1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

integrated microphone?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Gilletter, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    Hey all, just bought a new laptop a few weeks back. I'm on a business trip and tried to skype with my wife and kid and the integrated mic disappeared on me... No changes or anything??? I reverted back to a restore point from when I first brought it home. It's a Toshiba Satellite l755d-s5218. I've tried all sorts of drivers for it and nothing works. When I get into skype is says sound card not deteced... Can anyone help me out so I can "talk" to my family without using my phone and webcam together... Toshiba's website was no help...:confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    in control panel -> sound what shows up under playback and recording? (screenshots helpful)
     
  3. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    It doesn't show up in recording devices, nor anywhere in the device manager. It shows a disconnected external mic (which I don't have) but nothing for my integrated anymore. The Webcam shows up in imaging devices as Chicony Usb 2.0, All current drivers on sound card, sound works great... only mic has disappeared... I would hate to think a 3 week old computer would have a mic fail so soon (worked when I tested it a few days after I bought it) Is there any good driver or reg cleaners that may make it resurface???
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    can you post a screeny of the recording tab, and make sure that show disabled/disconnected devices is ticked


    the next part, find out what brand onboard sound it is, and make sure those drivers are updated. if its realtek, there may be some kind of toggle option.
     
  5. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    screen shot

    [​IMG]

    Conextant is what it shows in audio portion
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the way it says 'high definition audio device' makes me wonder if the drivers arent installed. any disabled hardware in device manager?
     
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    On skype on the tabs at the top go Tools> Options > Audio and make sure the microphone is chosen.


    [​IMG]
     
  8. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    it's showing none, that's what I mean.... it jsut straight out disappeared...
     
  9. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    speaker screenshot

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    again with just the generic name, i'm thinking you need to find the laptops support page and download the audio drivers - conexant dont have generic driver links unfortunately.
     
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,990 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,151
    Location:
    Pune
    i think the mic got loose.
     
  12. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    skype screen

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    I've tried the drivers from toshiba... and same thing... that's why I'm wondering if there could be a reg or driver issue that I can correct somehow
     
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,990 (4.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,151
    Location:
    Pune
    its evident. the mic isnt connected. this means that the soldering came loose or the mic broke.
     
  15. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    not what I wanted to hear... lol...
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ^ if it wasnt disabled in software, then its quite likely a hardware failure as DDD said.
     
  17. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    mother F'er... I reinstalled a different driver for the media card reader, and now it works...
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,409 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,628
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    for the card reader? thats a WTF moment
     
  19. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    yeah who would have thought THAT would fix it...???
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page