frame rate for you in balance with the eye candy. 80% of the games out there play fine with a C2D like yours (and mine). A better GPU will definitely improve the experience.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  13. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right now, I only play Starcraft 2, League of Legends.

    But I am anticipating Left 4 Dead 3, Mass Effect 3, Crysis 2, and Diablo 3.

    I'm sure, as soon as I reach Mass Effect 3 and Crysis 2, I will upgrade to a Sapphire 5870.
     
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    What if you overclock and kill your PC. You will have to get a new one then :D
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  15. twilyth Guest

    I'm still kind of a newb but I think memory makes the biggest difference in overall performance. I would get another 4gig of RAM with specs (latency, timings) as good as what you have now.

    As an alternative to that, get some really fast flash memory to use with the ready boost feature in windows. I think windows will use up to whatever your current memory is. So if you have 8gig of memory and get a 16gig flash drive, windows will use 8gig of it. Or if you get an 8gig flash, windows will use all of it.
     
  16. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hmmm... does anyone know the voltage specs to get an E8400 to 4.0Ghz or more?
    Right now, I have it set to 3.6Ghz (600Mhz gain) with stock voltages.

    I even set my "Robust Graphics Controller" booster thing to "Turbo" and Performance Enhance to "Extreme", both at the highest setting.

    But i really want 4.0Ghz or more! I also managed to get my video card to be 800/1000 (from 750/900)
    I might try and push it a bit further to its max potential.
     
  17. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Make a thread about it, dont hijack another thread
     
  18. EiSFX

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    570 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    This is his own thread and he is asking about alternatives for speed increases aside from upgrading i see him asking something that is pretty much directly involved with his original post i see no hijacking of a thread anywhere
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  19. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    That's quite the list of games you plan on getting right there. I'm not even sure if my 5870 will be able to rock the most out of Crysis 2, so if I were you, I would go for a 6970, not 5870.
    I will think about doing my own upgrade when the 7XXX series come around.


    *facepalm*
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  20. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Woops soz, wasn't paying attention... Bored out of my mind in a IT Networking Class, learning how to use Microsoft Word 2000. Things getting a little blurry here... Looking for entertainment...
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,364 (12.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,997
    Well.. then you really have no reason to upgrade at all. Wait until you run into something you can't run, then upgrade.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,557 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,634
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    overclocking a GPU only does so much. Your better off upgrading to a newer card and overclocking your CPU. upgrading your GPU to like a HD6870, 6950, GTX460, or a used GTX470 will be a good upgrade.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    What's this? Overclocking won't help? Pah. 4GHz should be easily attainable on the E8400... I'd like to think a 1GHz increase in processing power would be a nice boost.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm having trouble OC'ing to 4Ghz.
    Well, I really do not know how, properly.

    I just don't know what I need to set my voltages to?
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,364 (12.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,997
    If you are trying this with a stock cooler, you are asking for trouble with overheating. If you are using a decent aftermarket cooler and are monitoring your temperatures, 1.3v is a good place to start.
     
    Evolved says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page